We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible value for money, excellent location & great welcoming service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Magic Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Magic Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 342 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Incredible value for money, excellent location & great welcoming service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The little things made a big difference. Complimentary breakfast, complimentary pool towels & a genuine personal welcome. Staff were helpful & energetic, location is central to most LA tourist spots & only a short walk to the train station. As a solo female tourist I felt welcome & secure. A close by Japanese restaurant was recommended & I was wary as i was informed it was also owned by the proprietors of the hotel - it was however first class Japanese cuisine - cost effective too.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vivienne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

It is really the number 1 hotel for family in Los Angeles. I was never expecting such kind of luxury to be founded here. But when i stayed here with my family here, i realized its worth. Really it is a gem in hotel chains. The hotel is a bit costly but as compared to the facilities provided by it to its customers, the cost is satisfactory. The staff is awesome, the hotel is awesomely decorated and you cannot stop staring at the beautiful pictures and show pieces it is decorated with. Pool here was really fabulous. No other pool can be like this one in the whole Los Angeles. The staff is very much courteous, they make you welcome very warmly when you check in and see off you with courtesy when you check out of the hotel. Their service is also very good. The room where we stayed was large and spacious. It had a beautiful view of outside and we enjoyed every moment of our stay at the hotel. Interestingly it is just two blocks away from Hollywood boulevard. If you do not have a car you can walk through some distance and can reach the Chinese, Walk of fame and substation. The breakfast which we were provided with was yummy and tempting. Free wifi, free snacks and other fabulous facilities make it distinct from the other hotels of Los Angeles and that is why it has been always loved by me.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zarmeen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We've stayed at the Magic Castle from 1-7March (6nights). We had a great time; from check in to check out! Big apartments. Only complaint, if I may, would be the size of the bathroom, compared to the rest of the unit. Everything is not brand new, but it is sufficient and well maintained. My husband went for coffee in the the mornings at the breakfast area and he was well impressed with what was served. I made us breakfast. A frying pan was not provided, but we received one after requesting it. The only thing I missed in the kitchen was a toaster. But I know that if I had asked for it, I would have received one. I used the oven instead. I bought some wash cloths for the kitchen, may be it can be provided in the units.
It is walking distance to everything you need and wants to see in LA! From a groceries store to the Starline bus for tours.
The only thing I should have asked about was the gym. My son wanted to gym and we didn't know that the facility around the corner was for free.
There is a free shuttle service to a nearby restaurant. The food was good and the LA view even better.
The cherry on top service was when I asked them how the laundromat works. Their answer was that I could do it by myself or they can do it for me, for FREE! Big was my surprise when I received the clothing washed and ironed! So so impressed. Thank you. If we ever visit LA again I will most certain book my accommodation with Magic Castle.

Room Tip: one with a balcony is very nice and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liebenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Our family, 2 adults and 2 teenagers, cannot believe our luck in finding this gem! The folks here are incredibly nice and accommodating! We were greeted with a sparkling lemonade toast upon our arrival, and balloons and 2 gourmet birthday cakes awaiting us when we entered our spacious and well appointed suite! (I had mentioned in our reservation notes that we were celebrating my son's and husband's birthdays this week). All of the little "extras"--the complimentary snacks and sodas, the yummy breakfas

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ABQlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was a real gem. We've never been made to feel so welcome at a hotel or inn anywhere. We had a 2 bedroom suite in the "annex" which had all new furnishings, was bright and cheerful. Flat screen TVs in all rooms, a large kitchen stocked with coffee. Could get complimentary snacks any time from the front desk, along with a selection of DVDs to borrow. Bedrooms were large with plenty of storage, though bath was pretty small and dated. Having room to spread out with four of us, and the hospitality and amazing service would be enough, but add in the location and it just can't be beat. Only complaint was the abysmally slow and often unavailable wi-fi connection.They don't have a fitness center but you can use nearby LA Fitness free; they don't have a business center but they will print, scan, fax, etc. for you.

Room Tip: They have just one 2 bedroom suite that has 2 twins in one bedroom and a king in the other. All the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The staff is awesome...its kind of pricey but worth it!!.. decor is great... won't regret it..they have 24 hot snacks for free... also got some awesome lemonade...location is great just a few block storm Hollywood blvd..rooms are large and quiet.. can't recommend more.. excellent service

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank misslucky123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
253 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Been there with wife and kids, nice cozy hotel, not newest but acceptable. Pool is definitely a plus.
If visiting Holliwood, this location can not be beaten, less than 5 min walk from the Dolby place. Breakfats is ok, wi-fi is poor if too far from the reception.
The sofa bed in the living room was "devastated" could not sleep there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ricky v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 342 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 1,603 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#15 of 342 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 2,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#2 of 342 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#13 of 342 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing