We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing little cafe with awesome food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aroma Cafe

Aroma Cafe
4360 Tujunga Ave, Los Angeles, CA 91604 (Universal City Area)
818-508-0677
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 7,962 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Coffee Shop, Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Universal City Area
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing little cafe with awesome food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

One of our favorite places to eat in the Valley. If you're visiting Universal Studios, don't eat in City Walk but come down here instead. It's really close to the park (not quite close enough to walk though). Parking is on the street and on weekends parking can be insane. Park on one of the back streets nearby.

Food is amazing and high quality. You won't be disappointed. And the desserts are equally as good. This restaurant is popular with the locals and is usually always busy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    45
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“My favorite place to have a coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My favorite place to have a coffee and a cheese cake!
Excellent choice of food in general, relaxed atmosphere and great offers for money.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“What a cool place! and great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Met our son and friends at this local hangout-it was GREAT! Loved the choices of seating inside or out, the clients were varied and fun and the food was super good. Croisant sandwich, tortilla breakfast, eggs Benedict and the "hulk" all got rave reviews.

I found the one spot in back so it must have been my lucky day - don't worry lots of easy street parking. They were busy but the staff was not rushed, from the counter where you order to the serving staf - everyone was friendly

The coffee was strong and rich - I wish they came around for refills!

I look forward to our next west coast trip and plan to come back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Highly recommend but it's always a long line”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I'm convinced the owner of Aroma has moved to Bel Air by now. Every time I pass this cafe there's a long line out the door. They've created a winning formula especially suited for all the Studio City industry types -- lots of actors, writers, especially discussing the biz. There are lots of neighborhood regulars too and the occasional "meet-up." The result is that the place has expanded a few times and still manages to be busier than ever. What makes up this winning formula? It's basically a cafe with excellent coffee and amazingly sinful desserts. They specialize in cakes and they are excellent -- pricey but worth it as there is no skimping on the portion size. There are many healthy breakfast options and a few decadent ones too. Likewise with lunch where there are many salad choices, a homemade soup each day, lots of sandwiches, it's a long long list. Ingredients always taste fresh. There's only one downside: the line is long, sometimes out the door and down the sidewalk, like at peak times. You order at a counter and pay, find yourself a table and comfy chair in the sun or the shade or wherever pleases you and voila, your order appears magically. There's lots of seating even more now that Portrait of a Bookstore has closed, alas. The folks behind the counter are incredibly nice and I even once left my laptop computer there and got it back the next day. How do you beat that?

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great place in the valley to sit outside and have great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I don't live in the valley, but when I am meeting friends there, I am always happy we when decide on Aroma. Good quality, fresh food. Diverse menu. Good coffees and Arnold Palmers. Nice dessert selection too. Reminds me of The Alcove in Los Feliz. I have always found street parking. This place gets crowded so I try to avoid peak times, like on the weekends.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aroma Cafe also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Aroma Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aroma Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.