We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay at the Magic Castle Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Save Saved
You added Magic Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Laundry Service!
Ranked #1 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Detroit,MI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Stay at the Magic Castle Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Just got back from a 6 night stay at the Magic Castle Hotel in Hollywood. We had two rooms: A One Bedroom and two queen bedroom. Both on the ground floor. Our group had two Grandmas, Two Thirty somethings, and two boys 6 and 9. The hotel staff was top notch. Very friendly and always had a answer to my questions. The check-in process was quick and easy. The location of the hotel is a short walk away from the center of the Hollywood Blvd attractions (which is like a scaled down version of Times square). Not far from Universal Studios and City walk which was nice. Griffith Park is less than a 5 minute drive. Disneyland was about 40 minute drive with no traffic. We did do the Sunday brunch next door at the Magic Castle and that was pretty neat. Pricey, but it was something different to see. Truthfully everything seemed pricey in Southern California.

Overall I was happy with our stay. The only downside I would say is that the road traffic is very loud. We were on the front end of the hotel and I could hear it all night. For the record I am a light sleeper. If you are too try and get a room in the back of the hotel away from the road. I could also hear very clearly people walking above us. But these were not deal breakers just know going into your stay that these issue's exist.

If your going to Hollywood I believe this is a great location, especially if you have a car. The staff is great and the rooms a good size. I thought the price for the rooms was very fair for a city hotel. I am a travel agent and I would strongly recommend this hotel to my clients.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a shape of horseshoe. Ask for a quiet room furtherest away from the road. Which woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,940 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,383
    401
    87
    49
    20
See reviews for
807
496
42
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basque Country
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed at the Magic Castle Hotel during the first leg of our trip to California. As I had read lukewarm (to say the least) reviews about their single rooms I opted for a one-bedroom suite; reservation was swift and right from the moment of our arrival in LA we found out that the reviews here were more than accurate: we were welcomed by a very corteous, friendly and professional staff (Gabriela was the one in charge when we checked-in) and with complimentary drinks that tasted like heaven after a very long flight into LA.

Like I said, even if the reviews were enthusiastic I knew this was not a top-end hotel so I had what I thought were realistic expectations about the place. Well, I must say those expectations were highly exceeded as soon as we opened the door to our suite: recently renovated, the room boasted two flatscreen TVs, a huge, new bed, functional albeit tasteful furniture, a new kitchen, a separate and very spacious living room, a terrace directly facing the very popular hotel pool and a perfectly OK toilet (the sole part that was not new). Terrific, really, and not too different to what you'd find in 4 or 5 star properties elsewhere.

Besides, the hotel featured a daily breakfast with fresh pastries and fruit, as well as several beverages, and that is hard to come by in the US where most hotels do not include breakfast. Also, parking was a laughable 10 dollar per night and all minibar items were free. Really, given how cheap some properties can be sometimes, this features were truly welcome, esp. given that the hotel rates were very reasonable.

Staff, like I wrote, was also superb, always dealing with our various requests with a smile and very efficient. Housekeeping service was also great.

To sum up, I am happy to write that the reviews here were very accurate. This hotel offers sensational value for money, so I would definitely recommend it.

(Minor) downsides:

-Our room had been renovated, but the whole hotel could definitely use a lick of paint since a renovation would make it even more attractive.
-Location: the hotel's location is perfect to explore Hollywood. Problem is we thought Hollywood sucks, but this is of course not the Magic Castle's fault.

Room Tip: Opt for the one or two-bedroom suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed here in June, 2012. Originally registered at sister property, the Hollywood Hills Hotel. It was very tired, run down and when we went to check in the police were trying to escort a homeless person off the property. We decided not to stay and when we aske to check out they offered us a good deal on a suite at the Magic Castle. Excellent customer service! They definitely knew how to turn what could have been a bad experience into a positive.
The Magic Castle's not a new hotel, but clean and decent and the location is amazing. Only one block walk to Grumman's Chinese Theater and the heart of Hollywood. The hotel is very quiet, but walk one block and you're in the middle of Hollywood mania. It was very safe, we walked everywhere. Also an easy cab ride to bars and restaurants. Saw a few bands at Whisky-A-GoGo and the Viper Room one night. Had Sunday brunch at the Chateau Marmont.
Loved this hotel and area of Hollywood. Lots to do and see.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
Top Contributor
379 reviews 379 reviews
200 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
483 helpful votes 483 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

