We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, average location ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Near Universal Studios Hollywood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Near Universal Studios Hollywood to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Near Universal Studios Hollywood
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   321 North Vermont Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90004 (Hollywood)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #168 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel, average location ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The hotel was good but the location was a bit dicey, luckily we had a car (which is a necessity in LA) so we drove everywhere! It's in a good location in relation to some big attractions and the freeways!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    74
    42
    26
    23
See reviews for
62
46
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Despite the name this hotel is nowhere near Universal Studios. However it is close to the places I needed to get to, Koreatown and Skylight Books on Vermont. I had a comfortable room although the arms of the desk chair were badly frayed. The bed was comfortable. My room faced out onto Vermont Avenue which is very noisy late into the night. Desk staff were very helpful. I would go back.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

In our recent visit to LA, we stayed in comfort inn. The best part about this hotel is location, very much adjacent vermont/beverly metro station entrance. Hotel was neat and clean. Reception guys were pretty much helpful and humble

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Nuff said... only one complaint is that my window has easy access to alleyway which is sketchy at the least.. the rest is comfortable and friendly.. that being said I did just get here and I'm brain dead from the plane ride, but all in all a good vibe

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

The guest room was great, and the manager gave me a free upgrade for being a Choice Priveledge Member. The room was spacious with a king bed and micro/fridge combo. Also, the room featured a jaccuzi tub! The bedding was comfortable and everything was in good, working order. All the staff were friendly including front desk, housekeeping, and maintenance.
The hotel also offers a free hot breakfast which included sausage, eggs (both fried style and hard boiled), yogurt, bread, cereal, hot waffles, juice, coffee and other items. The hotel is also located adjacent to the LA Metro train and bus lines for easy access to transportation. I would definitely return when in area and encourage travellers to check this place out. There are a lot of things to do and restraunts very nearby, too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnHollywood, General Manager at Comfort Inn Near Universal Studios Hollywood, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
thank you for staying at comfort inn near universal studio. we really appreciate your time to write review about your experience at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Our room was clean, spacious. We had a fridge and coffee facilities in the room. You have to pay for parking but that's expected in city hotels. Great location for seeing all the sights in LA (universal, kodak theatre, Beverly Hills etc) The hotel is on a main road but the noise was acceptable and didn't disturb our sleep.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Ok let me start this review with the basics:

Location was ok. In a slightly "sketchy" urban area. Lots of loud traffic. The hotel is right off the Vermont/Beverly metrolink exit so if you're without a vehicle it's a great location to go pretty much anywhere in Los Angeles. There's convenient stores and plenty of eats nearby, not to mention you are down the street from Korea town.

I ate at "Mexican Village" which had absolutely yummy chicken fajitas.

So now onto the hotel itself....

Small building tucked between the Metrolink Redline and a Shell gas station, it looks questionable at best, but upon entering it has a small pleasant lobby and looks very updated. The front desk staff/owners are a very nice couple who seem to be happy for the business. Very accommodating.

Now for the rooms:

I was on 1st floor. My room had clearly been not-so-recently updated in the new Comfort inn style. 40 inch (I think) flat screen, very comfortable bed and typical amenities. Nice working fridge and microwave.

However remnants of how the room used to look remain...which kind of cheapened the "remodeled" look.

Chief complaint: the carpet.
Disgusting and sticky. I have never stayed somewhere that had sticky carpet like a movie theatre floor after a toddler film. Large stains and over all gross.

Despite it's good points, I would likely never stay here again.

Also: rude maids who sit in breakfast room gossiping (decent Choice Hotel Basic continental) while you eat.

Parking is limited and $8

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Near Universal Studios Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Near Universal Studios Hollywood

Address: 321 North Vermont Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Near Universal Studios Hollywood 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Near Universal Studios Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Near Universal Studios Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles
Comfort Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Near Universal Studios Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.