We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wee hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Rock Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Rock Inn to your Saves list
Sea Rock Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   14032 S. Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90247 (Harbor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
londonderry
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great wee hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Great wee hotel.Good sized rooms, although a little shabby,but that was acceptable considering how cheap the rooms were. Location was excellent, five minutes from the airport, staff are very friendly and helpful. Free parking available. All in all a good, basic, no frills hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    31
    14
    6
    15
See reviews for
19
26
16
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I stayed on September 2013.
The staff was super nice and friendly, the room was big and comfortable. not the cleanest i've ever been to but was not dirty either.

Great location if you have a car (2 minutes driving from LAX)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

booked this the morning we was going to stay as the hotel we had previously stayed at was fully booked. stayed a Friday night as we were flying home at the Saturday. for a Friday night in la this is good value but I would try somewhere else if I was in LA again. guy on reception was really friendly and helpful booked us in to 2 queens which we had only booked a king room. room was big and quite clean. bedding wasn't the greatest. tv wasn't working properly so rang reception and they came and fixed it. was a strange problem as when we changed the tv to a certain channel the tv kept switching off. anyway as it was late we decided to drive out which they were quite a few fast food outlets but they all closed at 9pm which we found strange. we ended up at subway which is open 24 hours but has all night security. didn't walk around as we were flying out the next morning but I would stay in a different area but for the price it was ok.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked this hotel after ready reviews on Trip Advisor (for a budget) and we thought it was great!
Reading some other reviews people have commented on it being a bit 'shady' & I won't disagree.. But you certainly don't feel unsafe there!

The staff were extremely friendly & helpful, we had a swim in the pool which was really nice. The room was 'acceptable' it was a little smelly & we could not figure out how to put the air con on.. But that's what you get with budget accommodation!

The location is pretty good, we rented a car (highly recommended if you have the guts to drive on the LA roads!!) so it was easy to get around for us.

All in all, we'd return to the hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales,UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Could not wait to get out of this hotel! Staff are friendly, that's the only good thing I can say about this hotel. Felt very vulnerable and afraid during our stay, it seems not only are there hotel guests staying here, but some very dodgy residents! Not the cleanest hotel I've ever been to,quite grubby. There were a few restaurants within walking distance, but my advice is, don't walk anywhere near this hotel. Scary!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Need a rental car as it is about 20 minuets from Venice Beach, area is a bit rough but the hotel/motel is surrouned by a wall, small pool but it is a pool. Worth paying for the upgrade, I had a very large room, King bed and it was old but very clean. Friendly staff, parking included.

Room Tip: Book Direct, use Google Earth
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at the Sea Rock Inn for one night during a long trip in the US. We basically found what we expected, a decent place to spend one night. Beds were clean and comfortable, the bathroom needed a good makeup (the bathtub was obviously quite old) and the room's light system needed stronger bulbs. The price was adequate to the room. Free coffee at any time. I'm not an expert of LA so I cannot really say much about the location, I just can say that from there was easy to reach both the highway and the city centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Rock Inn

Address: 14032 S. Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90247
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Rock Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are about 9 miles from Downtown LA, Convention Center and Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). Famous tourist attractions of Los Angeles like Santa Monica, Hollywood, Venice Beach, Long Beach (Queen Mary Ship and Long Beach Conventio Center), near-by beaches like Manhattan, Redondo and Hermosa Beaches, Universal Studios and Disneyland are easily reachable from our location. We are a budget hotel and offer affordable, clean, spacious and well-maintained guest rooms for Daily and Weekly rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sea Rock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Rock Hotel Gardena
Sea Rock Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Rock Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.