We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible doughnuts!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stan's Corner Donut Shoppe

Stan's Corner Donut Shoppe
10948 Weyburn Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90024-2809 (Westside)
(310) 208-8660
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #919 of 8,734 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Dessert, Donuts
Neighborhood: Westside
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Westside
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Incredible doughnuts!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Peanut butter filled confection! Holy moley this place has incredible stuff. The service left something to be desired and is the only reason I didn't grant a full 5 on the rating. We later joked that the woman behind the counter must have just been told she could never eat any of the doughnuts. That is about the only thing that would have made her in such a 'mood'. Also, there weren't any signs or titles for the options and no pricing posted. That would have been nice to know what we were getting. Aside from those minor things, it was worth the stop to enjoy these little beauties.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fresh and pure. Consistently good for the last 50 years.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

This little place is where to go for a good quality donut made by hand. The other franchise place may have a machine and make a warm donut but one that lacks character and soul. And that other place may have an enormous donut on the roof and great for photos but the donuts are nothing special.
Go to Stan's. Meet the grateful owner. Know you are tasting a bit of history and it will be good.

I hope this review has been helpful to you.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Yummo doughnuts, and Stan is a sweetie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We went to Stan's for donuts on a Saturday morning. We were visiting from Chicago. He offers about 30 different kinds, all fresh and delicious. He was there, we introduced ourselves, told him where we were from and how we heard about him (from a friend who used to live in Westwood) and he took a picture with my sister and chatted about having come to CA in 1951 from Philadelphia. He also gave us 2 jelly doughnut holes as samples! His orange doughnuts are superb - light, bright, flavorful, sweet, with plenty of authentic orange taste. It is more of a doughnut stand than a shop - the only seating is 2 bistro tables outside, but the doughnuts are well worth it. Friendly guy, great doughnuts - the kind of little independent shop everyone should want to patronize and keep in business. Two thumbs up.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Best Donuts In L.A.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

If you want a gourmet donut this is the place. I love the peanut butter pockets and peanut butter banana donuts but all of their various selections are incredible. I have been coming here for forty years and I have never tasted a better donut. This little shop is a landmark and in the heart of Westwood across the street from the Bruin and Village theaters. There is metered parking and public parking lots nearby.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“If you love peanut butter, stop here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I had seen Stan's on a tv show and it mentioned they were known for peanut butter donuts. Being a peanut butter freak, I knew when I traveled to L.A. I had to find this place. It's just a small corner shop, but the donuts are delicious! I got the peanut butter banana donut, which is a yeast donut stuffed with peanut butter and bananas and topped with chocolate chips. The donuts are a little pricey, but they are big and one is plenty. The neighborhood is nice and near the UCLA campus, so you can walk around while enjoying your donut or sit on one of the many benches along the street and people-watch. There is a convenient parking garage right next door that is free for the first 2 hours. If you love donuts or peanut butter (or both!), you must stop here!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stan's Corner Donut Shoppe also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Stan's Corner Donut Shoppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stan's Corner Donut Shoppe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.