We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Angeleno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Angeleno to your Saves list
Hotel Angeleno
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 North Church Lane, Los Angeles, CA 90049 (Westside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save $25 on select meals
Ranked #42 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A fabulous place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2009

A diamond in the rough. I was pleasantly surprised to find out how nice this hotel was. It was a great place to stay for the money. The rooms and hotel were nicer than some of my friends staying in more expensive hotels in the area. This place was first class.

The rooms were very chic. Very comfortable and quiet. Great pool with fireplace. Top floor restaurant and bar had fantastic views of the area. Front desk staff were extremely helpful. Located only 9 miles from airport and close to UCLA and Beverly Hills.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Thanks for such a wonderful experience.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and comfort
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAngeleno, Front Desk Supervisor at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, February 16, 2009
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all of us at the Hotel Angeleno, I want to thank you for taking the time to complete your review on Trip Advisor. I wanted to follow up with you personally, as you are a most valued client and I appreciated receiving your feedback.

Thank you very much for your positive comments about the hotel. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service.

We all hope to see you again in the near future.

Thanks,
Scott Gordon
Front Desk Supervisor
Hotel Angeleno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    398
    166
    61
    55
See reviews for
215
337
137
338
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

Former circular tower Holiday Inn converted to a modern, euro-style hotel. Rooms are very nice with great beds. Hotel staff is excellent. Front desk on first & second shifts knew me by name within the first week. Everyone very curteous and service oriented. They work hard to make you feel welcome and at home and do a great job of it.
Restaurant and lounge on top (17th floor) very upscale. Food is delicious.
Hotel has a very european flavor and has an eclectic group of well educated guests from many countries.

  • Liked — Friendly, helpful staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAngeleno, Front Desk Supervisor at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, February 16, 2009
Dear KayakL8

Thank you very much for your positive comments about the hotel. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know that we have exceeded your expectations during your visit with us.

Please feel free to call me directly at 310-476-6411 as I will always be at your service.

Warm Regards,

Scott Gordon
Front Desk Supervisor
170 N. Church Lane
LA, CA, 90049
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. Cal.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

This location has been tough for several other hotel companies... but since it has come under new ownership - WHAT A GEM!

The hotel has been completely remodeled, very clean, minimalist, relaxing environment.

The staff is very well tuned & professional.

The Views are terrific - although the rooms are a bit tight (small) - this is due to the nature of the hotel design - which gives you those great views from almost every room.

The restaurant on the top floor has the most dramatic views of the city or the ocean - it's amazing.

Highly recommend the Angeleno... will be back there myself.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Restaurant Service
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAngeleno, Front Desk Supervisor at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, February 16, 2009
Dear jeffhas,

Thank you very much for your positive comments about the hotel. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know that we have exceeded your expectations during your visit with us.

Please feel free to call me directly at 310-476-6411 as I will always be at your service.

Warm Regards,

Scott Gordon
Front Desk Supervisor
170 N. Church Lane
LA, CA, 90049
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

Renewed: clean, fashion and with good rates. Nice and fancy restaurant with a beautiful night view of west LA. Handy: close to Santa Monica, Bel Aire, Beverly Hills and Paul Getty Center (must see - not much for art, but for architetonics). Only 20 min from LAX airport by 405. At first I was scared because of the noise of highway aside, but all rooms are double-layered-very-thick-windows. Very silent.

  • Liked — Handy, clean, new.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAngeleno, Front Desk Supervisor at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, February 16, 2009
Dear worldwideleo,

Thank you very much for your positive comments about the hotel. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know that we have exceeded your expectations during your visit with us.

Please feel free to call me directly at 310-476-6411 as I will always be at your service.

Warm Regards,

Scott Gordon
Front Desk Supervisor
170 N. Church Lane
LA, CA, 90049
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2009

This hotel used to be a Holiday Inn and was then remodeled and now has a different name. It is very centrally located right off the 405, just off of Sunset Blvd. in Brentwood, right up the street from Beverly Hills. The hotel is next to the freeway, so if freeway noise bothers you, this isn't the hotel for you, but it was muted, and with the a/c or heat on, which is loud, you can't hear the traffic at all.

The rooms were small but very nicely decorated, the bathroom was spacious, and for the price (I paid about 250 on a Thurs. night, with my AAA discount, including parking and tax), it was a good rate for this area. I would stay there again.

Also, there is a highly recommended restaurant on top called West, but I didn't have the opportunity to go there.

  • Liked — central location
  • Disliked — freeway noise
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2009

Likes:
- Room very cozy, and nicely furnished


Dislikes:
- Road noise was horrible even during the night
- Valet parking $18 (most expensive parking I ever had to pay)
- Had a few stains on our comforter which was pretty gross

  • Liked — Nice rooms
  • Disliked — road noise
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

Hotel Angeleno was a very nice place to stay for a few days. The room was a little small but comfortable. Beds were above average. Great pool area to relax around- there is a fireplace on at night as well. Hotel did not seem very crowded or noisy. Traffic noise was not an issue as some reviews said. Only drawback- $18 for valet parking- I like having a choice of valet or self-park. But otherwise, very enjoyable. Good location- about 10 minutes from Beverly Hills and Westside, and 10 minutes to the Valley. We went out to Malibu one day- only about 25 minutes. Got a great price with Priceline.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAngeleno, Front Desk Supervisor at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, February 16, 2009
Dear trvlmaven,

Thank you very much for your positive comments about the hotel. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know that we have exceeded your expectations during your visit with us.

Please feel free to call me directly at 310-476-6411 as I will always be at your service.

Warm Regards,

Scott Gordon
Front Desk Supervisor
170 N. Church Lane
LA, CA, 90049
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Angeleno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Angeleno

Address: 170 North Church Lane, Los Angeles, CA 90049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#44 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Angeleno 3.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the prestigious Brentwood/Bel-Air area, Hotel Angeleno offers a new kind of casual luxury that is uniquely L.A. The landmark circular design sets the tone for the relaxed ambiance. The pool, outdoor fireplace, and spectacular penthouse-level restaurant continue the warm and sophisticated atmosphere. Hotel Angeleno is just minutes away from Hollywood, Westwood, Beverly Hills, Santa Monica, and the San Fernando Valley with close proximity to the Getty Center, UCLA and the Skirball Cultural Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Angeleno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angeleno Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Angeleno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.