We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK place, great location, budget” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Magic Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Magic Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“OK place, great location, budget”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Ideal base for a Hollywood experience, not far from most attractions and some nice restaurantes. Big old rooms, helpful staff. Basic but very handy and well priced. Would recommend to people in a budget that wants to be right were the action is without paying a fortune.

Room Tip: We had one room by the pool, not too much noice or steps to carry luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,532
    419
    92
    47
    20
See reviews for
909
552
48
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Clean, comfortable hotel close walk to shops, metro and sites of Hollywood
Excellent staff . free softdrinks, fruit, candy and chips etc
Home away from home. The staff make you feel so comfortable and are very helpful and go beyond any normal services, best hotel I have stayed in around the world

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We've had a wonderful time staying at the Magic Castle Hotel. From the tremendous staff to the location to the amenities, you couldn't ask for a better stay. It's like stepping back to an older era but with all of the modern conveniences. The hotel is next to the famed Magic Castle, which is apparently a must (we foolishly decided not to go, but regret it now). The hotel is also extremely well located - near Hollywood Blvd, Sunset Blvd, etc., and is only a couple of blocks from a Metro stop. Please don't pass this hotel up when you come to Hollywood.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I only stayed one night at the Magic Castle Hotel but I completely understand why they are #1 on TripAdvisor in Los Angeles. What an amazing hotel.

When I arrived, I received the best service I've ever experienced at a hotel from the gentleman at the reception (I believe his name was Zeeshawn) and felt very welcomed immediately. VIP treatment! I even got a welcome drink which I've never experienced before, even at the fancy spots in Las Vegas.

The room - or apartment rather - was huge and very clean and pleasant. You get a large living room type area, a kitchen with full amenities, even a dining room area, a large bathroom and a tucked away bedroom. You could live in this room for weeks.

The hotel offers free (yes, free!) snacks and beverages, delivered to your room if you wish, and I got a free newspaper in the morning as well. There's also complimentary breakfast included, which was a wide selection of quality products, and many in-room amenities such as multiple TVs, microwave, DVD player and so on. Nothing was missing.

With a nice pool in the middle, the hotel layout is very nice, and it is adjacent to the Magic Castle Club which you can get access to as a hotel guest (I didn't try it but I hear it's a very cool experience). From the hotel, you're a 2-minute walk from the busiest part of Hollywood Blvd, with the Chinese Theatre, Hollywood & Highland, Kodak Theatre etc. The location is perfect if you want to see the sights in Hollywood. There is not much of a view from the room, but you'll be hard-pressed to find that anywhere in Hollywood.

One small thing - the Wi-Fi was a bit unrealiable and seemed to work better in the living room than in the bedroom for some reason. Could have been a temporary thing.

I have nothing but praise for this amazing hotel and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

My daughter and I enjoyed our stay here. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Location central to everything. Parking garage onsite. We walked to nearly everything and felt safe. Continental breakfast was enough to meet any appetite. free snacks and DVDs were a hit with my 10 yr old. If you are sick of impersonal hotels and want top of the line service with large rooms, this is your place!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised with our stay at the Magic Castle. Zeeshawn showed us an outstanding welcome when we checked in and even surprised us with treats for celebrating a occasion on our trip. The room was very spacious, like your own apartment. The breakfast provided was just enough to fill us up and get going for the day. Lazy periods out by the pool and we were treated with Popsicles. The kids loved the snacks. Parking was only $10 a night which was a steal compared to some of the other hotels in the area, you had in/out privileges, and the hollywood strip was so close than many times we just walked for our activities. The kids loved it and wished we could have stayed longer. The only thing missing is a hot tub and updated bath. I highly recommend this hotel for those who like spacious rooms and like to bring their own food and use the kitchen amenities. Great value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISBANE
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed in room 207 on the top floor over looking the beautiful pool. We booked the Magic Castle Hotel from Australia because of great trip advisor reviews, the great price and its great location - literally a minutes walk to the action on Hollywood Bvld. (Due to the Aussie dollar being so good we wanted to pay upfront from Australia - our emails were answered immediately no matter what time of the day or night I emailed and the paperwork required was sent asap. When we arrived we could check in straight away. Our apartment was very clean, very spacious and had been renovated - I purposely requested on on the top floor overlooking the pool (as we read these were the best and we were not disappointed). Think Melrose, think retro, think wonderful friendly helpful staff who provide you with a home away from home and you have the Magic Castle summed up. We could not have wished for a better place to stay. We saw the sights all day and Jason told us where a large fresh and very cheap supermarket was (about a 5 min walk). So we cooked everynight in our wonderful kitchen and then sent the kids down with a list for the 24 hour FREE mini bar and free DVD's (where do you ever get that) and sat and ate popcorn, chips, sodas and chocolate whilst watching free movies on our flat screen tv each night (that was a holiday in itself to us). We had one minor issue with a window not closing properly and the maintenance man appeared immediately and fixed it!. The pool was heated, clean with loads of pool toys -the kids had so much fun. A generous breakfast was presented around the pool each morning with delightful pastries and the Darren the owner/Manager was always on hand for a friendly chat. In fact on our last day he let the kids run wild with the mini bar and their backpacks were filled with goodies (thank you for those delightful Hershie Bars that you can't buy in Australia). They even organised to check-us in online on our return flight and print off our boarding passes. I could go on and on about all the positives as I can't find one negative about this wonderful place. It truly is a hidden little gem. We will definately stay here again and are recommending it to EVERYONE!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor with a balcony over looking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A , Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#16 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.