We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Pedro Doubletree” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 Via Cabrillo Marina, Los Angeles, CA 90731 (Formerly Marina Hotel Port of Los Angeles/San Pedro) (Harbor)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free WiFi Bkfst
Ranked #106 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
San Diego, United States
1 review
“San Pedro Doubletree”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great location right on the marina. Front desk personnel were friendly at check in. Thin walls - activity in hallways, adjoining rooms was clearly heard and annoying. Food was good but bar/restaurant service poor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany A, Director of Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear George L.,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review! We are so happy that you enjoyed the convenience of being located right on a marina. It was our absolute pleasure to serve you during your stay. Our team stands readily to assist you at any given moment here at the DoubleTree in San Pedro.

We agree, the food in our in-house restaurant, Marina Bar & Grill, is delicious! However, I'm concerned with the service you received and will reach out to our Food & Beverage team about that. I will also raise your concern about the thin walls to our Engineering department, in effort to find a remedy.

We foresee great changes and improvements very soon so please stay tuned!

Thank you so much for choosing us! We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.

Hospitably yours,

Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    176
    128
    71
    29
See reviews for
142
193
39
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orovillain
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

All about the location - meetings were in Torrance, but a marina-side hotel is so much nicer. Walkway around the marina is right outside the hotel doors, great for a morning run or evening stroll. Also, few downtown hotels have complimentary parking, the lot here is more than ample.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the ocean side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany A, Director of Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Orovillain,

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton San Pedro. We take pride in our location as we offer a quaint, tranquil setting by the beautiful Cabrillo Marina. We are even happier that you enjoyed the walkway and that it added value to your stay! We agree, parking is such a great amenity to offer complimentary and we want to ensure that we keep it that way to keep our guests content.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we certainly appreciate it. We look forward to serving you again in the near future. Thank you for choosing us as your home away from home!

Best,

Tiffany A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel will surprise you - it is out of the way and if you can stand the drive from LA, it is a treat. Before you get there you will be tempted to turn around. Don't do it and you will be rewarded with a very good hotel at a great location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany A, Director of Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Daniel G B.,

Thank you so much for the kind words about the DoubleTree by Hilton San Pedro! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay! We take pride in our location as we sit quietly near the beautiful Cabrillo Marina. Our tranquil setting offers a warm and welcoming feeling from the moment you walk in. For the duration of each stay, leave it up to us to make it memorable.

Again, thank you for taking the time to give us a review. Our team looks forward to serving you again in the near future!

Best,
Tiffany A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I was extremely excited for my stay. The ratings were good when i booked the room. I was disappointed at the rather late check-in that being at 3:00p.m That was an absurd time. My whole day was wasted on waiting to check in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Megan H.,

First, I would like to thank you for choosing us based on our ratings. We take pride in our ratings and are doing everything we can to provide the highest level of service that our guests deserve. I apologize that your felt our standard 3:00 p.m. check-in was rather late. The 3:00 p.m. check-in time allows our hard-working housekeeping team to thoroughly clean and inspect each room after each of our guests check-out. I apologize that we were not able to accommodate you sooner as I am certain our front desk team tried to find other options for you.

We ask that you please do not let your most recent experience sour your entire perception of our property. We appreciate and value you. Should you decide to give us the opportunity to make it right, please feel free to contact me directly so that I may assist you.

With warmest regards,

Tiffany A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The parking spots are too small so ALL cars double park. If the cars did not double park, then you can't open the door to the car. My room was not held despite it being guarenteed and calling in to alert the front desk to my late arrival. Front desk clerk insisted on lecturing me on calling in and didn't care that I had called in stating, "well, I wasn't told you were coming late". Towels were not provided. Housekeeping left 7 hand towels instead of bath towels and wash clothes. Bathroom is has cracked tiles filled with black grime--VERY gross. Shower/tub is a slip and fall waiting to happen since all of the traction pads are worn off. Chairs in rooms look like they were pulled from the dumpster with the fake leather cracked and peeling off. They look worse than what I owned in college. I put a towel on the chair before sitting in it fearing what bodily fluids might ooze out if I did sat on it. Luckily I had 7 hand towels to use for this purpose. Housekeeping dumped our trash, cherry pits, in the hallway and left it there. It remained in the hall from the first day until we checked out. I took a photo of the rotting cherry pits in the hall way on the last day. The hotel is a party hotel and full of drunk people making lots of noise. Had to call security due to someone screaming "help me" in the halls. Has anyone at Hilton ever seen the movie "Hostel"? I presume that something similar to the movie was going on in the rooms. I shudder to think of the trash that housekeeping left in hallway from the rooms with the screaming victims. The room above us had avid bowlers staying in it and they practiced on their portable bowling alley all night and day. They did NOT invite us to play a game with them. No breakfast vouchers were provided. When I finally went to the front desk to obtain some and try breakfast, we found that the staff ignored us. The staff didn't seem to want to seat us and ignored us for a while. Eventually someone said that someone (else) would be right with us. The waiter eventually motioned for us to come to him from across the dining room. I don't know how he expected his come hither beckon to reach us since he didn't even talk to us before pointing to our table. The waiter didn't ever come by and the buffet was out of the only food that was edible anyway. No new food was brought nor offered. We ate what was remaining and left. The hotel seems full of staff that doesn't care--likely a direct result of owners that don't care given that the hotel is in such disarray. Rooms and furniture as worn out as what we saw shouldn't even be available for reservations. It truly looked as bad as an hourly motel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Anja C.,

