We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Fantastic, Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Angeleno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Angeleno to your Saves list
Hotel Angeleno
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 North Church Lane, Los Angeles, CA 90049 (Westside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save $25 on select meals
Ranked #41 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Sparrows Point, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Location - Fantastic, Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

The Hotel Angeleno may just be the best value for a hotel of its caliber in the LA area. I traveled to LA with 10 other family members for a law school graduation and the hotel was able to accomodate all of our needs [no easy feat when dealing with such a large group]. From Lesly who greeted us on check in (after having helped me arrange a city tour for the group while I was still on the east coast), to Nick our guest relations contact, fount of information, and all around nice guy, to Jower who very ably helped to handle some last minute issues and assisted us through a very smooth check out, all the staff we encountered were always willing to share information and help us out in any way possible.

The rooms were clean and comfortable. The air conditioning worked very well (this is important given the constant highway noise). The pool was nice and the gym adequate.

One caveat though (and do not let this discourage you from staying here). The hotel is located at the intersection of Sunset Boulevard and I-405. There are NO eateries or shops located within reasonable walking distance. The hotel restaurant and cafe are very expensive. Take advantage of the free shuttle service that the hotel offers. Within their three mile radius are plenty of reasonably priced places to eat and shop for groceries (which you can store in your in-room refrigerator) that will allow you to stay within your vacation budget. Also consider having food delivered to the hotel. One night we had pizza, salad, and drinks, delivered from California Pizza Kitchen and the entire family had a pizza party.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    397
    165
    61
    55
See reviews for
214
335
138
337
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

I was greeted with the warmest smiles and friendly attitudes from the Valet, to the Front Desk people, to the Housekeeping staff, to the Bar & Restaruant staff. Everyone. Undoubetdly the most pleasant hotel experience I've ever had, and I've traveled all over the world. The rooms are modern, beautiful and clean. The bedding is the finest I've seen and experienced. This hotel is the only hotel I would stay when in L.A. I have stayed there numerous times and am always completely impressed and satisfied by the amenities as well as the entire staff of employees. A first class hotel experience...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central valley, ca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

My stay(that ended this morning) was absolutely awful starting with a valet (only parking available) who wouldn't check my car in until Ishowed confirmation that I had booked a room with the hotel. I couldn't get anyone to help carry my luggage; the room I was checked into had a dirty bathroom (coffee stains, dirt and debris in the tub and sink). I called to request new bedding and a clean bathroom early the next morning... when I returned after my business meetings, the new bedding/comforter on one of the beds was not dry...it had wet clumps of down/filling like rosettes all over the top of it. Luckily, there was the other bed to sleep in for that night. The next morning I called again to complain...there was no hair dryer in the bathroom, and no inner shower curtain so the floor was soaked every time after showering. The next to last night of my stay involved a air conditioner that was blowing out hot air, and a TV remote that quit working.

I complained everyday to "guest services", and they did fix my a/c. I would have moved to another hotel if I had had the chance, and will certainly be reporting this experience to my employer who usually books 100-150 rooms at the hotel in August every year. I am a frequent traveler for business, and I can honestly tell you that I have had better experiences at a Motel 6 than I have staying at this hotel for the past 5 nights, and paying over $1,000 to this hotel!! Trust me, there's got to be better hotels near UCLA than this one.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

Jose the driver is a very nice young man. Bryan is another driver for the Angeleno Hotel services, and he's hilarious part time comedian too. So except laughter to be a major part of your stay. Blanca is an excellent front desk lady, her smile will brighten the whole front room! Edith helped me with traveling problems I ran into, and she did a great job helping. Lesly is a doll and always smiling! Kristina is the best by far!! I uproared some drama and everyone from the hotel were comforting and the hostipality blew my mind! If I stay anywher again it will the Angeleno hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, August 3, 2009
Dear xoleah38

Thank you very much for your positive comments about the hotel. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know that we have exceeded your expectations during your visit with us.

Warm Regards,

Scott Gordon
Front Office Manager
170 N. Church Lane
LA, CA, 90049
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

First of all, I got a great rate through a sale on Expedia, $109/night. For that price, there was nothing to complain about. The bed was really comfortable, and even though I had a room facing the freeway the noise was not noticeable. The staff was very nice too. I booked it a month out and closer to the departure date the rates were around $190/night. For that price, I'd probably want to stay elsewhere. The renovation that has been done is modern, but completely superficial and kind of cheap looking. The pictures on the walls looked like they were purchased at Ikea, and there were mismatched towels in the bathroom. But overall, you could do worse than staying here. Good location, nice staff, and clean hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, August 3, 2009
Dear dave_929,

Thank you very much for your positive comments about the hotel. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know you were satisfied with our property.

Warm Regards,

Scott Gordon
Front Office Manager
170 N. Church Lane
LA, CA, 90049
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smittenkitten25
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

The hotel is very nicely designed with classy decor, italian sheets, and valet parking. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Located in a beautiful area next to the Getty Museum. At a very reasonable price this hotel exceeded all of my expectations and guaranteed my return as their guest.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, August 3, 2009
Dear smittenkitten25,

Thank you very much for your positive comments about the hotel. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know that we have exceeded your expectations during your visit with us.

Warm Regards,

Scott Gordon
Front Office Manager
170 N. Church Lane
LA, CA, 90049
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

The Angeleno does a wonderful job of carrying on the tradition of JDV boutique hotels. We stayed here for a long get-away weekend. The room was perfect, bed fabulous, bathroom stocked & clean, quality of furnishings was very nice, and the hotel in general is very upscale, attractive, and close to so many things to see & do in L.A. The staff was friendly, accommodating, helpful, and made us feel at home. We had just a few requests, and they were responded to very quickly, and with maximum attentiveness. The staff made us feel at home, and we were also able to use the hotel van for several close-by drop-offs and pick-ups. We are world travelers, and very picky about where we stay. We will recommend The Angeleno to everyone. And we will absolutely stay here on all future trips to L.A.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, August 3, 2009
Dear SallyCalifornia,

Thank you very much for your positive comments about the hotel. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know that we have exceeded your expectations during your visit with us. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Warm Regards,

Scott Gordon
Front Office Manager
170 N. Church Lane
LA, CA, 90049
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Angeleno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Angeleno

Address: 170 North Church Lane, Los Angeles, CA 90049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#31 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#45 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Angeleno 3.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the prestigious Brentwood/Bel-Air area, Hotel Angeleno offers a new kind of casual luxury that is uniquely L.A. The landmark circular design sets the tone for the relaxed ambiance. The pool, outdoor fireplace, and spectacular penthouse-level restaurant continue the warm and sophisticated atmosphere. Hotel Angeleno is just minutes away from Hollywood, Westwood, Beverly Hills, Santa Monica, and the San Fernando Valley with close proximity to the Getty Center, UCLA and the Skirball Cultural Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Angeleno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angeleno Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Angeleno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.