We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean & friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Chatsworth

Save Saved
You added Radisson Hotel Chatsworth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Chatsworth
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9777 Topanga Canyon Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 91311 (North San Fernando Valley)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
A Summer Getaway for 2
Ranked #92 of 323 hotels in Los Angeles
Edmond, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“clean & friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Well the title about says it all. We were there for a few days on business, and this was the closest decent hotel to where we needed to be. As others have mentioned it's in a pretty dull, commercial area of town. No decent restaurants in the nearby area.

When we were there the hotel lobby area was undergoing a renovation so it was all torn up, but I'm sure once its complete it will be nice. None of the rooms have been remodeled yet though. I don't know if they will eventually be remodeled or not. Our room was clean, but just old and kind of gungy. It had a musty smell to it. We asked about another room and they offered us another one, but it smelled just the same. The carpets were stained both in our room and in the exterior hallways. We joked every time we returned to our rooms that we had to "take a left at the bleach stain".

As do other Radisson hotels, it has the Sleep Number beds, of which I am not a fan, but whatever. At least there were not springs poking in my back.

The staff was always very nice and quite helpful when we had any needs or questions.

I guess if I had to be in that particular area of LA again for business I would consider staying there because there's not much else around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    54
    22
    13
    6
See reviews for
35
24
16
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I wa a little concerned because I read other reviews that complained about the area (it wasn't bad at all) and other issues. We had a very nice two night stay. The room was big and the bathroom was spacious too. The shower and bath were separate and the floor of the shower had comfortable tile. The front desk staff (Adrian) was efficient and classy. The parking is free (yeah)! The pool are is pretty and the gym is just what you need. There is a pretty little sitting area in a courtyard too.
The only negatives were that the common areas are a bit worn. Also I had to go to the laundry at night and that was a bit scarey (could be better lighted) and there seems to be something very wrong with the dryer. I was afraid I would burn down the hotel using it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed at the Radisson Hotel in Chatsworth for one night. This hotel is situated in a commercial area with strip malls and industry park-like surroundings. The hotel ground itself is nice with big trees in the parking lot but there is really nothing interesting in this neighborhood except driving further down to the Reagan Library on the 118. We were greeted with courteous and professional staff. I asked for a quiet room and was granted. I was a little disappointed when first walked into the room, it was a little outdated. For the room rate of the hotel I expected a fancier hotel room. The room was clean but it just had an old feeling to it. No plasma TV and the flimsy closet really added a cheap looking feel to the room. The room was very quiet except for the loud sound from the air-conditioning. Actually the whole hotel was quiet maybe because it was a Friday afternoon. The bathroom has a separate shower stall which was nice but there should be a mat because the floor of the shower was quite rough. I had a hard time finding the ice machine. After walking around for several minutes I had to ask the staff at the lobby where it was. I think signs need to be placed to make it easier for guess to locate this machine. We upgraded to the bed and breakfast deal and paid $15 extra to get a $20 coupon for breakfast. Breakfast was OK, and I was amazed that they were able to keep the bacon and waffles nice and crisp. The scrambled eggs was good too. We had a nice stay but I don't think we will come back in the future. For dining suggestion, I highly recommend Les Sisters for a good southern soul food meal. It's right around the corner of Topanga Canyon and Devonshire. Again, the staff at this hotel really made our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Pick a room that faces the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadArtChatsworth, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Chatsworth, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Dear ROCruiser,
Thanks you for taking the time to share your experience and we are pleased that you took the time to let us know about the services rendered to you by our staff, In the hospitality industry, we know the number one factor in guest satisfaction is service and attitude of employees, we are gratified when we hear that we have been successful in providing such service to our guests. I share your concerns with respect to our guest room conditions, we are doing our most to speed up our hotel renovation ( 4 Mil. Dollars ) where all rooms and all public areas from lobby to hallways will be stripped and replaced from wall papers/paint to carpets and furniture, our goal to complete the project by November /2012 . On behalf of our entire staff at Radisson we thank you for your stay and hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Yes, this hotel is under revovation, however it in no way did it hamper our recent visit. We were in the area for the CSUN Graduation ceremony and the hotel and staff were excellent. They offered a late checkout, served a very generous buffet breakfast, and the rooms were lovely. Past reviews were a bit negative, wanted to give the management kodos!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadArtChatsworth, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Chatsworth, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Dear lcSanDiego,
Thank you for taking the time to share your pleasant experience of your recent stay with us, our staff appreciates your kind comments concerning the services and accommodations provided to you.
Your remarks are being shared with the management team at the hotel and with the operations personnel. Comments such as yours benefit our system in many ways. We work very hard to maintain the highest standards of excellence in all areas of our hotel operations.THANK YOU AND ALL THE BEST.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed here overnight for fun, not a business trip. The hotel was very quiet and clean. It was undergoing renovations in some areas, but it did not affect us. It is a long, rambling sort of place, and the pool was another courtyard away. It was clean and heated, but the spa looked dirty. It's in a great area for eating - the Country Deli, one of our favorites, is right across the street. On the whole, it was a pleasant stay for a mini vacation.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadArtChatsworth, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Chatsworth, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your pleasant experience at the Radisson Hotel Chatsworth. our staff appreciates your kind comments concerning the service and accommodations provided to you.
Your remarks are being shared with the management team at the hotel and with the operations personnel. comments such as yours benefit our system in many ways. We work very hard to maintain the highest standards of excellence in all areas of our hotel operations, Thank you and please come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

