We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Angeleno

Save Saved
You added Hotel Angeleno to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Angeleno
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 North Church Lane, Los Angeles, CA 90049 (Westside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save $25 on select meals
Ranked #40 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
“Surprisingly good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I travel a lot with business, and after some early experiences, I tend to avoid hotels that are not well known. This time my trip needed to be altered and I was looking to find a decent hotel near to where I had meetings. I found the Hotel Angeleno on a booking website and after checking all other options decided to risk it. The hotel itself is clean and well looked after. I read a lot about the noise of the freeway and small rooms, but I honestly found the room no smaller than any other room I've stayed in, and the traffic noise not so bad at all as long as the door was closed. The one small complaint I could make was the in the wall heater/air conditioner unit was very loud, to the point I couldn't run it at night. It still got quite cool in the evening so I made sure to get an extra blanket.
The staff are really great. Everybody from the shuttle driver to the bartenders and wait staff at West were friendly and good at what they do. Special shout out to Courtney and Josef at the front desk for making me feel very welcome and helping me to find locations/events that were nearby.
The afternoon wine social time was quite unique and I found myself, to my surprise, engaged in some interesting conversations with other guests.
The jazz band that was playing on the Thursday night at West was very good, as was the food.
All in all, from low expectations came this gem of a hotel that I would definitely stay at again if my travels take me that way again

Room Tip: My room was on the side facing the pool. I didn't hear a lot of road noise from the nearby freew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear LesPaulSlinger

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about the hotel. It sounds like you had the time to enjoy our compimentary wine hour as well as talk with some of our staff. We love to hear when we have exceeded the expectations of our guests. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    476
    372
    153
    59
    53
See reviews for
197
302
131
315
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel was in a great location in Los Angeles and for a great affordable price. It is close to the freeway, which made it easily accessible for traveling. It was also very close to Beverly Hills and Brentwood. The rooms were clean and cozy. I would highly recommend staying here when traveling to Los Angeles.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear 192ElizabethD

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about the hotel. We love to hear when we have exceeded the expectations of our guests. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

First time staying at the Angeleno great staff and friendly. Breakfast is a must I recommend the french toast. Hotel little noise with all the construction but is ok. Can't go wrong with the free valet especially NELSON in the valet area maid our stay much nicer were to go and also avoid the traffic thanks again. Would stay again at the hotel Angeleno. Recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Perro123

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about the hotel, Nelson, and of course everybody's favorite French toast. We love to hear when we have exceeded the expectations of our guests. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located in the middle of the freeway and you cant see any green lands or any nice view and that's what I didn't like , as at the time I was the last year , there was lots of construction on the road and I have to pass many exits to reach , I didn't like the small pool and I didn't even try it , the staff are nice , the restaurant on the top is good but now wow , this hotel is good if you are on business trip but not if you are going to enjoy .....
I didn't like the rooms either but at the end as I said its good for business men who are on hurry but not for a long stay and being pampered ....

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Amr T

Thank you very much for all of your comments about our staff and our hotel.

I will share your words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke - On - Trent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel had a great room, conveniently sized, close to LAX (about 25 mins driving), Free Valet Parking, free Wifi, offered trip to see LA. The room rate was competitive, the only downside is the traffic noise from the Freeway, it doesn't disturb sleep and great if you enjoy car spotting - don't get me wrong this will not put me off booking this hotel again if i was in LA.

We tried the restaurant for evening meal which was great quality, but some may say expensive around $100 for two (with a bottle of wine though).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear jonezbond

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about the hotel and restaurant. We love to hear when we have exceeded the expectations of our guests. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed 5 nights here. I liked that the shower had great water pressure and at 6 feet 3 inches tall, I could stand up under the shower head. I also liked the large selection of television stations. The bed was comfortable and the room felt clean. They have a shuttle that makes it easy to get to UCLA and back. That was very nice.

I tried a sandwich from their lobby cafe, and the bread was horribly soggy. It was like biting into a wet sponge. I also got charged for items from the honor bar on two different days. I never touched the honor bar, so watch out for that. I was on the third floor, and the freeway noise was faint, however I'm used to that sound, so it may bother others more than me.

I walked around the area a bit. There aren't many restaurants or markets within walking distance. I found a gas station after crossing under the 405.

Room Tip: Go up high, away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Jarv29

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about our hotel.

I have shared your very helpful comments with our Executive Chef, who has followed up with her staff to ensure no more soggy bread gets served.

I will share your words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Hotel Angeleno is located right on the 405 and Sunset Blvd and it it's noisy. The complimentary valet parking, free wifi, nice pool, and reasonable room rate make this a place I would stay again. Happy hour on the 17th floor lounge and restaurant were nice also.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Laceytom

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about the hotel. We love to hear when we have exceeded the expectations of our guests. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Pool, Classic...
Show More
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#25 of 322 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Quiet, Free int...
Show More
Westside
The Brentwood Inn
The Brentwood Inn
#12 of 322 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
Central L.A
The Line
The Line
#28 of 322 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Restaurant, Pet...
Show More
Westside
Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Westwood - a Kimpton Hotel
Mid-range, Quie...
Show More
Central L.A
Elan Hotel Los Angeles
Elan Hotel Los Angeles
#7 of 322 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
Central L.A
the MOMENT hotel
the MOMENT hotel
#29 of 322 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Angeleno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Angeleno

Address: 170 North Church Lane, Los Angeles, CA 90049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#22 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#28 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#48 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Angeleno 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the prestigious Brentwood/Bel-Air area, Hotel Angeleno offers a new kind of casual luxury that is uniquely L.A. The landmark circular design sets the tone for the relaxed ambiance. The pool, outdoor fireplace, and spectacular penthouse-level restaurant continue the warm and sophisticated atmosphere. Hotel Angeleno is just minutes away from Hollywood, Westwood, Beverly Hills, Santa Monica, and the San Fernando Valley with close proximity to the Getty Center, UCLA and the Skirball Cultural Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Angeleno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angeleno Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Angeleno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.