We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pho” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pho Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pho Cafe
2841 W Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA
(213) 413-0888
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,785 of 8,644 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent pho”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

[As a side note, the photograph is not of this restaurant, go here for an actual photo https://plus.google.com/114280844036744190577/photos?hl=en]

This place uses fresh, top quality ingredients, and it shows. Their food is fresh, light, and very tasty. The pho broth is exceptionally good (I've tried many pho places, including in Little Saigon), as is the quality of the meat. I usually get the rare beef pho, I'm kind of a purist. Their spring rolls are very good, and the peanut sauce is excellent.

Cash only, quick service and turnaround. Great place. Go.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious comfort food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you haven't tried Pho or Vietnamese food at all, and you're up for a casual kind of hipster spot, come here. I always get #11, an aromatic soup with meat balls and filet mignon. I love to add fish sauce and hoisin sauce and add in the asian basil and other herbs and lime provided. If you're really hungry have this, and share the Vietnamese pancake with one or two friends. You'll leave full and satisfied. This place has no sign, so look for the Crown Escrow sign. This cafe is just to the left.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fun with new friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Taken here by some friends while visiting LA - great food, good service, good company - so a good evening - thanks guys!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tasty, Fresh and Inexpensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Pho Cafe which is on Sunset Blvd in Silverlake has a cool hipster vibe, there is no sign you just have to know it's there which it seems all of Silverlake does. It has a limited menu of Pho and cold noodle dishes it serves beer and great teas the Vegetarian options are fabulous. Since it does has of limited menu all items are super fresh and yummy no msg for this place and the prices are very inexpensive this is a go to place for lunch dinner they are also open late so after the bars a totally happening place. My only negative is the lighting big round balls of glaring light. I am old "46" and need softer lighting they have not heard of dimmers! LOL

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MO
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“No sign, but worth finding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Our friend recommended this Vietnamese restaurant. He was sort of vague about it except, "it's delicious, and they give you all these herbs and twigs to put in your noodles!" They didn't have a sign, but by circling a couple times and then asking once inside, we found our destination. The menu is very simple, but the ingredients are quality, and by all appearances and tastes, it seems like authentic Vietnamese food. I did enjoy the "herbs and twigs" they put on the side, which were traditional herbs, vegetables, and chili sauces to enhance the flavor to your own likings.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Pho Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pho Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.