We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel of our trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Celebrity Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hollywood Celebrity Hotel to your Saves list
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1775 Orchid Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90028   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Hotel of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hotel was amazing! In short; if you are looking for a great budget hotel in the heart of hollywood, go no further than this!

Please read on for a more detailed review :-)

I found it after looking at numerous reviews. Most of them were good so we took a gamble. It paid off!

As a budget hotel, this is amazing. It is really nicely decorated on the inside and our room was tastfully decked out in an old school hollywood theme. So much room!
Bed- so comfy!
It had a fridge, table, chairs in a wee kitchenette corner, a dressing room with one of those mirrors with lights round it (loved it!), a big wardrobe, iron, bath and shower. Cold and warm water were in plenty a supply (trust me, LA in August- you'll need cold showers!!!)

The breakfast was very good, especially as a traveler as we were not used to the American breakfast of Muffins or Croissants. The cereal, milk, toast and spreads were much appreciated! You collect your food then take it back up to your room.

The air con was great- better to keep the windows shut as the rooms facing the road can be a wee bit noisy.

The location? If you want to stay in hollywood you can't get better! It's right there in the middle of things, yet because it's situated one block behind the main drag, you don't get the noise, bustle, or homeless people like you do on the Boulevard.

It has free parking. The lot is small and often full, but the staff are very accommodating and will shift cars around to make yours fit (and even park it for you if your husband is too scared to attempt parking the expensive rental car in a tiny spot...)

Speaking of the staff, we found them all great. Well presented, helpful and friendly. Cleaning service was great too.

The ONLY downside of this hotel is the location. Like I said, if you WANT to be in Hollywood, this is definitely the place to be. However I found Hollywood quite different than I imagined and would not want to go see it again.

However would still stay here again using it as a base to see other parts of the city.

Thankyou so much HOLLYWOOD CELEBRITY HOTEL for a great stay- you'd get 6 stars if I could give them!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    600
    173
    31
    30
See reviews for
391
494
62
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My friends and I just returned home a 2-week trip through California, with the majority of our time spent at the Hollywood Celebrity Hotel. As students in our early 20s we were not looking for the best looking hotel but for a hotel that was close to most of the attractions we had in mind with a price that was not expensive. The Hollywood Celebrity was all that plus more. It was extremely cheap for the area, It is located right behind the Hollywood and Highland and just steps away from the walk of fame, many theaters, museums, and night life. But most importantly the Hollywood Celebrity had the best staff and service I have had at any hotel I have been to. We were usually up pretty early in the mornings and out the door to go sight seeing pretty fast. So the continental breakfast provided was all we needed. Because we left pretty early in the mornings we did not really get to know the daytime staff although they were always happy to answer our questions and greet with the biggest smiles on their faces. The best service came from Syed at the front desk. The night before we arrived at the hotel we called letting him know that we would be checking in late. When we arrived the next day he knew exactly who we were and had everything ready for us. We quickly came to realize that we needed a car to get around LA and with out any hesitation Syed had called a company for us and in 25 minutes we had a car. Every time we had a question about where something was or how to get somewhere, Syed would always let us know. He was always sure to ask when he saw us come walking through the doors at the end of the day about how our day went, and to suggest new things to do. The Hollywood Celebrity Hotel was a great hotel for us, the price, location, and most importantly the staff were amazing. I would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warragamba
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We spent 2 nights here before we headed to Florida. The hotel was clean and very spacious. Light Breakfast provided was reasonable. Within walkin distance to alot of attractions and tourist spots including Hollywood Bowl. Subway was close by for easy transport and taxi's were simply a request at front desk. The Hotel is fabulous for those on a budget and not looking for Bells and Whistles.
Would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in the heart of LA. Restaurants and Entertainment all close by as well as shopping!!!.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed here as we read it was a good location. We were very happy with our choice! Easy walk to the Hollywood walk of fame and the Chinese theatre etc. We were also able to park for free although we had a large car for our stay which we did have trouble trying to find a space. It was really quirky with all of the old Hollywood movie posters in the hotel and rooms etc. The rooms were also fairly large and well equipped and nice and clean. The breakfast was ok but we only used it once and chose to go out for breakfast the other mornings. The hotel itself was really nice and what we expected for the money and the location. The only little niggle is that we were quite near reception and it was quite noisy but not enough that we felt as though we needed to complain. The staff were friendly and showed us maps of places to go and see etc. Foe people moaning about there not being lifts etc – we heard two couples on the first floor asking for help with their luggage at reception and both were helped immediately so I do not see this as a problem at all. Also people moaning that it isn’t modern? You could surely see from where you booked that this was an ‘oldie’ hotel! All in all a good central location hotel which I would happily stay at again and definitely recommend!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Pros:
1. Location next to Hollywood walk of fame, chinese theatre etc....tours start from here
2. Free Parking, but limited
3. Retro look with old Hollywood movie posters all over....
4. Fairly clean and well maintained
5. Largish room size

