We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about California living” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Save Saved
You added Magic Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Laundry Service!
Ranked #1 of 323 hotels in Los Angeles
Chino, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It's all about California living”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I are native Californians, and we stayed at the Magic Castle Hotel as a one night getaway after visiting the Magic Castle next door. It was like borrowing a friend's spotlessly clean, upscale 1970's apartment for the night (with a FANTASTIC SUPER AND STAFF! and big screen TVs.) If you are willing to set aside some of the luxury amenities of a "hotel" (elevators, room service, etc.) in order to really experience the CA lifestyle with a retro twist, this is the perfect spot. The entire atmosphere is "home" rather than "hotel" - there are notes scattered about (like a friend would leave), rather than a hulking notebook of services. The living areas are spacious and decorated in true CA design style. It's just two blocks from the best section of Hollywood Blvd., and safe - we walked back from the El Capitan Theater after 10 PM with no worries. Only two drawbacks - the building is really not handicap-accessible and it is old, so there are issues with aging systems like plumbing. Like an apartment, you're going to know that there are other folks around and you'll hear other rooms' A/C units, etc. But overall, this is a unique place that I would recommend to any couple or family that really wants to play "Californian" for their vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,958 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,408
    398
    86
    47
    19
See reviews for
839
512
43
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria Au
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I spent a number of nights at the Magic Castle Hotel in a 2 bedroom suite with kitchen, with my nieces (6, 11 and 13) and family in early April 2013. The hotel itself is a converted apartment complex, but the rooms big and comfortable. What sets this hotel apart from others on our USA holiday was the service. The staff are superb and the little extras; free dvds, unlimited free snacks and free breakfast. The snacks are to die for; though for me, tended to go straight to the hips. An added bonus is the hotel is only a few minutes walk from the centre of Hollywood - Walk of Fame, Dolby Theatre,etc, great, especially if you have kids and don't have a car. There is no gym onsite, however check with reception, it will cost you $5 - you get a pass to use LA Fitness around the corner on Hollywood Boulevard - which has everything any gym junkie would want; bring back the receipt and you receive your $5 back. There is also a supermarket close by.

A big thank you to all the staff - I'll definitely be back . . . .

Room Tip: There are no lifts - so for second and third floors there are a few stairs to climb - but not many
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We spent three nights at the Magic Castle Hotel in late April. The hotel is a converted LA apartment complex (two stories of rooms around a courtyard with swimming pool) so don't expect a lot of glitz. Rather, the Magic Castle Hotel's secret is its amazingly warm and welcoming staff. Having fun in the pool? The front office manager will come out with a tray of popsicles. Hungry for a snack or a drink? Pick up what you want (from a long list of choices) at the front desk. Having trouble with a rental car company? They'll call the company for you - the next thing you know a driver from the car company will come by to pick you up. I have literally never stayed in a hotel with nicer people.

The hotel is a short walk from Graumann's Chinese Theater, but is itself in a nice, safe neighborhood. Big room. Good value. Great night's sleep. Clean. If I could give it six stars I would.

I wish I could remember all the names, but special thanks to Gretchen, Nick, and Z.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This inn is centrally located, clean and spacious. After being in hotels for over a week this one bedroom suite with full kitchen was a nice switch! The view of Hollywood out our balcony is beautiful. The beds are comfortable and cozy with down comforters. The unlimited free snacks and DVD movies are a really surprising bonus. It's a couple blocks from the Chinese Theater and many other tourist attractions. The front desk staff went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable. The gentleman helped with our bags, helped us park our big SUV in their small parking garage, gave my 4 year old a slinky, and really made our stay enjoyable. I would definitely pick this place again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We choose the Magic Castle as the starting point for our recent family trip to the USA. It was a great choice, starting with an outstanding welcome from hotel staff upon arrival (big shout out to Nick who was great). Our two bedroom apartment was not in the main part of the hotel but was in the adjacent group of apartments. It was excellent - well furnished and incredibly spacious. The only complaint was that we had some difficulty with the wifi signal which seemed to struggle to reach our apartment.

The location was great - close to Hollywood attractions (Walk of fame etc) and some good restaurants. There is plenty of on site parking if you have your own vehicle too.

The breakfast provided was very good, and the provision of trays to enable you to take it back to your room was a smart move. The free snacks were also a really nice touch for the kids.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, IL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We spent 10 days last spring/summer in California, but unfortunately only had one night at the Magic Castle. We stayed in the upper hill rooms with an amazing view, amenities like no other, a pool just outside our rooms, and only a short walk to Hollywood Blvd. We stayed in 7 different hotels/motels during our trip, from luxurious to "rustic" and this beats them all!! The staff was wonderful, the snacks and drinks were unforgettable, and our "room" was spacious and inviting. I wished I could move in! And price-wise, this was one of the most affordable. If I ever find myself heading back to this area, I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else! :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Our family of four loved this place. My two sons are ages 9 and 7, and I believe our stay at the Magic Castle hotel will be a forever memory for them. We went on to San Diego afterwards and stayed at a hotel with three pools with slides and all the other amenities, and still, the Magic Castle was our favorite. The unlimited (free!) snacks and popsicles delivered poolside were a huge hit. The staff could not have been better and really seem to enjoy their work. The suite was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Our brunch and magic show at the Magic Castle right next door was truly unforgettable. We will visit again! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A , Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.