We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star service in a great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Magic Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Magic Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“5 star service in a great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Magic Castle Hotel is truly a home away from home. We stayed here for 4 nights and were blown away. The rooms are clean and massive (ours was a one bedroom apartment) and you are only one block from the walk of fame and everything Hollywood has to offer. The pool area is super cool and reminds me of the TV show Melrose Place. Special mention needs to be made about the service of the staff at the Magic Castle Hotel. The are incredible!! They were friendly and informative and bent over backwards to accommodate our every request from getting us free snacks at all times of the day and night to arranging tickets to a baseball game at the last minute. Special mention must be made of Nick and Mallory at the front desk but really each and every single staff member was brilliant. I think the Magic Castle is fantastic value for money and will be telling all my friends and family to stay there. Thanks for looking after us. It was the perfect start to our holiday!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi Ryan,
Thank you so much for the review! I was so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay so much....that's great news.
We get the "Melrose Place" comment a lot. Our guests really do seem to love pretending they're staying in their own Hollywood Apartment. I always say we're like Melrose Place...but without all the drama.
We're very lucky to have both Nick and Mallory...thank you for mentioning them.
I hope you'll come back soon.
Sincerely,
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,540
    421
    92
    47
    20
See reviews for
914
555
49
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I can't recommend this place enough. Fantastic service from sparkling juice on arrival, nightly turn down service with chocolates, complimentary - snacks 24/7, continental breakfast daily and baby shower pack with body wash, powder etc. Huge self contained apartment will fully equipped kitchen, so convenient only 2 mins walk to Hollywood strip, grocery store and train, Pool heated and open 24/7, 1 train stop from Universal Studios, complimentary laundry service or DIY Guest Laundry and secure car parking. We saw staff offer kids in the pool ice blocks in the afternoon. Only negatives for us - could do with a reno in bathroom, door locks are down low so our 21 month old toddler loved to open and run out of the apartment, there are only stairs up to reception and rooms which is a bit tricky with a stroller. We loved this place and would totally recommend for families or other travellers.

Room Tip: We had a Junior Suite but only because one bedroom apartments were all taken. We were at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi Tracey,
Thank you so much for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed it. I'm not sure from your comment if actually used the complimentary laundry service. I hope you did. I love the look on our guests faces when we offer to do their laundry and fold it at absolutely no charge. It sounds like you have enough going on with a 21 month old to be doing laundry while on vacation. I hope we made it easier for you.
For any other families traveling with a stroller; we can store it for you during your stay and bring it out whenever you need it. Also, you can request a room on the ground floor. As Tracey mentions, there are still some stairs leading up to the lobby...so keep that in mind. We're happy to help with brining strollers up and down stairs.
Please come back soon!! Thank you again.

Sincerely
Darren Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Best customer service ever!!!!! After changing the plans of our USA trip at the last minute Magic Castle graciously accepted us into their lovely family accommodation even though they were heavily booked. They did this by only moving us a few times, each time moving our luggage for us. Darren (Best manager/owner ever) asked us what we missed most from being away from home, he then provided us with all of those things to help us feel more comfortable, we can't thank-you enough Darren. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. The accommodation at Magic Castle was always impeccably clean and extremely comfortable. Each day the rooms are cleaned and tuned with a note about the weather for the following day and chocolates on the pillow. A newspaper is provided every morning outside your door to enjoy with the complimentary delicious breakfast.
When we arrived the lovely staff greeted us with a refreshing cocktail, they informed our children of the free movies and delicious snacks. The kids as you can imagine absolutely loved this and all of the staff of Magic Castle for the 7 days treated our kids so nicely. We stayed at numerous locations on our vacation and the kids rate Magic Castle the best ever!!!!!! Thanks for treating our kids so nice you made them feel so comfortable and special!
We made use of the beautiful pools every day and Kevin (wonderful staff member) would bring us free popsicles to help cool us down.
The location of Magic Castle is perfect for all things Hollywood and we certainly took full advantage of this. Every time you walk past the reception desk you are greeted with a cheery staff member asking you about your day and how they can help you. They helped us with everything from booking tours, sights, restaurants, take out, organizing transport and always gave valuable tips.
Thanks to the wonderful staff Darren Kevin Nick Bree Malory actually all of the staff you made our vacation so much more enjoyable. Book Magic Castle now……..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi Katrina,

I was so happy to read your comments. Your family was so lovely, we all really enjoyed having you with us for so long. Please thank your kids for me for their enthusiastic approval!!