I'm not usually one to leave bad reviews but there was just too many little things that bothered me about the hotel. It is now apparently the Chatsworth Hotel but I had originally booked it as a Radisson. For a moment, we thought were were in the wrong place since the sign out front had changed but nothing else.

We needed a place close to some family, which is why we chose this hotel. The distance from where we needed to be was good but that seemed to be the only thing. When we walked through the hotel to the 3rd floor, we could definitely see that the hotel was in desperate need of some maintenance. The rugs were worn, there were questionable stains in the hallways, the sleep number bed remote wasn't working, etc. The hotel said they had room service but there was no menu in the room, nor was there any information in a book as most hotel rooms provide.

There was pounding throughout the night, almost as if people were running up and down the halls or even up and down the walls themselves. We had to call down for extra sheets for the sofa bed, which was fine and they opened up the sofa bed for me. The set-up of the room wasn't that great as the sofa bed was directly in front of the air conditioning unit which made for me being freezing and my sister not getting enough air. I also have bad allergies to dust mites and kept coughing and sneezing the entire time I was in the room. The moment I stepped out, I was fine, which made me wonder how clean the place really was.

I had booked the hotel for my sister and myself over the phone and asked for all price quotes and charges that were part of the bill so I could make a decision about this hotel and another nearby. I was given the quote of $81 a night with AAA for the weekend plus hotel tax. Okay, that's normal. Imagine my surprise when my credit card was charged $150 more than what my final bill was as I was checking out of the hotel. When I called, I was told that the hotel charged $50/night for incidentals and that it was on the website. Yes, but I didn't book through the website. He said I was GIVEN a form that outlined this when I called. I was passed along a sheet of paper that had my dates of check-in and check-out, and requested my sister's information (as she would be holding the 2nd key), the make of our rental car, and the license plate number.

The man on the phone was not helpful and told me that so long as the room was in the same condition as it was before we arrived, the money would be returned in "maybe 3-4 days, maybe longer."

