We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick layover on long trip to hawaii” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5985 W. Century Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045 (Westside)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #83 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
boston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quick layover on long trip to hawaii”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

We live on the east coast and wanted to layover in LA on way to Hawaii. This hotel fits the bill. Booked on Priceline for $60. Very reasonable price. Quick shuttle to and from airport. Room was decent size and the bed and pillows were extrememly confortable. Hotel is very quiet and got a great nites sleep. They are renovating the rooms but we got the older room which was ok. Only complaint was the lack of restaurants and quickmarts. There is a coffee shop and restaurant by the lobby that serves sandwiches and coffee. ON the expensive side. Most of the clientelle seemed to be airline employees or for business. Talked to one airline person who said that she stays here all the time on layovers and are very happy with the accomidations. Take that for what it is worth, Would stay here again if the need arises.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    622
    320
    145
    118
See reviews for
307
456
209
402
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wine County, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

I booked this hotel on the same day I was going to check in and got a great price by naming my own price on Priceline.

I could not have been happier. I checked it around midnight and the staff was friendly and helpful.

My room on the 11th floor was HUGE, I got a standard king size room. Apparently it had been recently renovated and they did a good job, It had a nice LCD tv, a little lounge chair thing in the corner a big comfortable bed with like 8 pillows. It had a desk as well. There was a lot of room to just walk around. The air conditioner (controlled by in-wall thermostat) got super cold in a jiffy, but its okay because there were like 3 comforters. I do believe the carpet was kind of grimy but it was hard to tell because its a brown carpet so I may be mistaken.

The bathroom was actually pretty nice sized. It included nice toiletries like shampoo, facial bar, soap, etc. The shower got hot in a second and had good flow. Also, if you forget bathroom essentials like a toothbrush, comb, razor, etc. they'll provide them complimentary which is nice.

One downside is the internet is expensive, $10.95 for 24 hours, $4.95 for 4 hours or $1.95 for 2 hours although I don't know why the 4 hours costs MORE? Why not just do the 2 hours twice which equals $3.90?

The dining choices are expensive, they have some in-room dining as well as some restaurant, coffee stand and a little sushi stand. I recommend walking the half mile straight shot to Carl's Jr. If you want some inexpensive fast food. Besides other local hotel restaurants, that's pretty much the only dining establishment within walking distance. If you walk a couple hotels down to the Marriott, they have a Starbucks with free WiFi, they also have a FedEx Office location in case that comes in handy.

Back to the Crowne Plaza, they have a pool, fitness center and Sauna, all of which are free to access with your stay which is pretty cool.

It is right near the airport so you can hear planes taking off and landing but it wasn't overbearing. If it is, the room has a bag that comes with earplugs.

Overall a great experience for an overnight stay near LAX. They offer late check-out (2pm) for free and have a 24 hour shuttle which is nice.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

They call it a "sweet dreams" gift bag, and it's dispayed proudly on the bed when you enter the room: Lavender pillow spray, eye shades and earplugs. It's managements artful way of saying "Yeah, this place is a noisy dive, deal with it!"

This place is tired, underloved, loud, smelly....you name it. It should be downgraded on priceline and hotwire....it is NOT a 3.5 star establisment!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
460 helpful votes 460 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Pros- near airport, good in-room coffee, the drape clip, Subway restaurant nearby.
Cons - 6th floor room stunk of ages old cigarette smoke right down to the bedding and pillows (they include a bottle Fabrezze.) Broken coffee pot, damaged furniture, rusty plumbing fixtures, had to run bath for 15 minutes before water got hot, airplane noise all the time (they include earplugs), old TV.

Note: Returned two weeks later, asked for a clean smelling room, got a room on other side on third floor and it was better.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

I stay in about 150 hotels a year and this one had just about the filthiest rooms I've ever seen. There just aren't enough places to put your stuff so that nothing touches the floor. And the stains and smells in the room made us wonder what else was in there, so it was difficult to cozy up and get a good night's sleep. Alas, it was just too late at night with an early departure to change hotels. The staff at check-in and check-out was very pleasant and service was quick, though. Renovate those rooms and this will probably be a nice hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
argentina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

had a problem with my reservation, and there was no one to help me, they jusst kept looking at the computer while talking to me. so i complained with the manager, such a horrible person, instead of apologizing for how rude his personnal had been, he just said"we don't compensate our clients if they are mistreated". we never asked for a compensation, all we wanted was someone to traet us as clients who chose to pay that specifical hotel and were just wanting to be treated as we deserved!
we travelled for 20 days all around california and nevada, not once were we so badly treated in any hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

I make 4 overnight trips a year to Southern California and decided to try this hotel when I received a discounted rate. My mistake. The carpet was filthy, the window had probably never been cleaned, and the room was located next to the housekeeping station (or at least it sounded like that at midnight and 2am). The bed was actually pretty comfortable, so it was even more frustrating that I was woken up by the housekeeping staff in the middle of the night. This was my first and last viist - if this is how 'friends and family' are treated, I'd hate to see how a guest is treated.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel

Address: 5985 W. Century Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#54 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 613
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Hotel - Los Angeles International Airport (LAX)! Our 613 room, full- service hotel is the gateway to Los Angeles. Located less than one mile from the LAX terminals, with 24-hour complimentary shuttle service to and from LAX! While only steps away from LAX, the Crowne Plaza Hotel- Los Angeles International Airport is convenient to all major southern California area attractions, including Hollywood, Disneyland, Universal Studios and The Los Angeles Convention Center. Immediate access to the I-405 and I-105 freeways and the beach communities of Marina Del Rey, Santa Monica, Venice Beach, Manhattan Beach and Redondo Beach are just minutes away! Also, the shopping and business districts of El Segundo, Culver City and Westchester are all within 3 miles!The Crowne Plaza - Los Angeles International Airport has 14,000 sq feet of flexible space, with an emphasis on service and convenience. Our experienced Crowne Meetings Director and Certified Wedding Consultant hold the highest recognition of Certified Meeting Professional, CMP, and will ensure your meeting, social event or wedding is a complete success. After a long day of business meetings or sight seeing you will enjoy our Sleep Advantage program, which includes premium bedding, sleep amenities, guaranteed wake- up calls and designated quiet zones!Come stay and play with us in Los Angeles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles
Los Angeles Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Lax

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.