We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay at the Best Western L A” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5525 Sepulveda Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 91411 (South San Fernando Valley)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #70 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersBronze level
herts england
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay at the Best Western L A”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We spent a couple of nights here as part of a tour. Very pleasant rooms with good amount of amenities in the rooms which were nicely furnished. The only bugbear was the fairly noisy air conditioning ( which we found was common in the hotels we stayed in during our tour ). The staff on reception were very helpful and pleasant. There is a Dennys diner next door and guests at this hotel get 10% discount if they show there room key. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericybw, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay during recent visit. I am sorry about the noisy air conditioning unit, we will definitely take every measure to assure all units run as quietly a possible. I hope you stop by and stay with us again during your next visit to Los Angeles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    249
    117
    39
    31
See reviews for
223
153
60
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This place backs up to the 405, it faces busy Sepulveda Blvd, and Burbank to the north is also noisy. We asked for a quiet room, and the Sepulveda Blvd was the best they could do. So be aware of the din in the background and how you would handle that. We slept better the second night--I guess we got used to the traffic noise.
That said, the room was comfortable, with a good mattress, fine a/c, nice bathroom, free internet, and a large in-room fridge. There was a safe you could use for an extra $14 a day. The pool, though small, offered a respite. We took a walk in the Sherman Oaks neighborhood directly east, some nicely gardened homes that showed pride of ownership. On Sepulveda Blvd, there is a Target store within walking distance, and a good roasted chicken fast food place. Not really a nice street to walk on, though. The Denneys appeared to be very crowded-- we avoided it.

Room Tip: The quietest rooms seem to be facing the side street on the south. 516-528, 416-428, 316-326.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericybw, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear valued guest,

I am glad you had enjoyed your accommodations at our hotel other than the traffic noise you had to negotiate. The location of the Best Western Plus Carriage Inn is superb with respected to being close to two major freeway systems than can get you to just about any part of Los Angeles in a matter of minutes. However, this does bring us some traffic noise near our location which is why we have installed double pane windows and solid doors to the exterior to minimize the traffic while inside the rooms. We always do attempt to locate our guests in a preferred location to make sure your stay is comfortable and a satisfying one.

We hope to see you again in the near future so we may be able to provide another superior customer service experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was the first hotel we stayed at during our three week trip to California and I don't think we could have chosen any better. We didn't want to stay in LA and Sherman Oakes proved an ideal base to travel back and forth into the city. The hotel it's self is very, clean with plenty of amenities (laundry, swimming pool, parking etc), all the staff we encountered were really friendly and happy to help. The area around the hotel seemed really nice, safe enough to walk around with plenty of restaurants and shops close by. The perfect start to our vacation:)

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I love this hotel, I have stayed here twice and I enjoyed both my stays immensely. It is located just 15 minutes from many of the main attractions in LA. The location is perfect for those who want to visit LA and see the sights or spend a day at the Beach. The rooms are a decent size and clean and have very comfortable beds. The staff was friendly and always happy to help when I needed anything. I made my reservations with Anne and she was wonderful. This really is one of my favorite hotels to stay in and we will always stay at this location when we are in the LA area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were staying at this hotel for 2 nights. We did not want to stay in Los Angeles and decided this hotel would suit our needs. We booked a organized day tour for the day we stayed in Los Angeles and wanted to be close to the highway for our continued travels. The hotel is very close to the highways (101 and 405) but the room was really quiet (we had a room at the side street).

The room was spacious, with good beds. The pool area is nice. No breakfast, but there is a Denny's on the property.

Room Tip: Rooms at the quiet side street are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericybw, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear valued guest,

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we are happy to hear the location suited your needs well. Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor review, we would very much like to have you as our guest if you are ever in Los Angeles again.

Sincerly,

Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Just decided to escape and relax for one night and that is exactly what this place offered. Nice clean rooms, service with a smile, and a great location. I look forward to returning to this hotel! Thank you Eric Y.

Room Tip: Interior corridor for quiet relaxation or outdoor corridor for more of a care free stay. Bring you s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn

Address: 5525 Sepulveda Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 91411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > South San Fernando Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#26 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#42 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#57 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#61 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carriage Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Carriage Hotel
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.