We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly an wonderful experience...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bazaar by Jose Andres

The Bazaar by Jose Andres
465 S. La Cienega Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90048 (Central L.A)
+1 310-246-5555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bazaar by Jose Andres is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 8,645 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Cross street: San Vicente Blvd.
Description: Deemed "Four Stars" from the Los Angeles Time, finalist for the James Beard Awards' "Best New Restaurant," named Esquire Magazine's "Restaurant of the Year" and Zagat's "Top Newcomer," The Bazaar by Jose Andres is a vibrant mix of sophisticated cuisine and playful lounge spaces where dining transcends into fete extraordinaire. Experience a collection of magical dining experiences, entwined in a modern-day, European-inspired "indoor piazza" -- savor pioneering culinary creations, delicacies from roving carts and delicious libations by James Beard Award-Winning Chef Jose Andres. **From October to November join Jose Andres in celebration of the opulence of white truffle season with the third annual White Truffle Dinner Series at SAAM . The multi-course dinner unearths the flavors of the truffle through the playful imagination and inventive gastronomic vision.
Lake Forest, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Truly an wonderful experience...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Bazaar is truly a experience in every way, including the food, ambience, and service. Of course I was fortunate to be a "special guest" as my friend and I were doing and advance test of the food for an event. The executive chef recommended courses for us to try and took care of us in every way. The best way I can explain it is that the food popped with flavor! Their special drink mixology is amazing as well. It is an upscale and trendy place for that special occasion.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    119
    49
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
285 helpful votes 285 helpful votes
“Very good but I was so glad that I was not paying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This restaurant provides an interesting interpretation of tapas style dining. The food is generally excellent, the service good and the atmosphere lively. This is not the place for a quiet night out, but it was certainly one of the best meals that I have had in LA. That said, for the price it would want to be. The idea of moving to a different area of the restaurant for dessert was quite a good one and the desserts every bit as good as the rest of the food.

A great place for a special but expensive meal with friends, maybe not for a romantic evening for two.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Super Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Had dinner here with four friends while staying at SLS. We had the staff just prepare a chef's selection for us rather than try to decide from the menu. What resulted was a fantastic sampling of some of the best food in the LA area. The atmosphere was busy but not too noisy and the service was fantastic.

We'll be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle East
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in LA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is probably the best experience we had in LA!
We were there for dinner, the place is very elegant and has its own character
Food: DELICIOUS! We had the tasting menu and the variety in textures and tastes was to perfection. Each dish was to die for!
For desert, they would move you to a different location with a different experience.
Service: Our hostess was great and knew everything about the dishes which made us very comfortable.
Price: $$$ (Absolutely worth the ambiance, food and service)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is one of the best & coolest restaurants I saw in California, loved every moment! Service was awesome, food was incredible, the decor is very cool & trendy & you have to make sure you leave some room for dessert, they have a pastry section that's from out of this world!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bazaar by Jose Andres also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to The Bazaar by Jose Andres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bazaar by Jose Andres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.