We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, tourists well catered for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Universal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Universal Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Universal Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Universal Hollywood Drive, Los Angeles, CA 91608 (Universal City Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #99 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Huddersfield
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent location, tourists well catered for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for five nights with my partner and couldn't have been happier with this hotel. I always score every hotel 5 stars and deduct points iif i find areas a let down, but dont feel they deserve anything less than 5 stars here! Maybe we Brits are a bit easier to please! It's on the doorstep of La's premier attraction, universal studios and universal city walk, and only a short hop into Downtown and the Hollywood walk of fame. Was slightly worried that we would be isolated given previous reviews, as we were adamant that we didn't want to drive on this trip, but that was just not the case at all. In my opinion, the hotel is centrally located and in the nicer part of town. The metro is a 10 min walk and so cheap at only $5 for a daily ticket: Hollywood walk of fame (5 min metro ride), downtown (15 min). Santa Monica beach slightly longer but still do-able (15 min metro ride to Wiltshire and Vermont and then 720 bus, inc in metro ticket, which takes about an hour). Free buffet breakfast with rate ( fruit to die for ), 45 min free wifi per day, lovely reception areas and spacious bedroom with enormous bed and small seating area.......shame we didn't get to use the pool, as it was so inviting, but there was just so much to see and do it was difficult to fit all in. Only downside was the sunday afternoon. pool party. We consider ourselves quite lively and enjoy clubbing but the music was dreadful, a bit too electric and Ibiza .....a bit of a wham or whitney and we'd have joined them! Guess were getting old hence our escape to the nearby pool at the hilton whilst it went on.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear guest, many thanks for the review. We always enjoy reading about our guests experiences and look for opportunities to make your experience even better. In the best interest of our guest satisfaction, we are no longer hosting the pool parties. Having said that, please come back and visit us again over the next extended weekend holiday and we will be so happy to have you back. Additionally, I completely agree with you about the fresh fruit served on our daily breakfast buffet. The display is just fantastic and delicious.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    368
    220
    74
    38
See reviews for
372
200
36
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a conference at conference rate so value (125/night) was probably better them at normal rates. Nice spacious room with balcony ( at ground level floor). Walking distance (5-10 min) to universal city walk and entrance. They charge 10 dollars for internet for 24hrs which had some connection problems. Parking is $18 day. The restaurant seems a little understaffed and has a very limited menu. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for writing your review. We appreciate your time and feedback and we are happy to hear the hotel was a convenient location for you. We hope that your travels will bring you back to our hotel again soon . We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Awful
Need I say more? Checked in and walked into a filthy room with dirty towels on floor . 3 hours later .. They came
Up with fresh bedding and still never cleaned room
After 3 days, we ate the hotel
Stay ( we prepaid)and went to
Mariott Newport beach which was amazing .
Cost me a fortune to change hotels but had to. Sheraton is a business Quick stay not for a mom with a teenager.
Live and learn from our mistakeS

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear guest, please trust that you comments are shared with the managers involved, and it is certainly disheartening to read you did not enjoy your visit. We do apologize for the inconvenience with the power outage which was due to unforeseen external circumstances that that was completely beyond our control, unfortunately. We did however, utilized all possible aid to assist during the short period the power was out. Your comments are invaluable and are taken very seriously as we strive to create great experiences for our guest. We value you and your time, thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceske Budejovice, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

hotel was very clean, friendly and luxurious. Rooms were well furnished, with a beautiful carpet. All perfectly clean. Just a bathroom in the room was nothing special. Amazing for those who want to visit Universal Studios - we can walk or ride the free shuttle

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Guest, we appreciated your feedback and it will be shared with our Sheraton Universal Team. We enjoyed reading about your experiences and great interactions with our friendly staff. Our staff makes it a point to assure our guests are comfortable and happy while they are with us and we would be very happy to have you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 2 nights which shuould have been 3 since it was amazing!! When I booked I asked for the highest floor available and they delivered! We had the perfect view of Universal City!! It looked so beautiful at night!
This hotel is of course pricey but it was worth it! We stayed up late enjoyed the view, slept in and then headed to Universal Studios midday which is like a 5 minute walk from the hotel.
Last year we stayed like 30 minutes away so after we were tired and exhausted from the park we still had to drive somewhere for food and drive the 30 minutes back to the hotel! Smh. But not this year! We were able to eat somewhere down City Walk (I recommend Bubba Gump Shrimp!) and walk off our food and then crawl straight into bed!
Next year we plan on going in May again and we might stay here again or try out the Hilton. I'll keep you posted =)

Room Tip: Compare hotel rates to online rates before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Guest, I couldn’t agree with you more on the convenience of the location, especially after a long day at the park and being able to jump right into one of our Sweet Sleeper beds , it’s just heavenly! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and that we met all your expectations. It is our hope you will return to us again on your next trip so that we can continue to show our interest in you as our very valued guests. From your friends at the Sheraton Universal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Spent one night here on a little getaway. Laurie, at the front desk checked us in quickly and upgraded us to a Club room. Room was very nicely appointed, not too big, but adequate. Beautiful view of the Valley. Club lounge offers happy hour appetizers, drinks and breakfast, so that was a great bonus. Took the shuttle to City Walk- lots of fun! The walk back was about 5-7 minutes. Hotel seemed busy but didn't have that "crowded" feel. Only downside- a family with many kids left early in the morning- around 7:15 and were extremely loud in the hallway. But that was not hotel's fault. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear guest, I’m glad to see you your arrival experience was great and Laurie made sure you were in a room that met your satisfaction in terms of view and comfort. We will most certainly relay your kind words to her as well. I do agree, during the summer season, we do have a high percentage of families as our guests here at the Sheraton Universal. We are centrally located with lots of great adventures and very family friendly. Additionally, to get to the Universal Studios park, our guests have the option of a complimentary shuttle service or taking a short walk up to all the attractions. That makes it very convenient for our guests. We do hope your travels bring you back soon to us for more fun and visiting with the Sheraton Family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, Carpinteria
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I arrived here for a conference in April 2012. And even though as a group we got discount, It wasn't cheap. The hotel is kind of dated. And the walls a pretty thin. If you decide to stay in this hotel, stay away from the elevators. You can hear not only the elevator running up and down, but the people in it (I am not kidding!). The hotel's bar was nice, but it felt kind of ghetto.

I also had to call 3 times service because the room key wouldn't work, so pretty much every time I left the room. I had the same problem with the parking key, and I couldn't connect to the internet the first half of the day (I was here for biz, remember).

Yes the hotel is very conveniently located, and there is shuttles to city walk. Love that the freeway ramps are near.

The staff was super friendly and attentive. I am sure a lot of people complain about their room keys, but they always had a great attitude. Imagine they system is crap, so they have to work double.

Don't pay full price for this hotel, so if you wanna stay here, get a deal.

Room Tip: Stay away form the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheratonmanager001, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Universal Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear Guest, we appreciate the time you took to write a detailed review of your visit. Please trust that your comments are reviewed with the managers involved. You feedback gives us an opportunity to revisit some hotel details that may have otherwise been missed. We do hope that your travels will bring you back this was so we can demonstrate our interest in you as our valued guest. Thank you again for your time and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Universal Hotel

Address: 333 Universal Hollywood Drive, Los Angeles, CA 91608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Universal City Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Universal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 457
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Sheraton Universal Hotel, located next door to the excitement of Universal Studios, we artfully blend Sheraton's four-star service with the history of an iconic Hollywood Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Universal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.