Cons:
1. Noisy AC
2. Very limited breakfast- just bagels, toast, coffee, some fruit and cereal
3. OK service- while front desk was polite and informed...the first night I had to park in the neighbouring garage and was told I would get a refund of my parking fee.....I gave that receipt to them and they said I would get a credit...never did....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Me and my Wife stayed here last week for eight nights.The location of this hotel is hard to beat.I believe it's this hotels' best feature.If you are hoping to see a red carpet movie premier at Grauman's Chinese Theater or a live taping of the Jimmy Kimmel show.Other highlights of our time on the Hollywood Blvd included a cool tour of the Dolby Theater(which host the academy awards) Great food at the Hard Rock Cafe,the hollywood museum,shops and restaurants at the Hollywood & Highland Center.All of this just minutes from the Celebrity Hotel! The staff were very friendly.Our room was just as advertised,clean & spacious.The continental breakfast is nothing to write home about,so we got what ever we needed at the CVS store walking distance on the Hollywood Blvd.If you are planning drive while visiting Hollywood,rent a small car! Best advice I got from this sight while planning our vacation.The only negative thing about this Hotel can be the parking situation.Granted it is free,but the hotel has 25 rooms and only 20 small parking spaces.Our hotel was fully booked and is most of the time because of the great price.You will have to park in the near by parking garage at the Highland Center.We spent some late nights out on the Sunset Strip and had to walk from the hollywood blvd twice.I don't recommend walking around in Hollywood late at night.The Celebrity Hotel parking lot was full 6 of our 8 nights.When I say full,I mean with cars double parked.The Hotel staff will take your car keys and move cars making sure you can get out.I do recommend this hotel.The Celebrity's location & price make it a great value for Hollywood California.

Room Tip: Listened to advice from this site to get a room on the top floor. It was really quiet.You will have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is a sweet old-fashioned hotel, the staff is awesome and extremely helpful, and the location can NOT be beat. There is a huge *new* hotel across the street, but it does not have the lovely charm that this place has. We stayed here for 4 days last week and will definitely come back!

Room Tip: back corner 2 room suites are roomy, large, and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hollywood Celebrity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Celebrity Hotel

Address: 1775 Orchid Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#26 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#45 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Celebrity Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Celebrity Hotel is a superior tourist class hotel located in the heart of downtown Hollywood, the entertainment capital and theatre district. The Hollywood Celebrity Hotel offers the glamour of the 1930s with the intimacy of a bed and breakfast inn. Guest rooms are dramatically decorated to reflect back on the celebrities of the 1930's featuring murals of some of the Hollywood greatest loved stars over the beds, and brightly colored furnishings. The hotel is minutes to fine dining, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Hollywood Celebrity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Celebrity Los Angeles
Hotel Hollywood Celebrity
Celebrity Hollywood Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Celebrity Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.