We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Save Saved
You added Magic Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Laundry Service!
Ranked #1 of 323 Hotels in Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Well deserving of its #1 ranking on TA, the Magic Castle Hotel is calm oasis in the craziness of Hollywood. We were greeted by friendly, courteous, and knowledgeable staff. While they were explaining the amenities (yay free snacks and drinks!) and local attractions, they provided a lovely welcome gift of sparkling lemonade. After noting our room was up several flights of stairs, they arranged for someone to deliver our luggage.

We visited the farmer's market recommended by staff (awesome views and food). A courtesy car drop us off and pick us up (much appreciated, as the market was at the top of a long, winding road).

The room itself was neat and clean, the breakfast was varied and delicious (including several flavored syrups to add to your coffee), and the location can't be beat -- it's less than a 5 minute walk to Grauman's Chinese Theatre and the tourist craziness. The price was great for the area (AAA discounts available).

Stay here. It's an awesome experience in a unique hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,444
    405
    86
    47
    19
See reviews for
864
521
46
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Yes when you first arrive you might wonder what you have done. The property is somewhat dates a converted apartment building I'm sure in its earlier life. But, it doesn't matter the rooms were clean and well kept, the staff was honestly the greatest. We have never stayed at a 5 Star hotel where the people actually were this attentive. Great location in Hollywood, nice pool, good access to restaurants really a huge surprise from our pull up at the front door. We would stay again and wish we could always have people this friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Or
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Staying in Hollywood can be difficult so we headed straight to tripadvisor for our direction. The other reviews put this at such a high rating that we immediately called and booked directly. We are so glad we did it is a wonderful property. Upon entering the reception you are warmly greeted and give refreshments. The check-in is quick, smooth and most professional. Then proceeding to the courtyard is like stepping into the movie set from LA Confidential it exemplifies an era of old Hollywood. The room was wonderful, full kitchen, living area, bedroom and bath.
We would definitely return to this magic place.

Room Tip: You are allowed to dine at the Magic Castle next door, however dress is formal and we were not prepa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We arrived at The Magic Castle after a very long flight and were ready to lay down and go to sleep. The actual castle attached to the hotel, which is only one block back from Hollywood Bld, is magnificent and looked beautiful coming down the road all lit up. The hotel next door is a lot less majestic but nevertheless is a great place to stay. On entering our room we were flabbergasted to find an apartment. We were there for 3 nights and it was great. The hotel provides everything you need and the snacks and treats list is amazing. They are so friendly and will supply you with whatever you need within reason, at any time. You can take a breakfast tray of goodies back to your room and have breakfast at your leisure or sit by the pool area and enjoy. This may not be the newest, most upmarket place to stay but I would highly recommend it to anyone who's going to LA. A bit of a treasure amongst all the glitz!!

Room Tip: Oops pressed the fitness centre and room service by mistake and can't get rid of them. They don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pakenham, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have just returned from our honeymoon in the states and our last stop was at Magic Castle Hotel in Hollywood.
Our travel agent had advised us that it wasn't the flashiest hotel but that it was very convenient & close to everything. We ended up looking online and found the rates cheaper than our travel agent was able to also.
Upon arrival we were greeted with a champagne flute of lemonade & a selection of icy poles.
Nick at reception was extremely helpful with advising on local spots to visit, eat at, great places for star-spotting and also the hotel amenities.
Not only does the hotel offer free Wi-Fi, but there is also free unlimited access to the candy bar (heaps of snacks & sodas to choose from), free laundry and free DVDs to watch in your room.
The room was huge and a lot more than we expected.
We were greeted in our room with a complimentary cake for our honeymoon along with a card signed by the staff.
The room included a full sized kitchen with microwave, stove, oven, fridge with combined dining and a 6 seater dining table. The lounge room was spacious with a large sofa bed and two additional seats along with a large wall mounted flat screen TV. The main bedroom was bigger than my bedroom at home with a very comfy bed, two mirrored double built-in robes and another large wall mounted TV. The hotel also has a heated pool.
We were very close to all we needed, walking distance to Hollywood boulevard and Sunset boulevard, it only took us about 5 minutes to get to the Chinese Theatre.
When we left we were allowed an additional hour to check out free of charge and were able to leave our luggage with the concierge for our transfer back to the airport later that night.
We were also greeted by the hotel manager upon leaving just to make sure we were happy with our stay at Magic Castle.
The only downside (and this is very small in my opinion as we stayed at many other hotels with a higher star rating that were much louder than the Magic Castle) was that we could occasionally hear people walking who were in the hotel room above us.
The hotel seemed very family friendly also.
Having come from the lush Cosmopolitan in Vegas to the Magic Castle we were expecting to be a little underwhelmed but this definitely wasn't the case.
I highly recommend Magic Castle Hotel to anyone looking to stay in Hollywood. It was a great experience and a perfect way to end our trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I chose this hotel simply because it was rated number 1 from all hotels available in los angeles and it proved me right because the people were lovely, the rooms were lovely and it was situated in a lovely area right beside the hollywood boulevard! I really couldn't complain as they even gave us free snacks and there was also a pool with a beautiful view, which although we didnt't go in looked very nice. Breakfast was also delicious and overall the hotel was just great! It is great for staying for a weekend or so with family because the rooms are massive with a kitchen and everything included.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I knew we were off to a great start when we received a warm welcome that included a cool beverage. We truly felt welcome. And, they do offer that anything we need or want to just ask. To get to our room, we walked through a courtyard with a pool at the center. There were a few flights of short stairs to get to our 3rd floor room. It was worth it! Our room had a living room, kitchen, vanity area and the bedroom. Tons of space, including a patio area if we had the time to enjoy the view. Comfortable bed and immaculately clean (just how I lie it). I really enjoyed the uniqueness of the decorations and style of the room. You could tell this is not a cookie-cutter chain approach. This carried over to the breakfast in the AM which featured first rate pastries. We were only there for one night. I would have liked to stay longer to enjoy the location and all the tourist attractions so close by. The location is a huge plus. I'd recommend driving or walking up to the top of the hill and getting a meal or even a beverage at the restaurant up there - just to enjoy the view or LA.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A , Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.