We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms & fun location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Venice Beach Suites & Hotel

Save Saved
You added Venice Beach Suites & Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1305 Ocean Front Walk, Los Angeles, CA 90291 (Westside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free WI-FI
Ranked #37 of 323 Hotels in Los Angeles
Cardiff by the Sea, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Clean rooms & fun location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here with my family of three. While in NYC, my teenager was intrigued by the Greenwich Village vibe so I decided to plan a couple of nights in Venice Beach. This hotel is in the perfect location right on the boardwalk. In the wee hours, I was able to look out the upstairs hallway window, watching people passing by from the safety of the hotel.
I am so glad we stayed on the boardwalk because during the day the vibe is really cool and fun but early in the morning the reality of lifestyle choices is readily apparent.
We want to go back and explore other neighborhoods in the area not just the boardwalk.
We are all happy with this funky hotel and adore the elevator. Love how the hotel has all sorts of goodies that visitors can borrow. Friendly people and very laid back

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    91
    34
    15
    21
See reviews for
49
135
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This place is a cauldron of characters and you could sit on the walk all day just people watching. The rooms are clean and well kept. It was a little small, but only because we had a pull out bed for my teenaged daughter. There was a little noise on the Friday night but in all we didn't lose any sleep. Would definitely recommend to my family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a good hotel with an amazing location, however, this review won't mean anything without knowing these few things: If you are looking for a quite, relaxing vacation, this hotel and Venice Beach are not for you. This Boardwalk is always crowded with people and the walls in the hotel are thin. If you are looking to just relax in a hotel, this is not the hotel for you. The rooms are small, bed is hard, and they don't clean your room unless you stay over a week. That being said, if you want a different experience in a fun and artistic town, this is the place for you. The hotel is very old, but the staff is very friendly and the location is amazing. We didn't spend much time in our room because there was so much to do all around the town. The old style elevator was really fun, but definately not for consistent use (we took the stairs) so if you are handicaped, I would request a room on the bottom floor. The location is to die for if you love the beach. We were able to park a block down in a lot for $20 a night with no problem finding a spot. You walk out of the hotel and are on the beach! The hotel also has surf boards and beach equipment (even volleyballs) that you can borrow for free!
Overall we enjoyed our stay here. It's no where near a five star hotel, but for the price and the location, it was perfect for us!

Room Tip: Don't waste your money on an oceam view room. You won't spend much time in your room and its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great place to stay and play. All the comforts of home with an amazing view, close to all you need and anything you might have forgot. This boutique hotel provides the family owned atmosphere I find most attractive when traveling. Clean, comfortable, cozy with a little piece of home. Remember this is Venice Beach, if you're a stuffy person, this might not be the right fit for you. From the front desk to the maintenance and housekeeping, the staff is 5 star!

Room Tip: There is a room for everyone, be sure to communicate your needs with the front desk staff to be sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was the second time I stayed at Venice Beach hotel and, once again, I had a great time with no complaints: the hotel was clean and safe, staff very helpful. It's becoming my new home in LA. Even my favorate weidos were roaming on the boardwalk; it felt like a welcoming party

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hadley, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying here about a month ago. Before you arrive you need to be aware that this is not a Holiday Inn or a typical chain hotel. It is a Mom and Pop hotel centrally located on Venice Beach. The room we stayed in was very clean and had a kitchenette that made things very convienient. The only issue we had with the hotel was the lack of parking... but that was resolved by pulling up to the back of the hotel to drop off my wife... who went in to get the parking voucher while I circled the block. Being centrally located on the beach walkway... you will see everything from other tourists... to street people... to 420 doctors... just by walking out the door... Which is locked at night (Each guest has a key). There is enough people traffic that we felt as safe as anywhere else.
If you talk to Matt, the manager, he will happily direct you to any of the local attractions. He had options for discounted bike rentals, etc. He even directed us to the canals of Venice... where we even saw a gondola... (we had no idea they even existed) And you are just a few blocks from a high end shopping or eating district. Thank you for everything Matt.

Room Tip: If you are concerned with noise at night... ask Matt to put you in a room that is on the ally side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel is amazingly located and that is the one good thing going for it. The area outside at night is very rough and the front door did not properly lock, nor did we feel safe in the room at night. I would call it more a hostel than a hotel and I certainly won't be going back. The price of my stay was no cheap and so I assumed it would be a wonderful place, I ended up moving out early and staying at a friend's house in LA - lucky I knew people who lived nearby!

Room Tip: - away from the strip - not on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. We strive to clearly represent ourselves as a 100 year-old, two star hotel. We're not outfitted with resort-level, three- or four-star facilities (gym, restaurant, bar, spa, etc.) but do have standards of service, cleanliness, maintenance and in-room amenities (mini-kitchens, private bathrooms, complimentary daily housekeeping and fast & free Wi-Fi) that would distance our operation from that of a hostel.

As far as pricing goes, our rates shift up based on occupancy. A last minute, same day online booking could cost $30-40 more than the same room type reserved weeks in advance. So, if any price-conscious prospective guests are reading this, book in advance (at least a month out for summer weekend rentals) and call us directly to secure the lowest rate.

And thank you very much for mentioning the front door lock in your review, you and several other in-house guests brought it to our attention and the latch mechanism was fixed promptly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Venice Beach Suites & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice Beach Suites & Hotel

Address: 1305 Ocean Front Walk, Los Angeles, CA 90291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#49 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#71 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Venice Beach Suites & Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel is a historic, boutique property on the world-famous Venice Beach Boardwalk. We are a family-owned and operated hotel that combines classic features with contemporary amenities and we strive to provide excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Venice Beach Suites & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Beach Suites And Hotel
Venice Beach Hotel Los Angeles
Hotel Venice Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.