We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel with good metro red line connection” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Near Universal Studios Hollywood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Near Universal Studios Hollywood to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Near Universal Studios Hollywood
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   321 North Vermont Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90004 (Hollywood)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #164 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Reasonable hotel with good metro red line connection”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Stayed here for the first part of out trip for 5 nights. We took the LAX Flyaway to Union Station $7 and then the Metro Line red ($5 day pass, $20 for 7 days) to Vermont/Beverly Station. The Hotel is one building away to the left from the Metro station. We were greeted but a pleasant guy on reception and quickly checked in. The reception area looked clean and modern, we then took the lift (elevator) to the 2nd floor, the lift did not look as modern and looked like it could do with some TLC. The hallways in the hotel looked in a good state if a little dated, the doors to the rooms could do with a fresh paint job though.

The room was large with two double comfy beds with a bedside table and alarm clock between the beds, Two sitting chairs and table, A large unit containing drawers and cupboard below the TV, A large flat screen TV, Fridge, Coffee maker, Microwave, large walk in wardrobe (Closet), Ironing board, Iron and a safe. The room also had it's own air conditioning unit and free wireless internet access.

The bathroom was a good size with a large mirror and sink area, toilet and a low level bath and shower The shower did have a strange attachment that produced a rain effect as one of the settings.

The breakfast was reasonable including three cereals, a selection of cakes and pastries, bagels and bread that could be toasted and a waffle maker. There was also fresh fruit and plenty of juices and plenty of tea and coffee. A member of staff was regularly clearing up and keeping the cakes and pastries topped up.

The area surrounding the hotel felt reasonably safe, we walked along Vermont Ave (Left from the Hotel) in the afternoon and found a selection of shops, including a small supermarket and plenty of placed to eat including McDonalds about half a mile up the road. There are also plenty of petrol (gas) stations along the road. The area after dark felt reasonably safe, we felt safe enough to walk from the metro station to the hotel after midnight.

In summary - The hotel is a good location for travellers not using a car as it is in a great location on the Metro Red line that can take you to the Hollywood/Highland station where the Walk of Fame and Chinese Theatres can be found, Universal Studios (Universal City Station) and Union Street Station for Trains and LAX Flyway. The Hotel also has a car park and only a few blocks away from a free way.

The not so good stuff - The décor might not be to everyone's taste yellow and green in the room. Some of the paint was peeling around the edges such as at the bottom of the doors, the outlook from a lot of the rooms is onto other buildings, the breakfast selection is limited compared to other hotels and the breakfast room is small. The hotel is not in the centre of Hollywood and is certainly not near Universal Studios compared to other Hotels.

Room Tip: We booked online and signed up to the choice privaledges card to get the best rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    69
    39
    24
    22
See reviews for
58
44
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poway, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I would give zero star if I could. The owner/manager is the rudest and most unprofessional person I've ever seen in a hotel business, no smile, no greetings, just a plain stone face! All he cares about is your pocket and nothing more!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

As we checked in everything was fine, but when we checked out it was terrible, because Mr.KHALIL was in charge of reception that day and we would ask that the grand total of our stay .... and he said one amount and seconds after he change the figures.

To understand me better, to make the booking the hotel were $ 1109.91 USD, of course plus 14% Taxes & 1.50% city taxes. Towards a final total of $ 1281.93USD

But when I checked out he was charging me $ 1388.00USD. It was there that I asked to speak with the boss of the hotel, and when I told him what was going on and Mr. Khalil said then that computer error but was not his error... and I just checked my C.C. and I have 2 more charges I have no idea why, but I will find out, and believe me they have no idea with who they are dealing with.

Ladies and gentlemen, the truth is it is not worth staying in the COMFORT INN NEAR UNIVERSAL STUDIOS HOLLYWOOD
[--]

It's a horrible and terrible place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

As others have said about this hotel, if you're from the middle of no where USA, or you don't travel a lot, you might have diffrent thoughts about this place.

I personally thought this place was great for its location and price.

My friends, who are more sheltered then my husband and I were aghast that the cashier in the gas station next door was behind glass. lol

I'm from small town USA, but i'm well traveled in my peer group and i would stay here again. It was clean, the staff was friendly. I would be cautious, but i didn't feel unsafe or threated by the neighbor hood. It is close to what we wanted to see in LA and it was easy to find. There is a metro stop less than a block away.

However, beware when booking, this is not the comfort inn near Hollywood BLVD, its a short driving distance from it, but its not walking distance. For some reason its difficult to tell which one is which when booking. I thought we were in the other one but no. From the reviews, i'm not the only one that has made this mistake.

The parking garage here is small so if you have a larger car, beware. We came back late at night and had trouble parking.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

This was a one night stay for us on a trip to LA. The clerk was very nice. The room had the most AMAZING shower I've ever experienced!! The only problem we had was a very loose sink faucet.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Hotel was very outdated. Pipes were leaking in the garage. The staff was less than interested that we were there. Security doors were propped open and that made us a little nervous. Neighboor is a little scarey. Bathroom faucet was hanging off of it's bracket and I asked for one extra towel and they did not have one available. Breakfast was day old food and extremely crowded and confusing. Everything was stale including the cereal. If you are looking just for a place to sleep this place is tolerable. If we were staying any longer than 16 hours I would have moved to another location. Next time we will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

although this hotel is ok if you are in LA for just one night and need a bed for the night , i would advise finding somewhere else in you are in town for longer. the hotel itself is in need of some updating ,the public areas are very dark. the area the hotel is in does not feel safe after dark (this was the view of the whole family). the breakfast buffet was ok and the staff on duty were very good .

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Near Universal Studios Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Near Universal Studios Hollywood

Address: 321 North Vermont Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Near Universal Studios Hollywood 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Near Universal Studios Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Near Universal Studios Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles
Comfort Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Near Universal Studios Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.