Thank you for taking the time to respond to our survey. Your feedback is crucial and serves great significance to our ever-going mission for continuous improvement. We thank you for your comments and apologize for not meeting your expectations. We have communicated your concerns to our owners and to the Housekeeping Department-Head to provide a better service atmosphere for your next visit. Your comments about the cleanliness and the need for updating will not be taken lightly. The perception of our staff not caring is simply not an acceptable practice of ours and rest assured, I will get to the bottom of it.

On behalf of our entire staff, I would like to sincerely thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your support and value your business. We would be honored for another opportunity to change your perception.

With warmest regards,

Tiffany A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Spent 4 nights here while in town for a graduation and birthday. While the hotel is a bit dates, it is very clean and well maintained. Location is right at the marina with easy access to San Pedro and Long Beach. It is close enough to everything yet far enough away to feel like you are outside of the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany A, Director of Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Charles V.,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review! We are so glad that you had a great experience here at the DoubleTree San Pedro. We take pride in our location, right on the beautiful harbor, where you can enjoy a tranquil ambiance. We foresee great changes to our property in the near future that are sure to enhance your overall experience.

Thank you for choosing us! It will be our absolute pleasure to serve you again!

Kindest,

Tiffany A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We (2 couples) stayed at this facility pre-cruise on April 19th 2013. We arrived from the east coast very late (12:00 pm PST) and still got 'warm cookies".

Our rooms were adjoining as requested and facing the marina ( not requested but VERY nice view).

The hotel is bright and cheery (even at midnite!) and is located in a cozy marina area so it was nice to wake up early and watch the coming and goings of all the small craft in the water. Since we were still on "East Coast" time I was up very early and took a nice long walk out along the Marina.

We were able to use the shuttle early in the am to get to a grocery store before boarding our cruise ship (thanks Chris - the most courteous, attentive, flexible best bell man/shuttle driver ever!). Signed up for the shuttle to get us to the cruise port and had no issues at all - drivers were courteous and prompt)

The rooms were clean and tidy as expected with no issues to report - some of the carpeting in the hallways looked a little tired, but clean.

The breakfast area was bright and clean - we ordered from the menu as the buffet was not what we wanted. Food was good - our server was very slow and un- attentive but the meal was to our liking.

Overall this was a great place to stay the night before or after a cruise. Convenient and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany A, Director of Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear CinBol01867,

On behalf of the DoubleTree San Pedro team, I'd like to thank you for taking the time to write us a fantastic review! We appreciate the kind words to express your enjoyable stay with us.

Our team takes every opportunity to go above and beyond to exceed your expectations. We are so glad that we were able to do so and that you enjoyed the adjoining marina-view rooms. We agree, our property is located in a quaint and (in your own words) "cheery" location where you can enjoy a tranquil walk along the Marina. We are happy that you were able to enjoy the natural amenities of the property and also the tangible amenities such as the delicious, warm cookie provided to you at check-in. We will certainly let Chris, our bell-attendant and shuttle-driver, know that you enjoyed his great service as well!

We apologize that our buffet did not have the food items that you were looking for, but we are happy that our diverse breakfast menu made up for it. We will look into what we can do to speed-up the service in the restaurant, to provide a better service atmosphere for our future guests.

It was our absolute pleasure having you as our guest. We most certainly look forward to your next stay with us! Thank you again for your review!

Hospitably yours,

Tiffany A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro

Address: 2800 Via Cabrillo Marina, Los Angeles, CA 90731 (Formerly Marina Hotel Port of Los Angeles/San Pedro)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Harbor , San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree San Pedro
Doubletree Los Angeles
Los Angeles Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.