We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find a different hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   611 South Westlake Ave/I-10, Wilshire Blvd./6th St., Los Angeles, CA 90057 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #117 of 328 Hotels in Los Angeles
California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Find a different hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms are fair, in a gray decorated sort of way. The hotel is not located in a really good part of town. It does not feel safe. The staff at the hotel tries to do a good job and be helpful. They did not reach that end game. And watch your use of the shuttle. I was told they would pick me up from the conference center at any time. When I called they said the shuttle was not available today from 1 to 4 PM. This was after three employees at the front desk promoted and insisted it would be better to take the shuttle. Not one of them mentioned that the shuttle would not be available that afternoon. When I finally took a taxi back to the hotel, there was the shuttle leaving with a customer.
There are worse hotels in downtown LA however I would check out other options before staying here.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    44
    23
    6
    15
See reviews for
26
21
8
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is very clean and close to LA Convention Center. Is not a very nice neighbourhood but the price-value is good!
The staff is nice and breakfast is good! It is a good place, The WIFI is not good, but pillows are great! They also offer shuttle!

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The surrounding wasn't the best bit once I check in and got inside everything was perfect. The staff were nice and the morning breakfast was pretty good. The room where clean and organize. If you are expecting an amazing view since it's not far from downtown this is not the place.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a rather small HIE tucked into an established area. I nearly drove right pass the entrance which wasn't real obvious. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. There is a parking garage behind the building and I never had a problem parking PLUS it was free!!! Some people have commented about a scary location but other than a large amount of litter from some abandoned buildings next door I didn't find the area bad. I walked downtown (little over a mile) on 2 separate occasions and never felt threatened. This is a major US city and there are homeless and panhandlers but no more than any other city. It is a very ethnic area so some people may feel out of place but that lends charm to me. Rooms were large with a frig and coffeemaker. The building is older and so not the same as the newer HIE's. Standard HIE breakfast and there is a starbucks a few blocks away on Wilshire. There is a security guard in front and you need your key for the elevator. Wireless internet worked well. There is a metro stop a few blocks away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face Wilshire Blvd
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

The Hotel staff is very friendly and accommodating. The Manager on duty (Stephanie) exceeded my expectations by providing the best service you can ask for. The room is clean, we'll organized and spacious. The hotel is perfect for watching basketball games at the staple center for you don't need to bring your car at the venue, they have a free shuttle for drop off/pick up. Overall I will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

They had me at: Free Parking. Free Breakfast. Free Internet. What else is there? Great prices. Clean hotel. Modern lobby. Friendly staff. Typical HIE breakfasts but effective. This is LA. The neighborhood is fairly sketchy but drive your car in and park it. You're safe and free of worry. I will stay here again. Small jacuzzi area no pool. Vending on floors. Convenient to main roads and central to what I needed. Was in town for Fleetwood Mac concert and this place was perfect.

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

I was attending the Los Angles Auto Show with my wife and this was the closest location to the show. That was very convenient with the drop off and pick up shuttle service provided by the hotel. The area of town is SO SCARY we were afraid to venture out at night AT ALL. We were forced to eat delivered pizza both nights we were there. The area is just FILTHY, trash everywhere, homeless people everywhere as well. This is just like any other major downtown hotel one would say, BUT that is not true. Go to downtown San Antonio, TX and it is clean, landscaped and VERY WELL patrolled so one feels totally safe there. I was just not comfortable with my surroundings in LA at all. That I blame on the city NOT the hotel. The hotel was nice, clean and the staff was very helpful as well. I was worried about my vehicle in these surroundings, but the staff assured me all would be just fine and it was. Would I recommend this hotel, the HOTEL itself, YES, where it is located, NEVER!

Room Tip: If you HAVE to be in this area this place will scare you, but you will probably have no problems the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West

Address: 611 South Westlake Ave/I-10, Wilshire Blvd./6th St., Los Angeles, CA 90057
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 328 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Los Angeles
Ramada Los Angeles
Los Angeles Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.