We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Angeleno

Save Saved
You added Hotel Angeleno to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Angeleno
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 North Church Lane, Los Angeles, CA 90049 (Westside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save $25 on select meals
Ranked #41 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Gatos, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I booked through hotwire but a friend stayed and the same time and booked directly. No unpleasant surprises or charges. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I took advantage of a wine tasting they offerred in late afternoon. Large well equipped room. My only complaint is also a feature. Right next tot the freeway so easy access to anywhere in West LA. Nothing interesting within walking distance and the freeway noise delayed falling asleep by a few minutes. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Barry C

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about our complimentary wine hour and about our staff. We love to hear when we have exceeded the expectations of our guests. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    475
    371
    153
    59
    53
See reviews for
197
302
131
314
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Slovakia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I booked this accommodation on the basis of its star rating, but it was far above than that. Amazing décor of the rooms, lovely staff, and delicious food all was beyond my expectations. Services were very prompt and staff was very polite all the times. Staying here was really a lovely experience and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Jaroslav M

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about our staff and food. We love to hear when we have exceeded the expectations of our guests. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Dear Sir

Angeleno Hote - 8, 9 and 10 April 2013

I am writing to congratulate you on your selection of staff at the Angelino Hotel and to say how welcome we were made to feel on our recent visit.

All staff we met were very accommodating and nothing seemed like too much trouble for them.  I would particularly like to mention the following:

Edith - who arranged our tour and shuttle times and kept us informed every step of the way and was very helpful in arranging an effcient room change at our request due to the night noise from roadwork machinery.

Renee - was very personable and efficient at organising shuttle transfers and recommending restaurants.  She was happy to make calls to check opening and closing times.

Ward - the shuttle driver who was very prompt at picking up and dropping off; his light, informal conversation was pitched just right. He was very informative about the area.

Hector- who drove us by taxi from the hotel to the airport.  We loved Hector, his happy nature and interesting stories.  He provided a memorable end to our holiday.

Thank you for everything.


Julie Escreet and Ian Day





Sent from Julie's iPad

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear 54Jules54

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about our staff. They are the heart of the hotel. We love to hear when we have exceeded the expectations of our guests. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Highlights of the Hotel Angeleno:

1) Amazing service! Edith at the front desk was especially friendly and courteous. She went out of her way to make sure my stay was pleasant.
2) Comfy bed. Very, very comfy. (Don't hit the snooze button.)
3) A view of the Getty Center from my balcony.
4) Free valet parking. (This alone can save you a lot in LA.)
5) Location is close to UCLA and Brentwood. The only caveat is the hotel is directly off the freeway, so some traffic noise drifts in with the balcony door open.
6) Good value--especially when you factor in free parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing west--otherwise you'll be staring at the 405 freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Ana Maria M

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about the hotel and about our rock star, Edith. We love to hear when we have exceeded the expectations of our guests. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My son and I had a great time at Hotel Angeleno. The service was great and the room was really comfortable. Very close to UCLA and they provide shuttle if necessary. Easy commute from the airport and close to a lot to do. Joseph at the Front Desk was so very helpful. He provided great directions, restaurant recommendations and was extremely cheerful and made us feel very welcome. The food at the West Restaurant was very good, only had breakfast but was great quick service. Room service was great too. I would definitely stay there again. Great!!!!

Room Tip: Make your request online ahead of time and the hotel staff will accommodate. Request non-freeway si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear KLM2013

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about Joseph and our hotel. We love to hear when we have exceeded the expectations of our guests. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Americas
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had planned a visit to UCLA's country club style campus which is about a mile away. The hotel is very close to I 405 and within a thirty minute walk to campus. It has a courtesy shuttle which takes guests to and from UCLA. They also have courtesy valet parking, a big plus in parking expensive L.A. This seems to be a refurbished 1970s vintage Holiday Inn with a nice modern decor. The staff is very nice. The free internet service did not work well but they gave us a courtesy credit upon check out. Courtesy is the right word for this property. It is a bit expensive for what you get as far as luxury and room size, but a good deal if you compare it with other nearby properties. Overall a nice stay. Many guests have something to do with UCLA. The hotel is also close to Beverly Hills, Bel Air and Westwood. There is road construction nearby. Good choice if you want to visit UCLA. Very comfortable beds and good in room coffee (Wolfgang Puck)

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking UCLA
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear ViajeroESQ

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about the hotel and our staff. We love to hear when we have exceeded the expectations of our guests. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Try as they might, choose this hotel only if you have always yearned to be right at the worst intersection in LA- the 405 and Sunset Boulevard-- where traffic never hesitates even for a second. Yes its clean, yes, it doesn't smell, yes, it aspires to boutique status, but really, why would anyone who visits LA want to stay here? Oh, maybe the free wifi and parking?

Room Tip: Go as high up as you can to get away from the traffic din
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Imabroadwaybaby

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about the hotel and our free wifi and parking. We love to hear when we have exceeded the expectations of our guests. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Angeleno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Angeleno

Address: 170 North Church Lane, Los Angeles, CA 90049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#26 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#27 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#48 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Angeleno 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the prestigious Brentwood/Bel-Air area, Hotel Angeleno offers a new kind of casual luxury that is uniquely L.A. The landmark circular design sets the tone for the relaxed ambiance. The pool, outdoor fireplace, and spectacular penthouse-level restaurant continue the warm and sophisticated atmosphere. Hotel Angeleno is just minutes away from Hollywood, Westwood, Beverly Hills, Santa Monica, and the San Fernando Valley with close proximity to the Getty Center, UCLA and the Skirball Cultural Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Angeleno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angeleno Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Angeleno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.