We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwelmed!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Magic Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Magic Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
A TripAdvisor Member
“Underwelmed!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2006

I was very disappointed at the physical appearance of the hotel. I had a very different interpretation from the website. My 1 bedroom suite was spacious but it was not elegant at all. More like an old dated apartment. The linens were really comfortable and the staff was very nice but the hotel itself was not.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,537
    420
    92
    47
    20
See reviews for
912
554
49
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2006

We stayed at the Magic Castle Hotel on June 2nd and June 3rd. There were five of us traveling (3 adults and 2 kids ages 9 and 11) and we stayed in a one bedroom suite. Upon check-in we were greeted by the staff at the front door. The person at the desk was very pleasant and helpful and made us feel like we were valued guests. After we checked in we were moving our luggage from the car to our room. When a staff member saw us moving our luggage, he immediately offered to assist us. Our room was spacious and comfortable. We requested a roll-away bed when we made our reservations and it was in the room when we checked in. The weather was quite hot during our stay and the room was pleasantly cool. There was an air conditioner in the living room and bedroom. The kids wanted to use the pool immediately and it was quite refreshing. The breakfast provided in the lobby area was really good with a variety of fruit and freshly baked goodies. The coffee was very tasty as well. The location was great - walking distance to the Chinese Theater and Walk of Fame. We were able to go to the Sunday Brunch at the Magic Castle which was really nice.

Our stay was enjoyable. The staff at this Hotel really knows how to provide an exceptional cutomer experience. The entire staff from the manager at the front desk to the housekeeping staff work in conjuction to make the guest feel special. We all had a great time - it was a nice break from the average chain hotel.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2006

Stayed at the Magic Castle June 23 - 26, 2006 in room 113. This hotel is a real mixed bag. Great location in the heart of Hollywood. But a bathroom that is in desperate need of renovation. Helpful, friendly staff that is really attempting to keep an older facility going. But an incredibly uncomfortable and droopy sofa bed that was cruel and unusual punishment for our teenage sons. Unexpected extras like free DVD loans and juice in a champagne glass on check in, but they couldn't find a remote for our TV.

But our big complaint was the bathroom and not the fact that the bathtub was so old that the porcelain was worn off. Our issue was the toilet. There was a large plunger strategically placed next to the toilet that I had to use at least four times during our stay. We complained and the maintenance team came the next day. When we returned that evening, the toilet wouldn't flush at all - they had broken the chain and left. Another call and the team returned and within the hour, we could flush. Sort of. The saga continued but I won't dwell on the details other than to say that one time we lost the battle resulting in an unpleasant overflow.

The staff took $50 off our bill but that's not enough for us to take the plunge again at the Magic Castle.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2006

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in June. The staff were very friendly and helpful but the room was lttle a musty. We opted for a one bed suite and the room was a great size, this was a refurbished room however due to the choice of colour of the carpet the room didn't look newly refurbished . On our last night the people upstairs had the TV on all night which kept us awake so wasn't a very pleasant ending to our stay. All in all we had a great stay, especially as this is only a 2 star hotel.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
1 review
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2006

I stayed at this hotel after browsing through this website and expedia and the like. Some of the pictures showed the motel with very contemporary rooms. However, when I arrived at the hotel I was less than impressed.

It must be said that there are two sides to this hotel. On the one side, you have what are called "one/two bedroom suites". These are the the rooms you are going to see in the pictures when you are booking. However, the room I got was a "deluxe queen" I believe. These rooms it seems are not yet renovated, and not at all up to the standards of what you pay for. My girlfriend and I checked in to what looked like a rennovated apartment building next to the magic castle. Not met by sparkling cider and not shown to our room as the other guests were when checking in. The first room we went to had a broken lock to its connecting room which made it free for me or my neighbors to open up our doors and enter each others rooms. So, the hotel decided to place a small table in front of the door to make all well. Beyond that, the room was sitting well in the 90 degree range. So...we asked for another room.

No problem there...and we were given another unimpressive, unrennovated room. The room was steaming again and until we left we had to run the air conditioning unit on high to stay at all comfortable. After complaining about our first room and expressing our concern that we didnt get what we paid for, nick at the front desk said he would try and get us in to a nicer room the following day.

Next day....back down to the front desk to ask about a new room (and to ask why the wireless internet wasnt working, which we were directed to a 1-800 number for tech support). We were told by one of the ladies that since we didnt come to the front desk by 11am someone was already booked in the nicer room. So were they willing to give us some kind of discount or do anything for us? Nope. She said she tried to contact us, even though our phone never rang and we were only about 30 feet away for her to walk and knock on our door. So following that...we decided to check out early. We had already walked along the strip the previous day and didnt mind moving a little bit further away.

During our complaining and early departure, not once did we talk to Mike, the front end manager who sat just behind the glass at the front desk, or did we talk to darren, the hotel manager who was onsite as well and who also knew of the situation.

On the positive, this motel is extremely close to the Chinese theater and if you get a rennovated room, your stay will probably be quite nice. However, while I stood at the front desk to check out I called Comfort Inn and Suites and got an exceptionally nicer room for about $40+ cheaper, but it was just a little futher off the strip.

Basically, only stay here if your going to pay the extra for the larger rooms, and that is if you really want to pay that much. If your just looking for a room close to the strip, there are more than enough close to hollywood blvd or sunset that are quite cheaper and much nicer.

On a side note of the staff at the Magic Castle, Nick was professional and nice enough as was one of the other gentleman we were helped by on our first day there. However, the two ladies we ran in two at the front desk on the next day seemed to possess little knowledge and even less tact. But, most of all the management was not at all up to calibur. Providing no contact giving us no explanation and no apology. We got the sense that this was not the first time the motel has had to deal with people in our position.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2006

Pool was nice, breakfast was excellent and room was fine too. Nice and helpful staff, enough parking space, free DVD's. No problems!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on the road
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2006

On June 11,12,13 & 14 three of us stayed in room 211. Big bedroom, full kitchen, couch/bed, deck with tables and chairs, which overlooked the pool. Free Internet worked all the time and was fast.
Mary Jane greeted us and could not have been nicer. She even gave our daughter a cake celebrating her college graduation!
Lots of activity in the heart of Hollywood and just 1 block away at Kodak Theater & Graumen's allowed us an easy walk to get free movie tickets (premier showing of Fast & Furious Tokyo Drift) experience a TV show (Jimmy Kimmel Live-free also) and see a movie opening (Jack Black interviewed by Entertainment Tonight for the movie Nacho Libre).
This is no Hilton but comfortable and clean. Free local newspaper delivered to our door and free breafact. Many stairs and no elevator may be tough for some but staff will get your bags to your room. Indoor parking keeps your car cool on those hot CA days.
Staff is very helpful and finds creative ways to correct issues. When the stove didn't work Mary Jane didn't just cook our pizza but also gave us free bottle of wine – stove was fixed the next day. Mary Jane, Marc and Darren answered our every question while the rest of the staff was also friendly and did their jobs well.
Met 3 recent medical graduates from the UK at the pool who said the same accommodations in their country would have cost 3x as much. I also felt that we too received our moneys worth.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A , Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#16 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.