We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Save Saved
You added Magic Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Laundry Service!
Ranked #1 of 323 hotels in Los Angeles
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I spent two months travelling around America and stayed in around 20 different hotels and this hotel was easily one of my favourite hotel experiences.
After a long international flight I arrived around eight am hoping to drop off my luggage not expecting to be able to check in yet I was given a room and was greated with smiles and a complementary glass of lemonade.
The location was perfect literally a minutes walk away from the Hollywood walk of fame.
The rooms were modern and inviting. The pool was warm and even though it was winter at the time the water was warmed to a swimable temperature. The free breakfast was great and you had the option to enjoy it by the pool or take it back to your room. They even had an impressive list of snacks completely complementary!
The service is what blew me away. Everyone right down to house keeping were so warm and welcoming. Each evening I was delieved a chocolate and tomorrow's weather to me room. The front desk were so helpful from printing out maps and directions to offering dining advice.
I would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,956 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,406
    398
    86
    47
    19
See reviews for
838
511
43
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mildura, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in June. We had a 2-bedroom apartment which was lovely, and had 3 tv's in it - probably unnecessary - but it meant the kids could get up early and watch tv in their room without disturbing us. Our apartment came with a full kitchen and the apartment itself was quite recently renovated; the beds were super-comfortable! The bathroom was not included in the renovations unfortunately, and was very tired. There was also a bit of a drainage problem in the shower, so you ended up ankle deep in water ... not ideal but not a deal breaker.

The pool was heated and the kids could have spent all day there! Relaxing by the pool with the complimentary snacks while the kids play was definitely a nice way to end the busy days.

Staff were very helpful in coming up with kid-friendly activities and advising on public transport etc. They also went out of their way to buy a specific brand of gluten free cereal for our daughter who is coeliac.

Location was brilliant. It was easy to catch the sub-way to Universal Studios, and so many great things to do along Hollywood Blvd. We would definitely recommend this to our family and friends as a great place to stay. Especially with children.

Room Tip: Our two bedroom apartment was on the outside of the hotel complex, so it was well away from the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Visited hotel again a year later and service is still absolutely amazing. The only place to stay while visitng Hollywood or L.A. Location is perfect right near the Hollywood walk of fame looking for a reason to go to L.A. again. Just so can stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

the best hotel that I stayed in during my trip to the USA. Great staff who did whatever the could to make your stay a memorable one. Would stay here again. They ruined the rest of my trip to other motels as none lived up up to the standard of the Magic Castle

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is honestly the best place i have stayed. All of the staff were fantastic and nothing was any problem. While the other motels I stayed in may have been a bit more modern and upmarket, none compared to the exceptional service that the Magic Castle staff provided, If I get back to LA I will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Its not a Castle and there is nothing magical about this hotel.
Its not Clean, Its very dated and nothing special other then the Magic Castle but then
The Dinner and magic shows at the Magic Castle are nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waurn Ponds, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Fantastic accommodation! Pictures on the website don’t do it justice. Wonderful, friendly and helpful staff. Free snacks. It was our honeymoon so they also surprised us with a cake and wine when we entered our hotel room. Once again we arrived early and they got our room ready in about an hour of checking in. Rooms are very spacious, modern and clean. Location is fantastic, just a few minutes walk from the Walk of Fame, Chinese Theatre. Breakfast was great too, with toast, pastries, yoghurt and fruit. Our highlight of staying was the Magic Castle Club. You have to be a member to enter the club, but being a guest of the hotel, they were able to get us a reservation. Must do if you stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A , Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.