We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not do it again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Azul Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Azul Inn to your Saves list
Azul Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   10740 Santa Monica Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90025 (Formerly Travelodge) (Westside)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Would not do it again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Although the bed was comfortable and clean, it was not what I expected from reading their description of their hotel. The rooms for the most part faced a busy street and was somewhat noisy even into the night. There is no elevator and the steps to the second floor are very sharp and steep and dangerous in my opinion especially for those that might have muscle or joint problems esp. having to lug the suitcases up the stairs. The ad says climate controlled which in most hotels means that the air conditioning is thermostatically controlled but this is not. Its the old fashion room noisy air conditioner under the window. The internet they provide for you is slow and I could not even get Southwest Early boarding pass from it. The continental breakfast they provide is very limited to rolls and cereal and pancakes that basically you make yourself. The staff was not very friendly or helpful either day or night. There is parking as it says but a lot of the customers think that pulling in and taking up two places is ok and then you have to report them and whether its taken care of not is questionable. The last thing was I found a cockroach in the bathroom at night which I had to chase to kill and when there is one, you know the rest I think, there are more. I reported it and they said they would spray my room the next day. Whether they did or not, is unknown but I did not see another but it was unsettling. Granted it is an old building that was I believe at one time Travel lodge so don't expect anything fancy.. There is nothing to do within walking distance not even a 7 11. Westwood Blvd. is about a ten minute walk and not much at that end of it. Closet is ok, There are dressers for clothes, a hairdryer and iron and board. Room itself is adequate but sorry I would not stay there again. The only nice part was the housekeepers did an adequate job of cleaning and making the bed with comfortable sheets and no bed bugs, believe me I have checked. If you have no problems with steep steps and don't care about the rest, cost is reasonable but you get what you pay for so keep it in mind.

Room Tip: No fitness center but they have an adequate pool. If you do stay, try and get a room towards the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Azul Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hi Toby,

Thank you for your honest reply, I am not sure on how to respond to all your comments, so I will have to select a few. I can only assume that all the ground floor rooms were all ready occupied upon your arrival, or I am sure the front desk could have easily moved your room upon request. Regarding breakfast, we just installed a state of the art pancake machine that produces 2 fresh hot pancakes in 45 seconds at the push of a button, it was added to expand our breakfast offerings to our clientele. There is a complimentary business center in the lobby with a digital printer, that is used daily by the guest to print directions, maps and boarding passes, also the front desk could have also assisted with your printing needs. As far as the reported pest in your room, we did spot treat your room, and then reported it to our Pest Control Company to properly treat both your room and surrounding areas, we take a very proactive stance in maintaining a clean facility, as you stated in your comments. I am truly sorry that no one was available to assist with your luggage upon arrival. We do offer assistance during normal business hours, again upon request. I am sorry we did not exceed your expectations, we will strive in the future to see that all request in advance for a room type or location are properly responded too, on a first come first serve basis in all fairness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    76
    27
    12
    12
See reviews for
40
38
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

This is my second time at the Azul, and everything was exactly the same which is a good thing! Clean room, bed more comfortable than my own, and no noise. Wide screen TV and cable, free wifi, and computer in the lobby, with printer. The bathroom was nice and good closet space. I really enjoyed my stay, they also serve cereal, pancakes, bagles/pasteries and very good coffee and tea selection. The location is really convenient, for the price it cant get any better.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Very nice and clean place to stay, nice and modern room, beats most of the four to five star places I've stayed in the past, located well, easy to find, good breakfast and excellent value for money. Good parking facilities and free Wi-Fi as well. Well worth the stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Azul Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank You, for the great review. We appreciate it when a guest takes the time to write one. Our intentions are to provide a great place to stay, at affordable rates, in a central location that many travelers find ideal, such as yourself, I hope that next time you are in LA that you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

If you expect beauty and luxury, this is not your hotel. It is, however, a great inn in a perfect location. We selected this hotel because we were hellbent on 'doing LA' without renting a car. It was perfect! You can access the bus, which will take you to all the great areas (Santa Monica, West Hollywood, Venice beach and touristy areas--Hollywood, Rodeo Drive, etc.) quite easily. It's an easy cab ride from the airport. The staff is friendly and there is a sugar-laden continental breakfast included in your stay. The room was much nicer than expected for the price. Beds were comfy. All was clean. I will stay here every time I visit LA because there is no reason to pay more unless you intend to spend your time hanging out at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Azul Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hi Tamika,
I am glad that you found our location to be perfect for your needs. YES, we are centrally located to all of LA's points of interest as you pointed out. Thank you for realizing that even without the glitz and glamour, we do provide a clean place to stay while in LA. Offering all the amenities of higher priced properties, at an economical price, we hope to see you again soon upon your return to Los Angeles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Pros: Nice decor, excellent large flat-screen TV, good location, good pricing with advance booking, free wifi.
Cons: On a busy street (Santa Monica Blvd) so it was somewhat noisy, the carpeting in our unit looked clean but my socks were filthy after a couple of hours, barely adequate parking, no fan in bathroom made for a damp feeling in the room I was just not able to eliminate (even with the A/C running continuously), outdated online booking interface, SLOW wifi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Spent one night and found the value quite good. The rooms are well kept and bed was very comfortable. The outside appearance is not so great, but don't let if fool you. Hotel is within walking distance of a number of very casual restaurants.

Room Tip: Try to get a room directly behind office as it blocks all street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Azul Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, I am glad you found the location convenient for all your needs, and the room was to your liking. It is honest, sincere reviews such as yours that makes it worth the effort to provide a clean, comfortable stay while visiting LA for both you and your fellow travelers. Please travel safe, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Azul Inn ended up being a great place to stay. The location was great and the beds were the most comfortable I've ever slept in. I hated waking up! It does looks shady from the outside but the rooms inside are nice and clean. Worth the price.

Room Tip: Choose a room off Santa Monica Blvd. so you get less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Azul Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Inn

Address: 10740 Santa Monica Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90025 (Formerly Travelodge)
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Azul Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Azul Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azul Hotel Los Angeles
Travelodge Los Angeles
Los Angeles Travelodge
Los Angeles Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azul Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.