I do hope you and your family will come back soon.

Sincerely,
Darren Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have just returned from 4 weeks around California, during which we bookended the trip with four nights at each end at this wonderful "hotel". I have put the hotel in quotes as it really can't be further from a description. It was like staying with friends here, there are all the things that everyone mentions, the snacks, the wifi, the proximity to Hollywood Blvd, and the service. But what can't be conveyed truly is how welcoming the staff make you feel. A quick chat everytime you walk past, the help with tours, sights, restaurants, shops, car hires. There is a real genuinenss to everyone there. The rooms are spacious and clean, and are turned down every night with a card showing the next day's forecast, another nice touch. Upon our return after 3 weeks we were greeted with a lovely welcome back note, warm handshakes and hugs, again something you would really only expect from real friends.
To Darren (hope we can repay the favours in January), the 2 Nick's, Marcus, Kevin, Bree and Malory, and ALL of the staff, thankyou so very very much!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
....That's because you were.

Jason,

It was so great to meet you, Vicki, and the kids. You have an amazing family. It was fun having our families meet up for frozen yogurt, I'm glad it worked out. The looks on your kids' faces when they saw all those options!!!!! The funniest part was the next day when I saw you...it was YOU who was most excited about the yogurt place!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. You guys are great. Please come back soon. I look forward to seeing you in Melbourne.

Sincerely,
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our party of 4 stayed at Magic Castle for 4 nights in September. We were blown away by the level of service provided by all staff. We arrived at 10am and were able to check in straight away which was fantastic after our long flight from Australia. The room was clean and cosy. The location of this hotel is great for Hollywood walk of fame, Graumans theatre and shopping. It is also 1 stop away from Universal Studios on the subway. The hotel provides a delicious breakfast, unlimited snacks and wifi all included in the room rate. We had a lovely swim in the pool and were brought complimentary popsicles to enjoy. The staff helped us with all our queries, including how to get to the Staples Centre, organised return transport to Six Flags, recommended the amazing Yamoshiro restaurant and drove us up there and back, and told us tips on what to see in the area. Special thankyou to Nick, Kevin, Malory and Gretchen (I think) who were so friendly and so helpful to us, we really appreciated it. Also to Marcus who organised our airport transfer via email before we arrived. We loved our stay and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager, General Manager at Magic Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi Jlw,

I loved reading your comments, thank you. I'll pass them on to everyone you mentioned. I'm so glad we were able to get a room ready for your early. I know how early those flights come in from Australia. We always try to have our rooms ready as soon as possible, especially for those really early flights from overseas.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this. Please come back soon.

Sincerely,
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Having stayed at a lot of five star luxury hotels you would have thought one of these would have been our children's favourite hotel. But no, all three declared that the Magic Castle was definitely their favourite hotel ever! The room was clean and very spacious, plenty of room for a family.the location was excellent but most of all the customer service was second to none. The staff at this hotel are the friendliest I've ever encountered and in a very genuine way. They couldn't do enough for you. We will definitely be gong back for another visit. Thank you for a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Had a 3 night stay in LA prior to further travel in the west coast America. Chose this hotel due to reviews on trip advisor and was not disappointed. Located one block from the walk of fame so easy access to plenty to do. No restaurant on site but plenty near by and unlimited free snacks from a wide selection available from reception 24 hours a day. Also allows access to magic castle, which although not a cheap night out is well worth the experience and was the highlight of our trip to LA. Rooms clean and to a good standard had everything we needed for a city break.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A , Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.