After an initial hiccup that was dealt with in an exemplary way, we had a great stay at the Magic Castle Hotel. We are a couple in our sixties and the location and accommodation suited us perfectly. There were a few families staying at the time but a general mix of all ages.
The Room we were allocated, 207, was excellent and recently refurbished. It had a spacious bedroom with very comfortable king sized bed and lots of storage, a pleasant bathroom and very spacious separate living area with integral kitchen. The balcony which again was generous in size and had a table and two chairs overlooked the swimming pool.
I don't know how they do it but the Reception staff are all outstanding and everything other people have said in reviews is absolutely true.
We didn't really partake too much of the free snacks but they were there if you wanted them and for a visiting family with children this would be a great bonus.
Breakfast was adequate and could be taken near Reception or to your room. There are good laundry facilities which cost 1 dollar 25 cents for the wash and a similar amount for the drier - excellent if you are on a long road trip as we were.
The location of the hotel couldn't be better being just around the corner from the main Hollywood action - a five minutes walk which, at all times, always felt safe.
To get to Universal Studios, the metro is only one stop North and costs 1 dollar 50 cents, the hotel will lend you a tap card that you can add the return metro fare on to ensure it is effortless. The machines at the metro station near the Chinese Theatre accept dollar notes and give change. If doing Universal, try to splash out for the VIP experience (not really recommended for children however), it is costly but worth every penny.
The Magic Castle itself is also worth a visit and the hotel can arrange this. We ate one of the best fillet steaks we have ever tasted there at dinner on a busy Saturday night.
There is so much to take in and we spent 5 great nights really getting to know the main features of this sprawling city. The 2 day Hop On Hop Off bus helped us do this as I didn't want to drive too much in the city and the 3 routes offered give a comprehensive oversight.
The Magic Castle Hotel is perfectly situated to enable you to take advantage of most of what is on offer.
To sum up, exceptional customer service, great location, superb value for money and a great Los Angeles experience - the Magic Castle Hotel was comfortable, not luxurious; perfectly located but not in the noise of Hollywood; and very good value for money, particularly if travelling as a family.
What a great product - I am really pleased we experienced it!

Room Tip: Request a newly refurbished room with a balcony, even if you need to pay more. All the rooms with ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Great location, great customer service, free WiFi and free snacks! We stayed 4 nights in early October 2012 and would happily stay there again.

The entire place was very clean. We were two friends travelling, though there were many families when we stayed.

The staff were especially friendly and helpful. The free continental breakfast was fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at the Magic Castle for 4 nights, chosen based on the great Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived the service was exceptional and the staff went out of their way to welcome us. The location of the hotel is fantastic, about a 2 minute walk to the walk of fame and Grauman's, plus many food places. The hotel itself was nice, I think our room had been partly renovated, there were a few marks and stuff on the walls, but it was immaculately clean. We made a booking for dinner at the Magic Castle for one night during our stay (which we would highly recommend) and the hotel staff even drove us up the hill. If we stayed again (which we would), I would have chosen a bigger room (we had booked the smallest room type), given we were staying for 4 nights out of 5 weeks in the US, we had accumulated quite a lot of stuff. My only complaint would be that there was quite a bit of noise from the area around the pool of a morning during breakfast so it was difficult to sleep in. Our room was right above this area so it might have been quiter at the other end of the hotel. When we were checking out, the manager himself even helped me carry luggage down the stairs and all the way to the car. Top marks for service, I have already recommended to friends.

Room Tip: Maybe try the top end of the pool, furthest away from the reception area for less breakfast noise an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

we weren't sure when we booked, but now after our stay we couldn't imagine staying anywhere else. very short walk to hollywood blvd, avenue of the stars, great gym facility within walking distinance. very family friendly, unlimited snacks for the kids, movies, heated pool, great breakfast included.
the staff was exceptional.... no other words for them.. we love gabby....
all their recomendations were great. they mapped out spots for us, helped us with directions to get around town...
lots of space in the renovated apartments. the gm also took time to ask and was interested in input.

Room Tip: we liked the first floor that opened up directly to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Free internet...
Show More
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Pool, Quiet, Cl...
Show More
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#2 of 322 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Pets Allowed, P...
Show More
Four Seasons Hotel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Budget, Q...
Show More
Central L.A
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#8 of 322 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 1,163 reviews
Classic, Restau...
Show More
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#26 of 322 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A , Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.