We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.
1000 Universal City Plaza, Suite 114, Los Angeles, CA 91608 (Universal City Area)
818-753-4867
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 8,645 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Universal City Area
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ok food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

There is so many good restaurant in L.A, to me that was ordinary. Service was so so , I dont think you should do à detour.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    147
    65
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Okay, if you like fried food and shrimps (or Tacos)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Wasn't my first choice of where to eat, but companion had chosen it. Everything on the menu sounded huge and fried and high in calories. However, I ended up choosing the Grilled Shrimp Tacos, and I was very pleasantly surprised, they were really delicious, fresh-tasting and light. So wouldn't rush back as nothing else on the menu appealed to me, but I did have a good meal. Atmosphere was a bit 1990's full of repro memorabilia and made-up stuff, but seemed to work. The staff member looking after us was very friendly and really seemed to enjoy his job. Summary: Better than expected. If Trip Advisor had a "Good" I would have ticked that, but as it jumps from "Average" to "Very good", Average it has to be.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We waited to be seated and waited and waited. Service, food and atmosphere at the Santa Monica location were terrible. Food came out super slow and was cold when it got to the table. Screaming children in the restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food with nice atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

A very nice people to eat shrimp inspired on Forrest Gump movie. The food comes fast and while you are waiting, the waiter ask you things about the movie. Very fun!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have eaten at the one in Kona, HA & the one at Universal Studios. We get great service every time & the food is always wonderful. I wish we had one where I live.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. also viewed

 

Been to Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bubba Gump Shrimp Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.