We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“almost a 5” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Magic Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Magic Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“almost a 5”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

the room was amazing and quaint. I loved that you could have as many snacks as you wanted. the pool was very warm (no hot tub). the only knocks on the hotel is that the breakfast was very basic (nothing hot other than from a toaster) and the tub has seen better days. the staff was over the top amazing. Despite Hollywood's less than sterling character, Magic Castle is a perfect choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you so much for writing. I'm happy that you enjoyed your room so much. Yes the 24 hour free snacks is a whole lot of fun!!

Our complimentary breakfast is Continental style, not a Full breakfast. For the readers out there who might be wondering what it consists of. Each morning, one of L.A.'s best bakeries (Susina Bakery) delivers freshly baked croissants, scones (Apricot/Ginger, Chocolate Chip/Sour Cherry, and Blueberry), Muffins (Banana, Blueberry, and Bran). These pastries are amazing! My personal favorite is the chocolate chip/sour cherry scone. We also have bread for toast, a variety of yogurt, fruit, and cereals. We also have a nice selection of teas, juice, and coffee. We also have instant oatmeal.

I do hope you'll come back soon. If you do, I'll personally cook you a hot breakfast! That's a promise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,533
    420
    92
    47
    20
See reviews for
911
552
48
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
honolulu
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Kevin, Nick and staff do such an extraordinary job. We are a family of three staying in a one-bedroom suite. We've stayed at new resorts by Ritz-Carlton, Disney's Luxury Vacation Clubs, premier resorts in Wailea, Kaanapali, Princeville, Mauna Kea and Ko Olina and we own timeshares on Maui and by Hilton on the Las Vegas Strip. The Magic Castle Hotel trumps every other hotel we've stayed hand down! From Nick's and Kevin's warm welcome schtick, their bubbly lemonade greeting, to preparing our son's sofa bed, over-the-top bellman service, top-of-the-line toiletries, wonderful complimentary continental breakfast, snacks, delightful DVD library, great location, perfect concierge service, easy reasonably-priced parking plus complimentary bottle of champagne and salted chocolate caramels for New Year's Eve, everything was simply wonderful.

My husband and I are both real estate brokers and were also very impressed with the gold standard of care and maintenance at Magic Castle Hotel. We'd love to hear how this delightful jewel-of-a-hotel became such an incredible success story. Staying here has been an epiphany --- a priceless life lesson in the art of service and we will treasure our stay here forever.

Room Tip: Trust the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Four of us stayed here for 5 nights in November. And the only word to describe this hotel is AWESOME! After holidaying in the states for 5 weeks and staying at pleace like the grand hyatt and the hilton Magic Castle came out on top the best hotel in the whole 5 weeks. Free candy and soda 24/7, the pool is open 24/7, free dvd hire, free breakfast and they even do your washing for you. The staff were welcoming, friendly and extreamly helpful when it come to reccommending places to go and things to do. The rooms were very big, clean and tidy with a kitchen. Hollywood itself was a bit of a let down but this hotel was just great so many free things which really come in handy and can save you a lot of money. The only downside was the people staying in the room below us were so loud and we could hear everything. Thanks to everyone at Magic Castle fore making the end of our holiday an experience to remember.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

I can't recommend this hotel enough! It isn't your traditional hotel but that's what separates it from the rest. The staff are excellent and no question was too difficult for them. The complimentary laundry service was fantastic, the room cleaning exceptional!

Within walking distance of Hollywood Blvd which is ideal for doing tours etc. We went to P!NK in downtown LA and the next day they had a poster for our little daughter. Nothing was too hard for the staff and they always greeted us with smiles during our stay!

When we come back we will be staying here again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed here for one night with our kids after reading all the suberb reviews. Excellent location on walking distance from the Hollywood 'circus'. The welcome was great. It's pleasant to be really welcomed in a hotel - including a 'champagne' and treat for the kids. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The room we got on the inner court on the ground floor was very spacious. A large sleeping room, a kitchen a living/dining and a bathroom. Terrace door with direct access to the warm pool. Kids happy - parents happy. Great.

BUT. 1) the hotel is quite WORN OUT. The furniture, the bathroom, the window blinds. It leave a bit cheapy hostel feel, which i basically don't mind - but for 255 US$ per night i expect more maintenance. 2) The worst thing however, that really made me disappointed was the total worn out and DISASTER SOFA-BED. as we stayed with four in the room/apartment, the additional bed a pull out coach. No problem for me - if i's a decent one. It was not. The matrass is very thin, you feel the frame work underneath. The bed sags. I had a very bad night. 3) The BREAKFAST IS VERY POOR. Just few croissants, muffins, yoghurt and cerials. No cheese, meat, egg, vegies etc..

CONCLUDING: Nice fun staff. Nice place for the kids. But for $ 255 for a night, they should really take their core purpose as hotel (not as kids etertainment park) more serious.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor courtyard are really ice with direct access to the terrarce and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Hello,
I was so sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. If you can send me a message and let me know the room you stayed in, I would appreciate it. We've replaced older sofa beds with extra thick (8.5") mattresses which are much better than your typical sofa bed experience. If there is one that needs to be replaced, that's something we would do right away. My apologies that it wasn't done before your stay. I'm also sorry that you felt the hotel was worn down. We're an older building and we take the maintenance very seriously. While it's not perfect, we really want to be in great shape for our guests.
With regard to the breakfast; it's true...it's not a hot breakfast, nor do we ever claim that it is. One of the best bakeries in Los Angeles (Susina Bakery) bakes our pastries overnight and delivers them fresh each morning. These pastries include very flaky croissants, Apricot/Ginger Scones, Chocolate Chip /Sour Cherry Scones, Blueberry Scones, Banana Muffins, Blueberry Muffins, and Bran Muffins. We also have bread for toast, a variety of cereals, variety of yogurt, variety of fruit, instant oatmeal, hot chocolate, tea, coffee.
As far as Hollywood being a circus, well.....it can be kind of crazy at times...but we are one block removed from Hollywood Blvd, which is a plus. A lot of our guests love that we're just one block to the Chinese Theatre, the Dolby Theater (where the Oscars are held) and so many restaurants and shopping at the Hollywood/Highland Center.
I was a bit lost on your comment about how we shouldn't focus on being an entertainment park for kids. While we're extremely family friendly, we're hardly trying to be an entertainment park for kids. I wouldn't want to give readers the false impression that we're larger than we are, or have more amenities than we do. We're a smaller independently owned hotel. We want our guests to enjoy themselves here and relax...couples, parents, kids...everyone.
Thank you for writing.

Sincerely,
Darren Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

If you are wanting to hit the tourist hotspots of LA like Hollywood Blvd, Universal etc then this is the perfect place to stay, especially if you are a family. It is an older apartment building converted to a hotel, but very clean and spacious. The staff and service are outstanding.

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Island, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a fantastic place to stay. Staff so helpful and friendly,no request is too much. Kids loved the snacks and pool. So close to centre of town. Great breakfast! Would certainly recommend to anyone.we loved our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A , Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#16 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.