We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To me, everything taste strange” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.
1000 Universal City Plaza, Suite 114, Los Angeles, CA 91608 (Universal City Area)
818-753-4867
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #228 of 8,555 restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Universal City Area
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“To me, everything taste strange”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I just believe that some food simply cannot go well with each other - seafood soup with lots of pepper and chilli (Gumpa Combo?), fish n shrimp rice with sour lemon sauce (Accidental Fish n Shrimp), fried shrimps with coconut flakes batter - these are all the strangely mixed n matched dishes we got. Worse still, the signature garlic bread was soggy, the medium rare steak was charcoaled n way over cooked when first delivered then well done when we asked to change to another one. The spare ribs is the only normal, edible dish. The mango as well as strawberry mango smoothie were both very sour. All the above for $140.

Service is reasonably good though. The waiters were very apologetic when we have to send the steak back.

My friends also used the word "bizarre" when I asked how they find the food.

Is it us or Forrest Gump who got a unique taste?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    115
    109
    52
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“One of the best on City Walk!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great restaurant, always fun, always clean and we always leave happy and glad we went there. If you love shrimp or have been to other Bubba Gump's you won't be disappointed.

The best experience we ever had here was on Halloween when we came to Universal for Halloween Horror Nights, all of the staff were dressed in costumes and many were dressed up after the movie as well. There was one waiter that was dressed as Forrest Gump running and he never, ever stopped moving he was always at least jogging in place perfectly in-tune with his character, it made the experience fun and light, something we tell friends about all the time when we take them to Universal.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

After a full day at Universal Studios, we were tired. We were walking through Universal Citywalk to get back to our car when we spotted Bubba Gump. We wanted food but we were not "starving." We didn't want fast food, but we also didn't want a huge expensive dinner. After looking at the menu, it looked like Bubba Gump would fit the bill.

As I mentioned, we were tired. The restaurant was less than half full. As a former waiter, I'll admit that I gave my best service when I was busy. ...That's when my brain would be clicking along and I would be on top of my game. Sadly, I would tend to forget things or be less efficient when we were NOT busy. I think this was one of those cases.

Our waiter was personable -- once he arrived. Throughout our dinner, he was rarely seen. My water cup had a leak and a large puddle appeared on the table. Thankfully, we had a roll of paper towels on the table. Finally, I had to get up and look for an employee to give my leaking cup to. It was then a LONG time before I had something to drink again. It took forever to pay the bill. All four of us in our family took turns using the bathroom and we still ended up waiting for the waiter to bring the charge card and receipt back.

Our appetizer of "hush puppies" arrived nicely presented. But there were only a few! Granted these hush puppies had little bits of shrimp inside, but still, I expected more for the price.

As a southerner, I LOVE fried fish and hush puppies. The truth is, the food was fine and actually some of it was very good. The fried shrimp that came with the kid's menu passed the "true southern cooking" test and was excellent.

While overall the food was good, it was not good enough to compensate for the poor service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loved my waiter!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Ehlo (I think that was his name) was an absolute doll, so was Cameron who appeared to be training him. The food was great and I would have loved to have spent a little bit more. But even on a budget, they had items to offer and the place was rockin and fun! they also ask you Forrest Gump trivia. So glad we went!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Delicious food, moderately priced. Staff is amazing, very attentive and we enjoyed our round of Gump trivia! Liked it so much we ate at Bubba Gumps in Anaheim 2 days later!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. also viewed

 

Been to Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bubba Gump Shrimp Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.