We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Woodland Hills Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Woodland Hills Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Woodland Hills Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21830 Ventura Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 91364 (South San Fernando Valley)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #67 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Picked this because it was convenient off the 101 and close to our relatives' place.
At only $99, how bad can it be, right? Yikes.
OK, the good.... good location, less than a minute from 101 exit 27B, Starbucks, deli, supermarket nearby, free WiFi, new 42" LG LCD TV. The bad? How about the rooms? OMG. Small and spartan. Love the sink right inside the door. LOL. Heat/AC unit low fan noise level almost as loud as a jet engine. Used our coats as blankets as hotel's wafer thin blanket provides no warmth. Other than that, loved the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Woodland Hills Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hello San Francisco traveler. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the amenities that our rooms offer, as well as the location being surrounded by many good eateries. We strive to have simple and clean rooms.

As for the air conditioning noise, I apologize. We have undergone an engine cleaning process to our air conditioning units. We use newer technology from one of the largest American made manufacturers of hotel air conditioners, Amana. Being that we are in a warmer part of Los Angeles, we do keep the bedding simple with two blankets. However, we do keep many extras on hand should the need ever arise. I apologize for not exceeding your expectations, and hope that you will consider us again in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    103
    41
    10
    8
See reviews for
78
65
23
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We checked in at 11:30pm after a long drive from San Diego. The front desk staff was very welcoming and quickly finished all the paper work, so we can go to bed soon. Our room was well kept and clean. Location is very convenient. There is a plaza right across the street with two supermarkets, a drug store, Starbucks and a few restaurants. There are also other restaurants within a few blocks. The inn is close to highway access (behind the plaza) but not next to it, so it's not too noisy. It is less than half an hour away from Universal Studios and about half an hour away from Santa Monica and LAX. We will definitely consider staying here if we return to LA again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I booked two nights, last minute online with Best Western.com The hotel was busy with only king beds remaining. Wanting a room with two queen beds, I booked the avail. room with the king bed and added a request for a change should something come available. Upon arrival Jenn checked us in very smoothly. She acknowledged my request but advised that they were booked solid. After 30 minutes in the room, Jenn called up to say a room with two queen beds had come available for the following night. She suggested that in the morning that we pack up our suitcases and leave them in our room and that their staff would relocate everything to the new room. True to her word, when we returned the next evening from our daily events, not only were our bags in the new room, but the beverages I had left in my room were nicely chilling in the fridge. Does it get any better?
Price- very reasonable. $103 with CAA discount
Service- above average. All of the staff were friendly and helpful.
Cleanliness- above average. nice rooms.
Beds - I found the king bed a little hard for my liking. The queen was so comfortable I checked the label on the mattress so that I could buy one for home.
Location- We visited Santa Monica Pier and 3rd St Promenade. Reasonably close - 20 minute drive on Topango Pkwy
Breakfast- Waffles, boiled eggs, pastry, yogurt, cereal. Fresh and clean breakfast area

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago,Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Great Location, right off the 101, across the street from jerry's deli, great nite clerk. thank-you. would stay again.

Room Tip: Great location, simply said!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This property is starting to show its age. Great location with shopping and places to eat in walking distance. However, the included breakfast is bare-bones, parking can not accommodate everyone when all rooms are full. Room was clean and quiet on one stay. Another stay gave us a room that smelled funny and needed maintenance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Room was extra clean and beds quite comfortable.... Liked that the vanity was not in the shower/toilet area. Pool area is pretty, and free breakfast was a nice touch. Location was near many restaurants and grocery stores..... The area was safe. The front desk called a little while after check-in to make sure we had everything we needed.... Would stay again for sure = ) Only negative would be that the corridors are on the exterior. All in all, great value for the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder City, Nevada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Have you ever wanted to find something positive about a place but it seems like the negatives outweigh the positive? That is what I feel about this Best Western.
The Good:
*Location is convenient to the West Hills surgical center as well as several shops and restaurants.
*Exterior is very attractive with a New Orleans feel.
*Breakfast is included and room has both a refrigerator and a microwave.
*A nice pool area with classy seating and even tables where you can eat a meal.
THE BAD:
*Layout of the room is strange as you walk in and the sink/vanity is right there. If someone is using the sink the door would hit them unless they move.
*Our bed cover was wrinkled and looked like someone had slept on it. Just felt shabby.
*Older tv style.
The UGLY:
*When we went to the pool there was a plastic soda bottle at the bottom of the deep end along with leaves. There was an oily surface over the entire pool. We called the front desk and they did send someone to use a net to get the items out but again it just felt unclean.
*There is wifi but no signal at the pool and often had to re-enter the password repeatedly.
We probably will pass staying here next time unfortunately.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Woodland Hills Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
I'm sorry that you did not have a great experience at our property. We do not want guests to ever feel that our property is "shabby". Ove the past year, we have been working closely with our pool contractor to make sure we have the right pool cleansers in place. We are also doing a better job in our managing the staffing/shifts of cleaning the pool.

As for the sink at the entry; our interior corridor rooms have the layout whereby the bathroom is to the right, followed by the sink, then opening up to the bedroom area. This is a typical floorplan of an interior corridor room, however being that our vanity aea is just outside the shower area, it may be something that is not as common. The convenience of someone putting on their make-up, while another person is in the shower is why we have the vanity outsde of the shower/restroom area. I believe that we have done a better job in removing the "shabby" feeling out, and do hope that you would give us another shot. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Woodland Hills Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Woodland Hills Inn

Address: 21830 Ventura Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 91364
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > South San Fernando Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#49 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#53 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Woodland Hills Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this newly renovated Mediterranean-style Best Western hotel ideally situated in beautiful Woodland Hills. The Best Western Woodland Hills Inn is conveniently located in Woodland Hills on California's famous Ventura Boulevard with access to Malibu Beach, Universal Studios and the Warner Center business area. Hotel guests will appreciate the variety of premier dining and shopping options within walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Woodland Hills Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Woodland Hills Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Woodland Hills Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.