We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good times at venice beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Venice Beach Suites & Hotel

Save Saved
You added Venice Beach Suites & Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1305 Ocean Front Walk, Los Angeles, CA 90291 (Westside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free WI-FI
Ranked #37 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“good times at venice beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Good location on the beach front in the middle of a VERY lively places ,hotel had all you need even boogie boards & buckets & spades too! Also the staff were friendly & very helpful too ! Santa Monica is walking distance to bubba Gump is great on the pier if you like Prawns (shrimps!) too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    90
    31
    17
    21
See reviews for
41
127
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights. We didn't expect anything fancy as we had tried to find a cheap but clean hotel in the LA area, but we were pleasantly surprised! Our room was little but very clean and has everything we needed (bathroom, cooktop, microwave, coffee pot etc). All of the staff were incredibly helpful with anything we asked for. The hotel is situated right on Venice beach, which is an amazing place. It is full of colorful and eccentric folk, all of which you find as soon as you step out the door. Although the hotel is not directly in LA the bus stop just down the road is very convenient, and you can catch a bus from there to anywhere really, Hollywood, LA, Santa Monica. Just ask they hotel staff and they'll help you out! The only down side was that the TV was not working while we were there as they were upgrading something, but it wasn't a major problem as we were out most of the time anyway. Overall we were very happy with this hotel and loved the price!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Firstly don't come here expecting some "Hotel Chain" type experience in a clinical location. It's a individual experience set in a bohemian neighbourhood. Come here expecting that and your going to have a great time.

My room 107 which was ground floor at the back of the hotel, was larger than I thought it was going to be. A decent shower room and a small but useful kitchenette with fridge, hob and microwave was also provided.

Memorial Day might have not been the best time for me to have visited as Venice Beach could not have been busier, in fact I'd go so far as to say I've never ever seen it so busy, but I can see through that and recognise what a nice hotel this is. If you want somewhere to stay right on the beach, this should be in your list of choices.

As some people have mentioned, are there some homeless people and drunks walking around outside in the neighbourhood? Yep they are, but you have to realise that this is Venice Beach. Memorial Day weekend was noisy here but I can well imagine that a "normal" day here would be fine, but still you have to realise and accept where you are.

One point of note, the staff could not have been more welcoming and are a major asset to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

First off, the staff have been wonderful and incredibly helpful. The room we stayed in (2nd floor by the back) was larger than we expected. The red brick gives it a real nice feel and the kitchenette is sufficient enough to cook small meals with. We didn't mind not having "a view", as we were out pretty much most of the day and evening. The TV was a little hard to figure out and didn't work half the time, and definitely should be installed by the ceiling. Makes it hard to keep glancing at the screen for a larger amount of time.
The suites are perfect for couples who want to explore the city by public transport. Definitely would recommend getting the Hop on Hop off Bus from Santa Monica, which will bring you all the way up to Beverly Hills and Hollywood. Another plus for those who don't have a car: the cab fare to and from LAX.
My only real concern were the homeless people out front (especially after 7pm) - felt a bit unsafe, but they do tend to keep to themselves and leave you alone. Wouldn't recommend for girls only trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Price: About $200 a night

Pros: Excellent staff, very helpful, friendly and accomodating. The location was fantastic, right on the beach, in about the middle of the boardwalk. Room was clean, and had adequate amenities.

Cons: Bed was pretty uncomfortable, didnt bother me but my husband had a sore back. The TVs were being upgraded and were unavailable during our stay.

Bottom Line: Recommended. Would definitly stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 403 is the best in the place. Top floor, and central view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guiseley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Not an original quote but this place certainly is, quaint but classy and a fabulous location. The red brick walls in the suites feel like you are on. TV set, well equipped kitchenette and an incredible view across the beach. Neighbourhood full of character, and characters, not far to excellent restaurants and I feel safe here, will definitely return. The sign on the elevator reads 'I'm Betsy, over 100 years old so please be gentle with me', pretty much sums up the character of this place!

Room Tip: Side or front the view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I did not expect much and was super surprised at the suite and the view. It has a great lil kitchenette with dishes, silverware, pots etc. Microwave, stove, and mini-fridge work well with the mini-breakfast bar. There is even a small dining table! Hardwood floors :-) You get a nice loveseat, lazyboy, and coffee table blessed by the view of the ocean and Venice boardwalk. The suite had a nice HD TV mounted on the wall but we were too busy people watching and getting tan to take in much TV. The lobby offers an array of boogie boards, surfboards, toys, balls, chairs etc to take out to the beach. WiFi throughout hotel. A computer in the lobby in case your's is home. The staff was wonderful! I would recommend this to a couple that was more interested in what's outside the hotel than in but also appreciative of the little things. Having a nice comfy view so close to the boardwalk and ocean and the kitchen are great!

Room Tip: 201 is a great room for the view. Bring some wine, an opener, some cheese and you're good to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Venice Beach Suites & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice Beach Suites & Hotel

Address: 1305 Ocean Front Walk, Los Angeles, CA 90291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#48 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#64 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Venice Beach Suites & Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel is a historic, boutique property on the world-famous Venice Beach Boardwalk. We are a family-owned and operated hotel that combines classic features with contemporary amenities and we strive to provide excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Venice Beach Suites & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Beach Suites And Hotel
Venice Beach Hotel Los Angeles
Hotel Venice Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.