We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic really does happen at the Magic Castle Hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Save Saved
You added Magic Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 323 Hotels in Los Angeles
Pleasantville, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Magic really does happen at the Magic Castle Hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Magic Castle for two nights on our recent trip to Southern California. Although not a fancy hotel, the staff makes you feel welcome from the moment you step in for check in to the moment you pull out of the driveway on your last day there. Usually things are a bit hyped on the internet, but Magic Castle Hotel is not one of them. This place lives up to almost everything written and said about it. There really are no complaints about our stay, only a few little things that they could improve to really take this hotel all the way to the top. In our eyes that would be that the room we stayed in, although extremely comfortable, was looking a bit worn out around the edges. This could mostly be fixed with some fresh paint and a little bit of elbow grease. But other than that, a great stay at a hotel we will happily stay in next time our family travels take us to Los Angeles.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,447
    405
    86
    47
    19
See reviews for
866
522
46
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I used the Magic Castle based on the reviews that we read here and it was great. The rooms were as describes, large and spacious. It was clearly a older "condo" which was converted to a hotel but that was fine. We used the free treats, breakfast and movie rental to pass some time and save some money. The location was great being very close to the strip and metro stations.

We have intentions on going again with our girls and are looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The Magic Castle hotel is a fantastic place to stay when visiting Hollywood, it is literally 2 blocks away from Hollywood Boulevard, The chinese theatre, Walk of Fame & Sub Station which is only 1 stop away from Universal Studio's. we didnt have a car so it was the perfect location for us to walk around, there is also the Starline hop on/off bus which takes you all around LA, we purchased the 48hr ticket which was perfect to see everything.
The hotel staff were fantastic in everyway, they also offer free snacks 24/7 (which my kids loved), free wifi, yummy breakfast each morning & were very helpful & informative..
I would definitely recommend this hotel & i hope i get the chance to stay with them again.
They were by far the best hotel we stayed in during our visit to LA.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 113 which was away from the main road & very spacious, was pretty quiet except...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great white north
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Rooms were large, design is that of a apartment complex turned into a motel. Front desk staff are second to none. Rooms and decor are dated but the beds were very comfortable. Pool area looked well taken care of even though we never used it. Wifi kept kicking us off as it did on every unlocked system on the trip, just had to log in again. Not a big deal for us but kind of a hassle with kids iPods. Location is excellent for proximity to attractions. Stay here if you plan on walking down to Hollywood boulevard and 5 minute drive to universal. 40 minutes to lax in morning traffic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment in December with our 3 teenage children.
The whole experience was fantastic, our room was exceptionally clean, room was huge and had heaps of room for all of us and our luggage, secure off street parking, help yourself continental breakfast was great. I cannot commend the staff enough, the most polite, courteous & helpful of anywhere we have travelled, they even did our washing whilst we were out at a basketball game....AMAZING, packed snacks for our children when they heard we were going to Disneyland for the day, I LOVE THIS HOTEL.
Would always stay here if travelling to LA, there is nowhere better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed in Jan 2013 in a one bedroom apartment and were thrilled with the whole experience. Loved the room, pool, location, breakfast, free snacks etc. The best thing about this hotel is the friendly staff. They gave great advice about tourist attractions and booked them for us, offered to do our washing (!) and the night we had booked to go to the Magic Castle Club they leant the men jackets and ties and drove us up the driveway to the Club so we arrived in style! We were travelling with another Australian family and had 2 teenagers each. While we were at the club, they organised take away for the kids and got them snacks while they watched a movie in the room. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawick, Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband took me here for my 50th perfect choice the staff were Amazing to say the least birthday cake beer in room for my birthday. Free breakfast by the pool ,room was huge ,own kitchen etc, staff booked us bus tour which was fantastic. Please if you're going to L A DON'T LOOK AT ANOTHER HOTEL ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT :-)

Room Tip: All the rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A , Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.