We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   611 South Westlake Ave/I-10, Wilshire Blvd./6th St., Los Angeles, CA 90057 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #132 of 323 Hotels in Los Angeles
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. the hotel is nice, new, clean and equipped with all comfort. has a room with computer and free wifi access, free parking, free breakfast and plentiful and also coffee and hot tea was available all day. also present daily newspapers in the area. staff very friendly and qualified. The hotel also has one other thing that is very convenient a shuttle that brings hotel guests free within 4 miles. the only flaw we found is that the hotel is completely decentralized and in the neighborhood somewhat degraded. very inconvenient to get to the walk of fame, hollywood and bevery hills

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    34
    19
    5
    15
See reviews for
23
16
6
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived in town at 9AM and were very surprised that the hotel immediately checked us in. The staff was awesome but I felt the rooms were not equal to the rate. The hotel value was not there. I am totally basing my opinion on other Holiday Inn's where I have stayed.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I love to stay at IHG properties for there great customer service. Aida was magnificent always attentive to my needs, always assisting everyone in a very pleasant manner. The only thing I didn't like was the attitude from apparently the General Manager. As a Manager myself, you don't tell your employees what you did wrong in front of customers. That's very unprofessional and disrespectful towards the employee and customers. Overall, I really enjoyed myself.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room is standard, a little worn. Booked through priceline, the description said there was a microwave in the room, but it was not there. Tried resolving it with the hotel but they said we have to take it up with priceline as only their suites come with microwave. They cant do anything. Hotel took a copy of my reservation confirmation to check with Priceline. Breakfast area is small and crowded.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Trippyhappy,

Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my sincere apology for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced and we regret the issues you had surrounding the room you received. We have taken note of your valuable comments and these will be shared with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed. Despite your disappointment, we hope that you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Many people have commented on the great value this hotel provides. The same two nights I was here, the Bonaventure downtown was only $15 more a night, but Bonaventure does charge for parking.

The area is indeed a bit sketchy and I wouldn't wander around after dark. It is quite convenient, however, if you have a car.

The rooms have a rather drab, putty colored paint job, but were clean and smelled fresh. Bed was comfortable, and had a lot of extra pillows. There is a fridge in the room, our came with the previous tenants' bag of grapes.

Bathroom lacks counter space and has a powerful hot shower. During the first night stay, I head a drip, drip, drip noise all night long. Turns out it was coming from the ac unit. Maintenance installed a new one the next day while we were out and it worked much better than the old.

So pros: Friendly staff, free parking, small hot tub, breakfast with Oikos yogurt and a pancake maker, and a clean room.
cons: neighborhood

I will stay here again as it is super convenient to a school I visit. I probably won't be out much after dark.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Cassyt,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad you appreciated our amenities and free parking. However, I am sorry you found some aspects of our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, VA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The hotels in the downtown area range from $300-700/night! Whew! I'm paying $170/night. The immediate area isn't one you want to stroll around in, but they offer shuttle service to anywhere in a 4 mile radius....you need to prearrange for the shuttle. The hotel itself is relatively new and so it feels very comfortable. There is NO street noise in the room with the windows closed, even though there is a lot of car traffic outside. Wi-fi is free. And a really expansive breakfast is included....think sweet rolls, cereals, eggs, ham, sausage, pancakes, waffles, fruit...etc. Plus parking is free!! The front desk staff could not have been nicer. Seyed checked us in and was very efficient and thoughtful in welcoming us and getting our paperwork correct. if you want to stay close to downtown LA and don't want to break the bank...this is a great place to stay.
A note to the management - when we stayed you were completely booked. So you knew every room was going to be used that night. The AC should have been turned on in every room BEFORE guests arrive! It's just basic hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon SK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Room was clean. Older hotel but kept up. Breakfast was good as expected at a HI Express Hotel. However, this is not an area to walk around during the day but especially after dark. MacArthur Park is across the street from Metro and is full of homeless people. I would not go out there alone. We felt out of place since it is a largely Hispanic community and people were not speaking English. We were not bothered by anyone but were alert to the atmosphere around us at all times. If you take the Metro, use the rear entrance and that will avoid the area around MacArthur Park.

Room Tip: This is okay for a stop for a night on a trip to somewhere else but I wouldn't use this as a des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear RMFOX222,

Thank you for the review of our hotel. It is lovely to hear you found the rooms clean. We just want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. Although you found the area sketchy we hope this will not deter you from staying with us again.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West

Address: 611 South Westlake Ave/I-10, Wilshire Blvd./6th St., Los Angeles, CA 90057
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#132 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Los Angeles
Ramada Los Angeles
Los Angeles Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.