We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, for a great price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel to your Saves list
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8018 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Location, for a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel was and old building but in good conditions.
The beds were very comfortable and always clean.
The staff very friendly and the pool in perfect conditions.
The locations was Brilliant, walking distance from the Farmers Market and The Grove
Incredible places.
And the Swingers the dinner beside the hotel was Delicious!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    101
    55
    21
    16
See reviews for
56
56
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Location is great for short trips to LA when one wants to sightsee as is very central and walking distance to farmers market and grove. Property and rooms are kept very clean but building itself needs updating. Rooms and bathrooms are just plain old and rundown a bit. For price and location they should invest some money and update the hotel but suppose wouldnt be priced the same. Pool was nice and lucky they had some open parking as our roofbox wouldnt fit the underground.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Our room was standard and a little dated, but the low price smack in the middle of LA was more than enough compensatoin. The unheated pool was really clean and mostly untouched. The free parking is in a tiny underground lot, so be aware if you are driving an full sized car or an SUV. We walked to the farmers market and the Grove, and a >5 min drive to the Walk of Fame, Beverly Center, Highland Shopping Center, et. al. Swingers diner is open all night and serves great eats via snarly waitresses. The place was clean inside and out, and felt very safe. The only draw back is that the motel is located on a corner, so often locals would cut through the pool ares to get to the bus stop on the other side, but even this added to the authentic feel of the place. Super affordable, big TV, big beds, clean and safe with a pool to boot. We will definately return.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are said to be larger and have kitchnettes, and all rooms include a mini-fridge and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a terrible place. Unclean rooms that smell of mold and mildew. After stepping into the room I knew I couldn't sleep in this place so left immediately. If the the room was bad the manager was worse refusing to re-emburse me my $150.00- Filthy theives- Literally!!!! That is the most accurate review I can give!!!!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A standard motor hotel with a bit of nostalgia in the retro design and colors. Reasonably priced for LA and well located for visitors wanting to covers all of what the greater LA area has to offer. Just around the corner is the Farmer's Market with lots of food stalls to cover breakfast, lunch and dinner. Also the 'diner' on the site offers plenty of variety for meals all day.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms with windows on Beverly Boulevard which has plenty of noisy traffic starting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Came at the hotel after a 16 hour flight. The room itself was really good! Clean, big tv, big beds (we had two queen beds) and a bathroom that looked like a spa! The beds was really comfortable and we had 3 different pillows. The frontier was really helpfull at all time (directions to universal, bus lines etc). It was a lovely pool outside that where clean and a really good diner right next door.
Yes, there are always some people outside screaming, talking etc but what do you expect when you are in west Hollywood? I heard them, but nothing to complain about. All good words for this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

The Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel is a retro hotel in West Hollywood that has clearly been updated to the benefit of its guests. Our double room on the third floor was freshly painted and furnished with a microwave and small refrigerator. The bathroom had been updated with a new long granite counter and a large mist-style shower. (That shower was awesome!). A nice little touch were the framed photos of Jean Harlow and Clark Gable - perfection! We were traveling with an 8-year-old who loved to take a dip in the pool at the end of our sight-seeing day. The beds were comfortable. The a/c in the room was a little on the loud side but probably helped serve as a noice canceller itself because we rarely heard any noise outside our room.

The staff at the hotel are very professional and helpful. When we returned late one night exhausted after a day at Disneyland and found no parking spaces, the night attendant allowed us to pull the car into the courtyard. As first-timers in LA, we needed directions on getting to the highway and the manager helped us without hesitation. Overall we were very pleased with the professionalism of the staff.

Finally, I highly recommend Swingers diner which is adjacent to the hotel. We ate a few breakfasts there and found the food to be delicious (don't go if in a hurry, though, the service is a little on the slow side).

The Beverly Laurel provided us with a comfortable and charming place to stay. It is not fancy but met all of our needs. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel

Address: 8018 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Beverly Laurel Motor
Beverly Laurel Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.