We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They Lie!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5525 Sepulveda Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 91411 (South San Fernando Valley)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #85 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Waterloo, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“They Lie!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I recently stayed here for one night (was supposed to stay for 3) and it was a horrible experience!

The good: It's cute from the outside and relatively modern inside.

The bad: My sister woke up freaking out because she had bites all over her body after sleeping at this hotel. She found bugs in her bed and mine, in the towels and all along the window sill. We called the front desk who assured us they had just had the room "swept by dogs for bedbugs". We asked for someone to come up and look and tell us what the bugs were, they refused at first then sent a maid. The maid only looked on one corner of the bed and said there are bugs, but the front desk guy said she reported no bugs found anywhere in the room and he said she used "special equipment." When she came up, she had no equipment with her, just her hands and eyes. She assured us they were not bed bugs, but they were definitely bugs. The front desk guy refused to send up the manager, claimed he was sleeping, said he had already left for the day (it was 8am) and wouldn't be coming. I went down to the front desk and said I wanted whoever was in charge and someone came out who said he had just arrived and knew nothing about what was going on, but when I said we have bugs in our room he said the maid said the room had no bugs. I asked for the maid to come out and when she did, she confirmed there were in fact bugs in the room and that she had told the manager and the front desk this. I demanded a refund based on the lies and disgusting bugs and they refused saying they do not issue refunds on prepaid (through Priceline) reservations. I called priceline who spoke to them and got my refund. Seriously a horrible experience!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPCarraigeinn, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Randoname,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay. I was one of the Managers on Duty that day when you called the desk claiming there were bed bugs in your room. As I recall, you came to the desk and the other Manager came out to hear you and apologized for what happened. He also informed you that the room you stayed in was just recently inspected by a professional company, Iso Tech. He showed you the statement with specifics on the dates and room numbers that were inspected by them. Further, he offered to move you to a different room and you declined.
With your permission, we all went to the room and physically inspected the bed, windows, and the bathroom area. We pulled the bed sheets where your sister slept and inspected the seam of the bed and head board and did not see any sign or activity of bed bugs. I would assume if your sister freaked out due to bites all over her body, the bed would be infested, which is not in this case. In your presence, we also inspected the closet area, and did not find any sign or activity of bed bugs or any bugs for that matter. You showed us a picture of a bug in your phone on a white sheet, but could not locate any in the room.
Please be assured that all our rooms are inspected on a regular basis by a professional company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    210
    101
    36
    29
See reviews for
181
130
53
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jacinto, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We had family visiting from norway and we were booking a stay in Los Angeles to visit Universal Studios. We always book Best Western. The hotel staff was exceptional in meeting our needs for comfort. the beds were very comfortable. But the staff made the stay here a great experienc.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Hotel was under construction and thus the room availability was limited. We were not told of this. Took staff over 35 minutes to get us checked into the two adjoining rooms with door between. Ended up with two queen beds versus the King bed we reserved. Other major issue was parking, there was none due to construction at the property and an adjoining Denny's restaurant which also use the hotel parking.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

we were very comfortable. Had to leave later due to flight cancellations - had a late check out with no charge - staff were very helpful. Has a problem with hot water but believe that is due to renovations currently being done.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for an entire week. It was our first visit ever to California and after much search and research we made our final decision to stay here. We are so glad that we did!!!

The hotel was clean, comfortable, affordable, and about 20 mins from all attractions we wanted to see. 24hr Denny's in the parking lot which is very convenient. Friendly staff in the hotel and Denny's.

We will come here again on our next visit. The area is nice, you can feel safe, and is is close to the highways.

The free wifi and free parking are a great plus and part of the reason we will be returning.

My husband and I forgot our toothbrushes and the hotel provided complimentary toothbrushes and toothpaste as we needed until we were able to get our own. :)

If there is one negative I have, and it's a small one, I would say I wish the hotel had numbered parking spots to match the room numbers.

We had a different parking spot every night and some were a little ways away from our room. Nothing ever happened to our car but I wish we could have parked it right out front of our room every day.

We can't wait until our next visit.

Room Tip: Show your room key to the staff at Denny's and you get 10% off your order.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paso robles, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

if youre a smoker, and are hard of hearing or sleep thru anything, then this hotel is for you! oh and if you don't expect breakfast or a fitness room... but for me, it was not a pleasant experience =/

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPCarraigeinn, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Carri V,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your recent stay. Please know that the hotel has a Fitness Room, located across the Lobby. Breakfast is available at Denny’s, which offers a 10% discount to hotel guests, and within walking distance.

We sincerely hope that you will visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilJerz
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed here with some friends for a quick day trip from Vegas. I did not know what to expect, but the hotel was pretty nice. Got it a great price..the front desk staff was nice and helpful. The location good as it is located right near the 405 / 101 intersection. Really easily accessible. Most of all, the room was nice and clean. It had a nice flat screen tv and free wifi. We had enough towels and wash clothes for everyone. The bed was comfortable and it was quiet. Plenty of parking and there is a Denny's onsite if you get hungry. It is a good value ($90.00 for the night) I would stay here again if I am in there area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn

Address: 5525 Sepulveda Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 91411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > South San Fernando Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carriage Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Carriage Hotel
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.