We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home in Hollywood!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Magic Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Magic Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Home away from home in Hollywood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Magic Castle with our three girls for three nights. We could not have been happier. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who really went above and beyond to cater to our needs. Special mention here must go to Joslin and Nick who helped us out in many ways.

Because our East Coast flight was put back a day, we had to arrange an extra night and the staff were very accommodating and made it happen easily for us.

In terms of location, this hotel was perfect for our needs. Only one block from the hustle and bustle when we wanted that, but that block made all the difference in terms of noise and chaos.

The free breakfast was perfect for families and much superior to what we were offered in Anaheim the previous few days. And as for the free snacks - what a treat that was (for us as well as the kids)!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,538
    421
    92
    47
    20
See reviews for
913
555
49
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Magic Castle Hotel

Having been to LA before we only had two nights at the Magic Castle Hotel. Last time we stayed at the Hollywood Celebrity Hotel. Magic castle is an extra few hundred metres down the road, however I preferred the room and amenities of the Magic Castle Hotel.

Our room was large however fairly basic. Everything functioned and it had a few modern features such as Ipod player and LCD TV.

The reception staff were very friendly and the goodies they had for free was fantastic. They have DVD's to watch, with soda, chocolate and popcorn all for free. So cool!

As it was our honeymoon they had placed a basket with a number of soaps, chocolates and a bottle of wine in our room with a card from staff. It was a nice touch.

The location is very nice, it's on the main road but the rooms are set back and quiet. It is only a short 5 minute walk to the walk of fame, Chinese theatre and Hollywood bowl etc.

For anyone wanting an affordable fun friendly hotel, this is a great place to stay and walking distance to most of the Hollywood action.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We were a family of 6 arriving after a long haul flight from New Zealand, arriving late morning at the hotel. Our 2 bedroom room was not ready,so they happily stored our bags and offered us drinks and snacks before we set off to have a look around before coming back to check in. Our room was clean and roomy and the staff very helpful with all our questions.We all enjoyed all the free drinks and snacks. Although we were only there a night on transit to Mexico,we very much enjoyed our stay and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Most people look at trip advisor and book this hotel based on its fabulous location in Hollywood. We booked it because we have two small children and search for service first and everything else second. They did not let us down - wonderful staa. Thanks for the two days.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

I travelled with my husband and kids aged 4 and 2 from Sydney, Australia in mid January and stayed here for 3 nights.

We read all the reviews and decided on The Magic Castle to experience it for ourselves.

Having never been to the USA before and after a 14 hour flight, the welcome from Zee and Joslin was seamless and nothing was too hard for them.

The room we checked into had a fresh face with an old soul which gave comfort instantly. It was a 1 bedroom suite with 2 double beds which were very comfortable. The kitchen was modern and lounge area was a great size esp for 2 small kids running around. The bathroom was clean, and had all the amenities you would expect plus others you are pleasantly surprised with like mouth wash and a sewing kit.
Our balcony faced the road but we had no issues with noise whatsoever. The tv in both the lounge room and bedroom had full cable access including free catch up tv and a DVD in the lounge room, which we found more than adequate to entertain ourselves and the kids!

The hotel has a heated pool although the weather was a little cold for little ones to go for a dip and having only 3 nights to see the Hollywood sights, we spent a lot of time out and about.
The location is great- we have 2 strollers to drag around so to be able to literally walk around the corner and be on the Walk of Fame was perfect for us.

Back to the hotel service, they have simply put the human factor back into customer service. They anticipate what you need before you need it like a refreshing drink to welcome you, that you'll probably sleep through breakfast if you've come off a flight from a different timezone so it's not a problem to bring you up some pastries and coffee even after having packed breakfast up.
They may not have the facilities which define a 5 star hotel like a spa, 24 hr room service, men with fancy hats standing there to open your door and all that stuff you won't even need but they treat you like real guests as if you've come to stay with friends.
Our personal experience has been memorable. They really took care of us. They had free DVDs incl ones my kids enjoyed, they had laundry facilities and when we had no quarters to run the machine, they took care of our load of laundry and it was delivered, clean and folded ready for us upon returning from our day out. My daughter being allergic to nuts and my son absolutely love Cheerios and a box was waiting for them on arrival even if this was only mentioned in passing during the booking process.
They provided the snacks anytime we needed them and stocked us up well for the next 3 days at Disneyland when we checked out.
The staff were knowledgable, professional and warm.
It's no wonder that when you google "best hotel in Hollywood" you'll find The Magic Castle.
We visited 4 other hotels in California including Disneyland Hotel, Hilton in San Francisco, Radisson fishermans wharf and Holiday inn Santa Monica and none even came close to the service standards this hotel has become known for. We just never felt the same hospitality so if you're a hotelier reading this- take notes!

Darren Ross and his team including Zee, Joslin, Nick, Gretchen, Lisa have made our 1st experience of America memorable- well done and I would recommend you to anyone visiting LA. Thank you from us and our little ones, Aiden & Michaela!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My family (including3 kids) stayed at the Magic Castle Hotel and it was one of the best hotels of our trip. The service was nothing but exceptional and whilst the hotel does not have all the glam (accept that it is a little older) it was spacious, clean, modern and it felt like a home away from home. The points of difference, location and again exceptional service will have us staying here anytime we visit LA.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My family, including kids aged 6, 11, and 12, stayed here for three nights the week after Christmas, and it is one of our favorite hotels ever. With the rooms all facing around the pool, it felt like staying in an apartment complex, like in 90210 or something.

The rooms are not glamorous, but, the two bedroom suite we had was perfect for us. If you are staying for a longer period of time, the kitchen would be very handy.

The best part of all was the staff. Every person we dealt with was outstanding and made us feel special. The complimentary snack selection was a delight for the kids.

If we get to LA again, we will certainly be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A , Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#16 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.