We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, please read my feedback” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Solaire Los Angeles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Solaire Los Angeles to your Saves list
Hotel Solaire Los Angeles
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1710 West 7th Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #199 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Kapelle, the Netherlands
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good location, please read my feedback”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel offers spacious rooms, with a fridge and microwave. Beds are good BUT

the breakfast was the WORST ever! What a ridiculous situation; so few places to sit down to have your breakfast. The place was so crowded that it was quite difficult to reach the bread etc. We even had to consume our breakfast while standing! No, this is really undoable! Due to this stupid and uncomfortable situation I would not recommend to book this hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort1710, General Manager at Hotel Solaire Los Angeles, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you very much for the honest review of your stay. We value these comments greatly as they help us along in our mission to provide an elevated guest experience, each and every time. We apologize for your concerns regarding the breakfast situation but are pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations. If you would like to discuss this matter further we would be happy to speak with you one-on-one. Simply contact the hotel directly at info@hotelsolaire.com. Thank you again for your review and we would love the opportunity to make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    49
    56
    36
    36
See reviews for
37
47
11
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This review is about the hotel's location and proximity to sights/attractions.

This hotel is in the Westlake area of Downtown LA. Its about a mile from the heart of downtown LA and the Staples Center. It is also about a 5-10 minute walk to the Metro Red & Purple lines which is a plus if you don't have a car or don't want to drive. The Red line will take you to Hollywood & the Walk of Fame in about 10-15 minutes.The Red line to Union Station will take you into downtown, so you can see the sights (Union Station, Olvera Street, Chinatown, shopping, etc.) If you plan to go to bars and stay out late, a cab ride from the center of downtown to the hotel will be about $10 MAX. You can also get into downtown LA by a short bus ride (you can catch the #51, 52 or 352 buses on 7th street), and you can also take the #20 Bus on Wilshire Blvd (one block north of the hotel) to Beverly Hills and even Santa Monica. So for proximity and accessibility, it's a good deal.

Two big landmarks that are down the street from the hotel are Langers Deli, and MacArthur Park. You can also get a nice view of the downtown skyline from 7th street. There is a Starbucks on the next street over (Wilshire and Union) and also a Food for Less grocery store if you need walk over and stock up on snacks

The neighborhood is not the fanciest, and definitely urban so don't expect what you have seen on tv about LA. However, it's also not the worst area when it comes to ambiance and safety. The area had its share over problems in prior decades with crime, gangs, etc, but it is MUCH better now than it was in the past. But if you get people raising their eyebrows, they are probably just remembering the old reputation (just the same as once upon a time, the Meat Packing District in NYC was not the place to be either....and today things have changed). You will find a large number of families living in the area, and there is a large middle school + elementary school just down the street. Culturally, there is a large El Salvadorean American community in the area, so you will hear a lot of Spanish and English spoken and see a lot of stores with signage in both languages (people have had some negative comments about this, but it's really no different than being in another city's Little Italy or Chinatown). You will also hear ambulance sirens because the hotel is on the route between a hospital and a fire station. Outside of that it's fairly quiet in the evenings.

