We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Save Saved
You added Magic Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 8 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Laundry Service!
Ranked #1 of 318 hotels in Los Angeles
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful 2 night stay at the Magic Castle in Hollywood. We were lucky enough to get a newly renovated One-Bedroom Apartment which was spacious, clean and had all of the amenities we needed. We would not hesitate to stay again.

CHECK-IN:
Check-in was prompt and the complimentary lemonade refreshing and delicious. Front Desk staff were so wonderful at check-in providing us with maps, print outs and a wealth of knowledge about the surrounding area and things to do.

ROOM:
Our room was great, it is exactly as described – a renovated 1 bedroom apartment, and met all of our needs. The surprise chocolate celebration cake and card left for us from the staff was also so thoughtful and lovely (it was our honeymoon).
Kitchen was massive with a full size fridge, oven with hotplates, microwave, tea and coffee facilities and a small selection of dinnerware and cutlery. There was also a full size 4 seater dining table in the kitchen.
Lounge area had a work desk, double couch and arm chair and LCD TV on the wall (also a DVD player with free movies to loan from front desk).
Bedroom was spacious with full sized wardrobe and dresser, there was also a coat closet outside of the bedroom, so there was ample space. Closet contained a good sized safe.
Bathroom was standard, only problem we had was the shower tended to be fine then all of a sudden turn scorching hot! Nothing that ruined out stay, but if you do have children taking a shower just be mindful of this as when it turned hot, it was HOT (I wouldn’t want my young daughter to be under that temp).

LOCATION:
Great location, walking distance to Hollywood Blvd and to the train station at Hollywood/Highland, it took us less than 5 minutes to walk to the train station which was perfect for us as we used public transport to go to a night Laker’s game and also to Universal Studios (only 1 train stop away).
You will definitely want a car if you want to explore the greater area, but that is not because of the Hotel’s location but because LA is so spread out. Only took us around 10 or so minutes to drive to the Grove and Farmer’s Market which we went to for dinner and then lunch and shopping the next day, and Santa Monica was less than a 30 minute drive (we got caught in traffic) from the hotel.
Plenty of restaurants and stores within walking distance, as well as a pharmacy and grocery store.

BREAKFAST:
A complimentary continental breakfast is provided in the lobby, where you can either choose to eat on the patio or go back to your room. The selection was simple but delicious; pastries, muffins, toast, spreads, fruit bowl, yoghurt and juice.

STAFF:
Staff were amazing and so helpful, they made us feel so welcome and we felt they were very approachable. I walked in around dinner time one night and said to one of the lovely front desk staff that I had no idea where to eat dinner, the lovely lady threw all these options at me and even printed maps etc for me to make it so easy for us to find the restaurant – they are a great help.

Room Tip: Most rooms are renovated with some still pending renovation - so it wouldn't hurt to ask when bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,809 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,277
    383
    81
    48
    20
See reviews for
752
453
40
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Location,location, location. Short walk to all attractions. Room was clean, tidy and spacious. The staff very welcoming, accommodating and friendly, they're overall service was exceptional. Family loved the free snacks and the yummy continental breakfast to start off our day of sightseeing. We also got to go to The Magic Castle Club next door, which we all loved and enjoyed.
We would definitely recommend staying here, very family friendly place and relaxing, just like a home away from home. Thanks to all the staff for making our holiday so enjoyable :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I don't know who trained these employees , but they were all nice and helpful. I was very impressed with the service and value of the hotel! You will feel very welcome here! And kids are very welcome too. The location is great if you want to do anything in or near West Hollywood. Please take advantage of the pass to get into the Magic Castle. You will love it! I can't say enough about the helpful staff- they will help you with anything you need! You can just be yourself here and enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The room was more apartment like than hotel like, with plenty of space, a decent kitchen area and lounge + a lovely main bedroom. Staff were wonderful, both friendly and helpful, probably the best group of front desk staff I have encountered - special mentions to Nick and Gabriela.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Good points:
The rooms were more apartment like than hotel like. Rooms were spacious and clean.
Very family friendly - plenty of room for cots and for kids to run around.
Staff were exceptionally helpful, personable and friendly...best lot of front desk staffs I have ever came across.
Very short walk to Hollywood Blvd, where it is all happening 1 block away.
FREE buffet breakfast, all you can eat and drink.
My all time favourite FREE mini bar!!! Loved it!!!!
Only bad point was that air-con was abit noisy.
Overall, it was an excellent stay. The true test is that I would recommend it and would stay there again. Best value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street Franklin St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We arrived and straight away thought thismwas going to be great. The staff are flawless. The only critisim i have was our room was one of the 7 smaller rooms and once we seen the other rooms people were staying in we were a bit disapointed. Other rooms are large and have balconys, kitchens etc.

Only other thing is the noise level at night. There are no restrictions on the pool use so at 230am we had people yahooing and carrying on ( being an enclosed hotel you hear everything thats going on ). I would have like there to be maybe a 12am curfew on the pool maybe?

If i come to la again i would stay here for sure. Very clean, very good service, very homely.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a large room with kitchenette and balcony or you will be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

You will be blown away by the service level of this little gem. It doesn't look like a lot from the outside but once you enter, it has a charming "Melrose Place" courtyard. Excellent sized rooms for the price. The shower was a lilttle under powered and we had a queen bed mattress on a double base which was a little difficult. The location is a 5min walk up to the touristy bits which is very handy. I would not hesitate returning here anytime I holiday in LA again. Great work ladies and gentlemen!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A , Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.