We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Celebrity Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hollywood Celebrity Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1775 Orchid Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90028   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My partner & I stayed here for a week in mid February at the beginning of our trip in the States. Overall, we liked the place & the staff were very helpful.

The room we stayed in was very clean, very spacious as well. We liked that it had lounge furniture so we didn't have to eat on the bed all the time. Although the room did seem slightly outdated, it didn't matter much to us because of it's cleanliness.

The location is perfect, not even a two minute walk to Hollywood & Highland, which leads out onto Hollywood Blvd.

The only issue I would say there is with this hotel is that there is no elevator. So if you've got heavy bags & your room is on the second floor, good luck to you!

Overall, still a good place to stay. Close to everything, very clean & staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    482
    561
    162
    30
    27
See reviews for
358
460
58
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My son and I stayed here for three nights in February. My son had previously stayed here in 2012 and spoke very highly of it. The hotel certainly lived up to his high praise on our visit. It is a great location right behind the Hollywood and Highland shopping with its shops and restaurants, the Dolby Theatre and Grauman's Chinese Theatre. Whilst close to all this and Hollywood Boulevard, its quiet location means it seems quite removed from all the hustle and bustle.

The hotel is more than adequate and good value for the price. We had double room with a kitchenette. (There is a good Fresh and Easy supermarket quite close by to purchase food to cook in the room.) It has an old-fashioned, art deco atmosphere. Its key strength is the friendly and helpful staff on the front desk. All of them were very willing to provide information and assistance in patient and unrushed way. I am more than happy to recommend this hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

If you want to walk along Hollywood Blvd, this is a great location. Chinese theater, Jimmy Kimmel, restaurants all within walking distance. On the 4th level of shopping center there is a balcony view of the Hollywood sign. Front desk was helpful. Decent breakfast with muffins, juice, cold pastries, etc. The room was dated but clean. make sure if you use any dishes in the Kitchenette that you clean them. There's a fee if you don't. Free parking was nice. For what it is, its pretty expensive. You're definitely paying for the location.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aust
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was a really fantastic hotel that suited our needs. The location is perfect, a couple of minutes walk to the Chinese Theatre and right near Hollywood & Highland. There are plenty of places to eat at- California Pizza Kitchen, Hard Rock, Mexican, Italian, Johnny Rockets, Chick Fill-A and even In-n-Out burger (about a 10-15min walk away). The hotel serves continental breakfast daily from 7-10. The breakfast was actually pretty decent, there is toast, waffles, croissants, muffins, coffee, hot chocolate and juice. We would quite often take a muffin and have it as a snack later on in the day. There is a small eating area at the front of the hotel, or you can eat in your room.

Staff at the hotel were very friendly, professional and helpful. They had no problem holding our bags for us when we checked out. There also is a metro station near the chinese theatre which we used to go to the Staples Centre to watch a Lakers game.
The hotel also can arrange a taxi at a flat rate to take you to LAX which we used, think it was $55. When we arrived at LAX and went to the hotel the fare was $75, not including tip (around 1pm when we arrived in LAX). It may be worthwhile, inquiring at the hotel if they can arrange the flat rate to also pick you up from LAX and take you to the hotel.

I would definitely stay at the Hollywood Celebrity when I go back to LA and would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor if you are going to have lots of bags- unless you want to lug the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

After the Goliath hotels we have stayed in so far, this pretty little hotel tucked in behind the Dolby Theatre was a much welcomed change. The staff are courteous, cheerful, and always helpful, & our stay was treated to being the first guests in one of their newly furnished rooms.
Very Art Deco in decor, with modern look to the refurbished rooms, that include a fridge, microwave (small kitchenette in some), and a sit down makeup area that will please any lady!
24/7 tea, coffee, hot chocolate in alcove behind foyer,
Basic but satisfactory breakfast in alcove behind foyer,
Small but functional fitness room,
A great little hotel in an excellent location. It has the vote of my wife and I as a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Request a ground floor room if you don't like stairs as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and it was really handy being so close. I did hire a car so the free parking was very good. The rooms were really spacious. They were being updated when I was there so I no doubt that the rooms will look even better. It was very quiet in the 2 level hotel so that helps if you're a light sleeper like me. The wireless internet didn't work for 2 out of the 3 nights I was there but that would be my only They staff were also very nice and had time to have a chat. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: For a quiet nights sleep ask for a room in the back of the hotel as you won't get any people wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and were really pleased with the overall experience. We arrived hours before check in, and the front desk did everything they could to get us into a room as soon as possible. We were tired from our long flight and really appreciated getting checked in early. We had hired a car and the free parking just out the back was really convenient. We never had a problem finding a parking spot in the hotel carpark. The hotel staff were really helpful and welcoming throughout our stay. The location is perfect, a couple minute walk to Hollywood Blvd. The room was clean and spacious. Would recommend anyone looking for a convenient location and a good price to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hollywood Celebrity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Celebrity Hotel

Address: 1775 Orchid Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#28 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#59 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Celebrity Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Celebrity Hotel is a superior tourist class hotel located in the heart of downtown Hollywood, the entertainment capital and theatre district. The Hollywood Celebrity Hotel offers the glamour of the 1930s with the intimacy of a bed and breakfast inn. Guest rooms are dramatically decorated to reflect back on the celebrities of the 1930's featuring murals of some of the Hollywood greatest loved stars over the beds, and brightly colored furnishings. The hotel is minutes to fine dining, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hollywood Celebrity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Celebrity Los Angeles
Hotel Hollywood Celebrity
Celebrity Hollywood Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Celebrity Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.