We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Thai food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tuk Tuk Thai Cafe

Tuk Tuk Thai Cafe
8875 W Pico Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90035 (Westside)
(310) 860-1872
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,517 of 8,655 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Thai
Neighborhood: Westside
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Westside
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We went there on a sun. Evening parked right in front of the place. Walked in and were waited on right away. Pad Thai with shrimp
was the best I ever had.
Will go back again very nice menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy N, owner at Tuk Tuk Thai Cafe, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
The best you've ever had?! That's quite the compliment. I can't thank you enough for taking the time to come and say that. It means a lot to hear from fans, especially ones that have such incredible things to say. We can't wait to see you again next time; we will be aiming to make the experience even better!

Cheers,
Katy, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    8
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Noodles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Wow. The crab noodles are sooo good. I was a little upset they charge 18% for the Groupon special, so unfair. Great noodles!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy N, owner at Tuk Tuk Thai Cafe, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hey, Melanie. It's been a long time since your visit; we are now working hard to reach out and respond to the communication we have been getting online, hence the late response.

I am glad the Groupon deal's surcharge didn't outweigh your love of the food that wowed you. Sometimes with these online deal services, there are extras tacked on to make it worthwhile for us as a business. We hope that the deal provided a great value either way. Come back and see us for some more of those crab noodles sometime soon!

All the best,
Katy, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely little restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised with Tuk Tuk when we visited relatively late on a Friday night. It wasn't all that busy and they had seated the few couples that were in pretty far apart from each other so it felt private.
The service was perfect, not overbearing, but attentive. We had a voucher to use and they took it from our table without any fuss (my experience of using that sort of thing is usually there is some sort of confusion or hassle) and the rest of the service was great.
We were happy with everything that we ordered (spring rolls, deep fried tofu, chicken pad thai and red curry with tofu) and the cocktails were good too. The tofu could have had a bit more bite to it in my opinion, but that's probably down to personal taste.
The ambiance was also great. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place or go there again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy N, owner at Tuk Tuk Thai Cafe, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for coming online to share your great experience! It means a lot to us to hear feedback from our friends about how we're doing. It helps us improve but also lets us know what we're doing right, too.

You really hit all the bases in your review: service, food, and atmosphere. I'm glad we were up to snuff in all of those categories; I don't even know where to begin thanking you, but I digress!

I really appreciate you coming in and being part of the family. We hope to see you again soon for another special occasion!

Best,
Katy, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good, serviceable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

New owners, not quite as good as the old ones. Clean food, a few very good dishes but not that inventive. Bangkok west in Santa Monica is better. But Tuk Tuk is WAY better than Natalie Thai. Tuk Tuk has a very good pad thai & spicy shrimp soup and spicy chicken larb

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy N, owner at Tuk Tuk Thai Cafe, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Melinda, we're glad you enjoyed our food even though you didn't see it as all that unique. We want to serve authentic Thai with our own little twist. As long as it's tasty and fresh to you, that's what matters to us! Hope to see you again soon; I'm confident you'll find a dish that impresses you.

All the best,
Katy, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The sad decline of Tuk Tuk”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

We loved this place when we first discovered it. Good food, nice ambiance, etc. We live fairly close and Tuk Tuk became one of our regular take out places for over a year. And we were happy. Especially with the Siamese spiced crispy chicken wings.

Then strange things started happening in the last 2 months. We would call in an order and what received was different. Sometimes the wrong item, or our Siamese spiced crispy chicken wings, well, had no sesame anymore. OK, the occasional error on take out happens. But the time before last things were missing, yet we were still charged for it. Bummer factor was increased substantially.

And then came the last order that has compelled me to write this review.

We ordered two Siamese spiced crispy chicken wings and asked that this time they please include the seasame, and were told "They don't come with sesame" Er, what? "But they are called Siamese spiced crispy chicken wings!" "No, we don't put sesame on wings." Now we've ordered it at least two dozen times in the last year and, yes, they had sesame until a month ago.

Fine. Whatever.

We pick up the order and get home to discover...
1. Sure enough there is no sesame on the chicken.
2. Each box (we ordered two orders) has 4 small pieces lost and alone at the bottom of the take-out box, yet we paid for two full orders.
3. The Charcoal Sirloin we ordered, and paid for is not in the bag.
4. No chopsticks, no napkins, etc.

Bummer factor through the roof.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuk Tuk Thai Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Tuk Tuk Thai Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuk Tuk Thai Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.