While the hotel was near where we needed to be, I would have much preferred to stay at a hotel slightly farther away for a cleaner space, a room with the desired information, and better service. While Jose was helpful the one night, it seemed no one else cared whether or not the guests were comfortable or were given basic information.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $8 to stay at the Hilton nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadArtChatsworth, Manager at Radisson Hotel Chatsworth, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at Radisson Hotel Chatsworth . On behalf of our entire staff here at Radisson we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience. Since guest satisfaction is a number one priority to us, your comments have been, and always will be, important.
I do share your concerns and apologize for the confusion in regards of hotel check in procedure, it is a common hotel practice at time of check -in to only authorize the credit card for the Tl. amount of room rate + tax + $ amount per day to cover any incidentals ( Room Service, Restaurant, Bar, Phone ... ) charges which are signed to the room, again this is only pending authorizations and not actual charges. as mentioned on Guest Registration Form. And in regards of in room directories we are in the process of replacing them with a new and updated ones for our hotel is in the mid of renovation which involves all our guest rooms and public areas which will be complete by the end of September. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations. Sincerely, Arthur Boshnakian General Manager Radisson Hotel Chatsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

The first morning we stayed (10/8/11) I work up with a few itchy bites. That night we came back around 9pm to sleep, the room/bathroom hadn't been cleaned. Not even fresh cups. There was loud club music below us from a party at the restaurant in the hotel. We were never informed or warned. The neighbors were yelling, partying and going in and out of the room, slamming the door every couple minutes. We tried to ignore all of this until the marijuana smoke started to fill our room. I finally called down to the front at midnight and they dismissed me and said they'd give them a quick call. This all continued until around 2:30am. The whole night I kept waking up itching. We got up around 7:30am to leave and I was covered in itchy bed bug bites. We went to the front desk to check out and explained out issues. They informed us the manager wasn't there but would get in in 30 minutes (9am) and call us immediately, and they wouldn't charge us until he talked to us. At 2:13pm we checked our card and noticed we had be charged the full amount with still no call from the manager. I called the hotel and they informed us the manager was busy and would try to get back to me by Monday. When I said this was unacceptable, they sent me to voicemail. He finally called me back around 5pm and refused to refund our money and told me it was impossible to have bed bug bites. I've had to see a doctor and dermatologist to help with the 50+ bug bites that keep me up all hours. And still no apology, just left with gross bumps everywhere.

Room Tip: get one above the 2nd floor to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadArtChatsworth, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Chatsworth, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to share the concerns and experience regarding your stay with us, Radisson Hotel Chatsworth is under a new management team and On behalf of our entire staff here we apologize that we did not provide you with the clean comfortable room, you have every right to expect when you stay at Radisson Hotel Chatsworth. I can understand your disappointment and dismay. We appreciate the feedback and as a result of the experience you described we have made several changes to the way in which our guest rooms are cleaned and inspected before being assigned to guests. Please accept our apology and as a token of appreciation we invoked our 100% satisfaction for your stay, exciting news to share, we launched a very ambitious (4 Mil. Dollars) plan to start remodeling our hotel, which will be completed by the end of August 2012.
On behalf of entire staff here at Radisson Hotel Chatsworth, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Sincerely,
Arthur Boshnakian
General Manager Radisson Hotel Chatsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Hotel Chatsworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Chatsworth

Address: 9777 Topanga Canyon Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 91311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > North San Fernando Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#71 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#92 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Chatsworth 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Style and Comfort at our San Fernando Valley Hotel in ChatsworthWith its enviable Los Angeles area location in the San Fernando Valley, Radisson Hotel Chatsworth boasts elegant, full-service accommodations just minutes from the Warner Center. Hotel highlights include an on-site Fitness Center, a heated pool and whirlpool, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access, a lush, tropical courtyard and an on-site restaurant and lounge. We are just east of Simi Valley and offer you easy access to both Universal Studios© Hollywood theme park and Six Flags© Magic Mountain park. Make your reservation at the Radisson Hotel Chatsworth and see what sets us apart from the rest. 100% non-smoking facility ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Radisson Hotel Chatsworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Los Angeles
Radisson Los Angeles
Los Angeles Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel Chatsworth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.