We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, no Frills” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Woodland Hills Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Woodland Hills Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Woodland Hills Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21830 Ventura Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 91364 (South San Fernando Valley)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #64 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good value, no Frills”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This property is starting to show its age. Great location with shopping and places to eat in walking distance. However, the included breakfast is bare-bones, parking can not accommodate everyone when all rooms are full. Room was clean and quiet on one stay. Another stay gave us a room that smelled funny and needed maintenance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    88
    35
    9
    8
See reviews for
67
58
20
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tracy, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Room was extra clean and beds quite comfortable.... Liked that the vanity was not in the shower/toilet area. Pool area is pretty, and free breakfast was a nice touch. Location was near many restaurants and grocery stores..... The area was safe. The front desk called a little while after check-in to make sure we had everything we needed.... Would stay again for sure = ) Only negative would be that the corridors are on the exterior. All in all, great value for the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder City, Nevada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Have you ever wanted to find something positive about a place but it seems like the negatives outweigh the positive? That is what I feel about this Best Western.
The Good:
*Location is convenient to the West Hills surgical center as well as several shops and restaurants.
*Exterior is very attractive with a New Orleans feel.
*Breakfast is included and room has both a refrigerator and a microwave.
*A nice pool area with classy seating and even tables where you can eat a meal.
THE BAD:
*Layout of the room is strange as you walk in and the sink/vanity is right there. If someone is using the sink the door would hit them unless they move.
*Our bed cover was wrinkled and looked like someone had slept on it. Just felt shabby.
*Older tv style.
The UGLY:
*When we went to the pool there was a plastic soda bottle at the bottom of the deep end along with leaves. There was an oily surface over the entire pool. We called the front desk and they did send someone to use a net to get the items out but again it just felt unclean.
*There is wifi but no signal at the pool and often had to re-enter the password repeatedly.
We probably will pass staying here next time unfortunately.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Woodland Hills Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
I'm sorry that you did not have a great experience at our property. We do not want guests to ever feel that our property is "shabby". Ove the past year, we have been working closely with our pool contractor to make sure we have the right pool cleansers in place. We are also doing a better job in our managing the staffing/shifts of cleaning the pool.

As for the sink at the entry; our interior corridor rooms have the layout whereby the bathroom is to the right, followed by the sink, then opening up to the bedroom area. This is a typical floorplan of an interior corridor room, however being that our vanity aea is just outside the shower area, it may be something that is not as common. The convenience of someone putting on their make-up, while another person is in the shower is why we have the vanity outsde of the shower/restroom area. I believe that we have done a better job in removing the "shabby" feeling out, and do hope that you would give us another shot. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stay: 2 nights
Room: 230 (2 queen beds)

Pro:
- Friendly staff
- Free Wifi
- Room was pretty quite
- Big and clean room
- Swimming Pool
- Close to supermarket
- Simple continental breakfast
- Good value for money especially that close to LA

Con:
- n/a

In conclusion, I would recommend this hotel and come back if I will stay in LA again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

My 2 children and I stayed here a week. The staff was very pleasant and helpful! The rooms were comfortable and quiet. There were lots of places within walking distances. There is a
Ralph's grocery store right across the street which was nice. The only thing I thought could be improved on was the breakfast. It ends too early and the food offered is very basic with not a lot of healthy options. Overall, though, I would definitely come back again and recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I have just returned from an 8 days stay at this Best Western. I arrived at nighttime and was surprised to find that it is, in fact, a 2-story motel rather than an hotel; with each door opening onto the car park rather than inside a building. I either missed this information or they don't make it clear in their adverts. If the motel had been situated in a less solubrious area I would have been extremely worried, however, Woodland Hills is a safe residential area and at no time was I anxious even when returning on my own late at night. Despite the motel being full almost every night the guests were extremely quiet when parking their cars and the walls must have good soundproofing as I never heard any noise coming from next door or from the rooms above mine.The room and bed were comfortable although a little drab in colour - there was a drip coffee machine, ironing board and iron, microwave, fridge and TV (with a good selection of channels). Although there was no electric kettle if you wanted to make tea you could go to the reception office (at the entrance of the motel) where there was 24 hour hot water machine, cups and milk etc. Opposite the motel - set well off the main road - is Ralphs ( a large super-market), Rite-Aid, a very good deli-restaurant and a 'Coffee Bean' cafe. Topanga shopping canyon is about a 10 minute drive away.

The Best Western staff were extremely helpful, friendly and efficient. I used Prime Time shuttle service to get to and from LAX airport and the ride took between 45 minutes and 1 hour.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

The hotel has big rooms (2 beds + living room with small kitchen). Good location and delicious breakfast. It is high recommended

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Woodland Hills Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Woodland Hills Inn

Address: 21830 Ventura Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 91364
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > South San Fernando Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#34 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#67 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Woodland Hills Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this newly renovated Mediterranean-style Best Western hotel ideally situated in beautiful Woodland Hills. The Best Western Woodland Hills Inn is conveniently located in Woodland Hills on California's famous Ventura Boulevard with access to Malibu Beach, Universal Studios and the Warner Center business area. Hotel guests will appreciate the variety of premier dining and shopping options within walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Woodland Hills Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Woodland Hills Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Woodland Hills Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.