We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bazaar by Jose Andres

The Bazaar by Jose Andres
465 S. La Cienega Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90048 (Central L.A)
+1 310-246-5555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bazaar by Jose Andres is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 7,958 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Cross street: San Vicente Blvd.
Description: Deemed "Four Stars" from the Los Angeles Time, finalist for the James Beard Awards' "Best New Restaurant," named Esquire Magazine's "Restaurant of the Year" and Zagat's "Top Newcomer," The Bazaar by Jose Andres is a vibrant mix of sophisticated cuisine and playful lounge spaces where dining transcends into fete extraordinaire. Experience a collection of magical dining experiences, entwined in a modern-day, European-inspired "indoor piazza" -- savor pioneering culinary creations, delicacies from roving carts and delicious libations by James Beard Award-Winning Chef Jose Andres. **From October to November join Jose Andres in celebration of the opulence of white truffle season with the third annual White Truffle Dinner Series at SAAM . The multi-course dinner unearths the flavors of the truffle through the playful imagination and inventive gastronomic vision.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

We went with family members and had a fantastic evening. The setting is marvelous. We went on a Thursday evening and were seated immediately. Not all the food was fantastic, but the whole experience was well worth it. We loved the jamon iberico, Philadelphia sandwich and the rabbit.
The sommelier also recommended a spectacular Spanish red wine.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    131
    52
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“The most food fun you'll ever have”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

This restaurant was the highlight of our stay at the SLS during a weekend of fun in Beverly Hills with friends.

Have always wanted to check out José Andrés approach to food and Bazaar was the perfect place. Having been to Barcelona in the last couple years, we had some high expectations for this as well as being excited to try some familiar favorite tapas treats.

The best way I can describe this experience is to say that it is a circus of playful food delights. When you have to giggle because a flavor caught you off guard in a wonderfully delightful way - that's a great food experience. My recommendation is to be adventurous - be open minded and try, try, try! We enjoyed fun cocktails, a pitcher of sangria and many amazing bites.

Though we waited a long time for our first plates to come out of the kitchen, our waitress brought a complimentary basket of sweet potato chips with the most heavenly dip. While we tried to ascertain how one would get a yogurt dip to be so fluffy and flavorful - the other wonderments began arriving at our table. A few of my very favorite things: Pa'amb tomaquet, Baby Japanese peaches, Japanese taco, Market
fish ceviche and avocado roll, Cotton candy
foie gras, Tortilla de patatas “new way” and “Philly cheesesteak”. There are so many possibilities that we'll have visit quite a few more times to really get to all the goodness.

Shocking how focusing on flavor and being a little creative can lend itself to such good food. I wish that more chefs would focus on intense flavor and less on large portions of mediocre food.

Anyway - enjoy, I know you won't be disappointed. I can't wait to revisit soon.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Tapas at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

So we had dinner here for our anniversary based on a buddy's recommendation. We just loved it! This was a most excellent dinner experience. My wife and I are accustomed to short dinners, order, eat, get out. This place makes you experience dinner as it should be. When checking in, they make you wait about a half hour at the bar to order cocktails and chat. They seat you and then recommend tapas for you. They come out one at a time or two at a time. After dinner, don't check out and go to the dessert room. Check out the museum and see how the desserts are made. Then sit for a nice cappuccino and dessert. Total of 3 hours or so of a very pleasant dining experience with fantastic food. Will come again!! Great price too as it didn't set you back too much for the experience.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Like nothing else out there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

I have a hard time putting into words how much I enjoyed this place : looks like a W Hotel , waiter totally chill and warm all at the same time, super huge menu but everything made as if they have a small menu. Food so humorous and creative and delicious you simple have to go . We had many dishes, way more than we usually order, I lost track , perhaps 8 or 9, very manageable between 2 of us - so many good things you will have a very had time deciding, but you MUST try the philly cheese , caprese and octopus .

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Backpacker83
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

We loved this place. Had such unique and delicious food that had me anticipating every next dish. I knew this was going to be a different place when I had to eat my drink, the LN2 Caipirinha, which is frozen by liquid nitrogen. Also, any place that can get me to love olives (spherified olives) is something special. Service was great as the waiter had great recommendations. I also liked how they had a dessert display that you went to view to see what you wanted.

  • Visited February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bazaar by Jose Andres also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to The Bazaar by Jose Andres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bazaar by Jose Andres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.