We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lock Your Valuables In Your Car” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Azul Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Azul Inn to your Saves list
Azul Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   10740 Santa Monica Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90025 (Formerly Travelodge) (Westside)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lock Your Valuables In Your Car”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

We chose Azul for its proximity to a close friend's wedding. At first, we didn't want to judge Azul Inn by its cover. The room seemed clean and the person at the front desk was friendly. It wasn't until we arrived back after the wedding that we were very unpleasantly surprised.

The first thing we noticed was that both our luggages were unzipped. Not only unzipped but all compartments inside were unzipped as well. After logging a complaint to the front desk and checking our valuables we got ready for bed only to notice the bathroom hadn't even been cleaned. The towels were still originally where we left them and there was still a disgusing bloodstain on the shower curtain (attached pic to follow).

Unfortunately since we're here for a wedding we still have a night with the Azul Inn however we feel so violated that not only did we tell the front desk we'd be writing a negative review online but we're going to lock all of our belongings in the car tomorrow when we leave.

It's very unfortunate that the safe in the room is the only thing that made me feel safe.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    70
    26
    9
    12
See reviews for
35
35
15
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at azul inn with a group of friends for our visit in LA. It has a convenient location if you have a car, the parking area is free and we always had a place everynight. It has a small pool which can be used for sunbathing but we didnt used it.
The rooms are really nicely decorated, we have stayed at the two queen bed room and it was quite spacey. Bathroom is also new and nice although a bit small. There were no bedbugs as mentioned like the other travellers. Thanks that I didnt read the comments about the bedbugs before we went.
For the breakfast, there wasnt much choise, but it was the best in our entire trip. There was coffee, decaf, variety of tea choises, orange and apple juices, corn flakes, bagels, cinnamon rolls, muffins, cream cheese, jam, apple and banana.
People were nice and helpful.
Price is a bit high for this kind of motel, it was $131, for two double bedroom. But it was nice and clean and at a good location for traveling around LA.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

. We arrived to this motel and the first thingisaw was the beautiful blue colour. I loved the look outside of he motel and i thought it was quite cozy. We checked in but i saw there was no elevator so we had to carry all of our 3 heacy bags up to the second floor. It was a pain but hey, what can you do about it. I walked in the room and thought. Oh not too bad. There was free wifi so i went straight online and searched for some reviewes of this place. And i saw some priblems with bedbugs. I was mortified. So i searched the who,e room and he wholebed again and again. I had a very hard tine sleeping the first night and i slept in a longr sleeved shirst and oans. And i wore socks and gloves and a scarf. Yes i all was that mortified. I slept in full gear for all 3 nights. And thank god i did not get bitten. The breakfeast was okay. All of the eats where always taken before we got downstairs so we had to eat standing up. This place was fairly clean, no big pumbing problems, and the staff was okay. Overall this motel provided the basi needs. A bed. We where out most of the time so the only thing we needed was to ge sime rest. The noise...... It was not so bad. I see it more like a alarm clock. I would usually hear it at about 7 or 8. And ofcourse the free parking was awesome. We always had a space. Nice room nice food and nice motel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a hidden gem. From the outside it looks gray and ordinary, resembles apartments. Beyond the door, awaits beautifully remodeled interior, big fluffy bed, large screen tv, and simple comfort. Bathroom small but slightly larger than the European, more counter space. The desk staff is friendly helpful. Parking is free, but space is limited. The desk person will allow you to park in front and they will move the car when space is available. I would have given five stars,but I had issues with slightly noisy refrigerator, also they forgot my wake up call. Continental breakfast is nice, three cereal choices, bagels/croissants, selection of teas and coffee, although cups should be larger. Overall great experience, will come again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Azul Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Angie,
Thank you for your thoughtful and honest review. I am glad that once again we were able to provide you with a great stay. We are constantly striving to maintain and improve our offerings and services, like the addition of our new pancake machine. We really appreciate the return patronage that you keep providing, we look forward to seeing you again real soon. Travel Safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed at the Azul Inn twice during our visit to Los Angeles as it was close to the activities we had planned. The first stay we were right on the santa Monica blvd side and it was so loud all throughout the day and night, which made it next to impossible to sleep!!
The price was pretty steep for what you get, I would expect a motel like this to charge around $100 a night, as the noise is really loud from the road, and the walls are pretty thin... We could hear the room next door talking.
The second stay we were out the back of the motel and it was better noise wise at night time, until 6am in the morning when the diggers behind the motel at a construction site started up and did not stop until later on...
The front desk staff were helpful when we asked questions, as we are from NZ we did not know where anything was, and we were here over 4th of July, so they gave us some suggestions on where to go, and were always helpful with where to eat and ordering taxis...
Would stay again as we know the area now, but would hope that the price drops a bit...

Room Tip: Get a room away from Santa Monica blvd, out the back is best!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

OK ! I first booked a Kimpton hotel few blocks away from this hotel and then changed it !Anyway, I am not comparing this one to a Kimpton hotel, but overall it was a good stay.
The room is clean and updated. The free parking is a HUGE plus, cause we had two cars. The location is great. Can't be better for me.
I just grabbed a cup of tea from the breakfast bar, but it was usual breakfast. It is interesting that somebody said he skipped it because it wasn't organic !! I am not sure even Ritz-Carlton offers organic food for free !
The lobby is not as clean as the room and has a strange smell. Also the front-desk had problem with communication.
If you want to be in the area and don't want to spend a lot of money book this motel. It is not disappointing at all !

Room Tip: Hotels at the back of the hotel should be more quiet !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Great location in the heart of Westwood, close to everything, yet not too close to the crowd. A nice little motel, the decor is quite tastefully done and could easily pass for some 3.5 star chains I stayed. HD flat panel TV, Free parking, free breakfast, free internet, though not really usable. They do give out WiFi password generously, but the connection is so bad that I only checked email once and then gave up completely. We also spent our last night without hot water, so no shower. The linen also feels thin and cheap. Overall, decent stay for the price (booked it during a promotion for $90/night), but not the $129 standard rate as posted on their website.

Room Tip: Avoid the ones facing Santa Monica blvd due to the noise, but they do have a nice view of the Mormon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Azul Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Inn

Address: 10740 Santa Monica Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90025 (Formerly Travelodge)
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Azul Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Azul Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azul Hotel Los Angeles
Travelodge Los Angeles
Los Angeles Travelodge
Los Angeles Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azul Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.