Overall, it's an economical option that will give you good mobility in LA, whether you have a car or plan to use public transportation. If you are looking for somewhere fancy and high end, this might not be the place for you. But as they say, you get what you pay for! if you want basic and clean accommodations a reasonable price (they also recently remodeled the hotel), this is a good deal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort1710, General Manager at Hotel Solaire Los Angeles, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a thorough review! We could not be happier that you enjoyed your visit and are sure that future and returning guests will really appreciate all the valuable insights you were able to provide. We would absolutely love to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nigths in this hotel. The location was downtown, so not very secure at night. At the entrance, the hotel seemed clean and comfortable but actually the room was small. There was a parking lot (2usd per night) and breakfast included but actually we haven't been able to have breakfast the third day since there were no seats available, no waffles (run out as the morning before) and people were lining to eat anything!
The breakfast room was veeeery small. I'd suggest the owners to reduce price and avoid breakfast service at all!
In other words, it was not very satisfying...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort1710, General Manager at Hotel Solaire Los Angeles, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing your experience. We are very sorry you didn't feel secure during your stay but would like to emphasize that we take our guests' safety quite seriously. We appreciate your notes in regards to the breakfast facilities – as this is the type of feedback that is very useful to us as we continue to grow. We hear you, and we thank you for your candor. If you would like to discuss any of these matters further please contact the hotel at info@hotelsolaire.com. We hope to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paterson, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The room was unclean, had roaches! The front desk was not sympathetic about this problem. I had to hurry and change rooms for fear of the infestation and contaminating luggage with roaches. I even took pictures. I had to move my room at 12 midnight without any assistance of staff! The hotel location was in an area of questionable safety. In addition, there were never enough towels to accommodate the guest in the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort1710, General Manager at Hotel Solaire Los Angeles, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your candid review of your experience. We are deeply apologetic for the bug incident you encountered and would like to assure you that this is a matter we are actively addressing. Also, we are disappointed that you didn't feel our team was sympathetic to your plight – as this is certainly not the impression we wish to leave on our guests. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss these matters with you further, if you would please contact the hotel directly at info@hotelsolaire.com. Thank you again for your review and we would be honored to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here for just one night but didn't have ANY complaints. Rooms are nice, free continental breakfast in the morning, and coffee all day if you so desire; this is on top of the microwave and refrigerator in the room. For all the amenities, this is a great place for the price. The area is certainly not the best but I heard no noise from the outside and its within walking distance to the Metro line which is a plus. I do recommend bringing a printout of your reservation confirmation as they didn't have mine in the system but I had no issues with them. The staff was super friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort1710, General Manager at Hotel Solaire Los Angeles, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your excellent review! We take great pride in the value we're able to provide our guests, and are glad that you found your stay with us to be satisfactory. We would love to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorville
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for Anime Expo 2012, and have booked to stay for 2013. The hotel is close to everything downtown. We even walked to and from the Convention Center. What's great is that it has all the amenities without a high price. A fridge, a microwave, free wi-fi and breakfast. It is a really good place to stay for multiple days because of this. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. The parking was tight at night, but they made sure we all fit and for a nominal fee. No parking on streets or $40 for valet somewhere else. The pool is well maintained and was a pleasant surprise. Of course it's not a high end luxury hotel, but you get well above what you pay for. Will stay here again and again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort1710, General Manager at Hotel Solaire Los Angeles, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us. We are so happy you enjoyed the value we offer our guests and that you were able to take advantage of our central location. We would especially like to thank you for choosing to stay with us again. We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This place had 4" cockroaches running rampant on the ground floor! In all fairness, the creatures did get smaller in the higher level floors. The staff was very apologetic and accommodating and chalked it up to "bad luck." I would have immediately left the premises for another hotel, but I had arrived very late, was exhausted, and had to be at a medical appointment early the next morning so I took my chances. It took multiple attempts to find a room with no obvious inhabitants, but I dreamed of bugs all night. Another behemoth made an appearance in the breakfast room and was ceremoniously smashed by another guest. The breakfast attendant made no comments as she swept up the remains without missing a beat. If it weren't for the "locals" this would have been a pleasant stay, but that's just too "eco-friendly" for me!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort1710, General Manager at Hotel Solaire Los Angeles, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your honest review of your experience. We appreciate your business and are disappointed that you did not fully enjoy your stay. We would sincerely welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay further if you would please contact the hotel directly at info@hotelsolaire.com. Again, we appreciate your review and would love the opportunity to change your mind about our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Solaire Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solaire Los Angeles

Address: 1710 West 7th Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Solaire Los Angeles 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Solaire Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - Los Angeles / West 7th Street Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Solaire Los Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.