We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Angeleno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Angeleno to your Saves list
Hotel Angeleno
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 North Church Lane, Los Angeles, CA 90049 (Westside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save $25 on select meals
Ranked #41 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Kontich, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights at the end of a road trip thru the south west. It was one of the better hotels we stayed in.

In a couple reviews I read about the traffic noise. There is some noise, but it never kept me awake. After all the hotel is located in a city centre, and not at a quiet beach. (At check inn I did request a quiet room, and we got one on the tenth floor).
Room was not very large, but very nice and clean.

All the personnel is very friendly. The free valet parking is also a nice extra touch.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Steven D,

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about the hotel. It sounds like you and your family had a fun road trip across the Southwest. I'm glad the Hotel Angeleno was a part of that experience.

I will share your kind words with our entire team. We love to hear when we have exceeded the expectations of our guests. Hope you to see you again soon!

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    397
    165
    61
    55
See reviews for
215
335
138
337
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel used to be a Holiday Inn. It is a circular hotel near Getty Museum shaped like a stack of 78 rpm records. It is modern and sleek in decor and professionally staffed. The rooms are a bit tight for all the amenities they try to pack in, but comfortable. The freeway traffic was directly below our window, so ask for a high floor.
We had drinks one night at 'West', the hotel restaurant. Our bill came to $52.21 and we added a 20% tip. That would be approximately $10.50. Now, here's a tip for YOU. At the bottom of our tab, they do the tip math for you. It printed: Suggested Gratuity 15% is $14.40 (not). 18% is $17.28 (not) and 20% is $19.20 (again, not). Now, this might be helpful if, after a couple of wines, a calculator of this method were accurate. Who ever taught (calibrated) this computer simple math needs to check back into elementary school. Thankfully, we did our own math, but did not realize the fuzzy % until reviewing receipts with Visa bill. Be warned.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a west-facing room - higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Front Office Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear WestCoastie,

Thank you very much for all of your comments regarding our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, as well as our unique architecture and decor. I'd also like to inquire about the error on your receipt. We have examined all of our current receipts, and found the calculations of suggested gratuity to accurately reflect pre-tax percentages. If you still have your receipt, I would like to forward a copy to our Systems Support technicians. Please feel free to contact the hotel directly and ask to speak with me, or a Restaurant Manager.

Thank you again for your feedback. Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

James Huang
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was our first trip to Los Angeles and was not sure what to expect. We have picked this hotel based on the location and the free parking since parking in LA COST $$ Wherever you go and stay. The rooms were nice size clean and modern. The bed was great felt right at home. The location was great for us for what we wanted to do. We did a lot of site seeing/Driving. It is about 10 to 15mins down Sunset Blvd to Beverly Hills and Hollywood and about 15 Mins to Venice Beach and Santa Monica Beach. Overall When we come back to Los Angeles Cal we will most likely stay here again.The free parking is a big saver. We checked a number of other hotels in the area an the price range from $20 to $35 a day + Tip which is a little crazy I think being From a little town outside of Philadelphia PA. I rate This Hotel AAA+++

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room on the west side of the building due to the 405 freeway noise. Pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Wesley Z,

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about our hotel. I'm glad you were able to enjoy the complimentary valet parking. We like to think of it as one of the unique amenities that visitors to the LA area only find at the Hotel Angeleno.

Hope to see you again soon!

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

One of my best hotel stays ever. We were there Labor Day weekend and everyone we encountered were so friendly and helpful. I feel bad that I do not remember the woman who checked us in's name (blond hair, from East coast, but grew up in Canada) She suggested lots of places we could go eat after getting in so late, even drawing us a map. We also loved Cam. She was so fun to intereact with, beyond friendly and personable. The location was great, right off the 405 and Sunset, close to beaches and Hollywood. Our room had the most comfortable beds with high thread count soft sheets. It was small but very modern and cute. I cannot wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear LyndsyintheUSA,

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments regarding our staff and hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed the convenience of our location.

I have shared your kind words with Renee and Cam, and the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. We love to hear when we have exceeded the expectations of our guests. Hope to see you again soon!

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henniker, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have been staying at the Angeleno for many years. We go to LA once or twice a year and are always greeted warmly by the staff. The staff is the face of any business. A big "Welcome Back" from Edith at the front desk always starts our visit off well. Ana Rosales makes sure that our room is always to our liking and finds time in her very busy schedule to check on how our stay is going. The Valet parking staff is also warm and welcoming. Over the years we have enjoyed dining at West many times. Any meals or snacks you choose will be to your liking I am sure. We actually walked to Brentwood Village for lunch and the whole walk round trip was only a mile and a half. The little village has several good restaurants and shops you might enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Darby M,

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments regarding our staff and hotel. We love to hear when we have exceeded the expectations of our guests. I'm glad you were able to visit Brentwood Village. It's somewhat of a hidden gem in the West LA area, and is surprisingly close - even on foot - to the hotel.

I will share your kind words with Edith, Ana, and the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. Hope to see you again soon!

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I know from being in the industry that the first opinion of a property lives heavily on the first person you make contact with, The first person I was greeted by was Chris. His warm smile and great personality made me feel welcomed at your hotel. It was reassuring that the impression I got from your hotel based on the pictures and other reviews was held true because of Chris. Thanks for the great service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Ms W,

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments our staff and the hotel. We love to hear when we have exceeded the expectations of our guests, especially from someone who is also in the industry.

I will share your kind words with Chris and the entire team at the Hotel Angeleno. Hope to see you again soon!

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a night last month. I called housekeeping for additional towels and after waiting some time, had to call the front desk. The manager Chris Williams was exceptionally helpful, and friendly. We received our towels instantly and he while speaking with us gave us excellent restaurant recommendations for that night. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for the great management.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1111, Manager at Hotel Angeleno, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear KinaMina,

Thank you very much for all of your positive feedback.

I have shared your very helpful comments with Chris and our Executive Housekeeper, who has followed up with her staff. We love to hear when we have exceeded the expectations of our guests.

Hope to see you again soon!

Thanks,

Scott Gordon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Angeleno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Angeleno

Address: 170 North Church Lane, Los Angeles, CA 90049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#31 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#45 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Angeleno 3.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the prestigious Brentwood/Bel-Air area, Hotel Angeleno offers a new kind of casual luxury that is uniquely L.A. The landmark circular design sets the tone for the relaxed ambiance. The pool, outdoor fireplace, and spectacular penthouse-level restaurant continue the warm and sophisticated atmosphere. Hotel Angeleno is just minutes away from Hollywood, Westwood, Beverly Hills, Santa Monica, and the San Fernando Valley with close proximity to the Getty Center, UCLA and the Skirball Cultural Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Angeleno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angeleno Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Angeleno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.