We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful gem and nice surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 Via Cabrillo Marina, Los Angeles, CA 90731 (Formerly Marina Hotel Port of Los Angeles/San Pedro) (Harbor)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free WiFi + Bkfst
Ranked #97 of 323 hotels in Los Angeles
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a beautiful gem and nice surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We were not expecting to find such a beautiful hotel in an absolutely lovely setting, in the middle of a huge marina. The staff was extremely gracious, fun and friendly. I was there on business but will definitely come back soon to enjoy it on my personal time as w quick get-away vacation. Excellent location and easy to get to.

Room Tip: Ask for a marina view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    151
    110
    57
    22
See reviews for
124
158
32
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I recently spent 2 nights at this property and was pleasantly surprised. Yes, it could use a refresh, but it was a great value for the money and the service was great. There was a technical glitch that meant I didn't get a wake up call. Luckily, I had a backup plan with my cell phone. When I reported the lack of a call to the front desk, they immediately offered a free full breakfast. Parking is tight and it can be a bit of a walk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there recently for work. The place has seen better days and need an overhaul. The furniture in the room sub is showing wear as is the scuffed up hallways. The first room we were given had not been completely cleaned, the sink looked like someone had just finished shaving. The sound proofing between rooms could also be improved. The food was good not great.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Michingan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed overnight at the Doubletree prior to our cruise and were very pleased with our choice. Unfotunately, the cab driver from LAX had no idea where it was but, he finally found it. The hotel is nice, nothing special but, the restaurant was way above what we expected for a tourist hotel. Food was excellent and Crazy Chuck (his words, not ours) was the best waiter ever! Convenient shuttle service to the ship the follwing day was our main reason for selecting it and, we'd stay there again if we have another cruise from San Pedro.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Doubletree looks like maintenance has been deferred In the four years since I stayed here last before a cruise. Although the rooms and public areas were clean, the carpets were stained and very worn. The room's walls and toilets were scuffed and showed minimal patching and very low cost repairs, and some electric outlets either didn't work or were switched off with the wall switch. Some graffiti was seen on the hotel's entrance sign.

The staff was uniformly friendly but clearly unmanaged. Waiters and bartenders stood around chatting with each other. In general the staff members appeared not to be empowered to be able to comply with even simple requests from guests. Guests needed to check for hours for only the Bellman to appear to make a reservation for the hotel's free shuttle, and even an housekeeper seemed not to be allowed to let a guest into their room when their key card stopped working.

With some repairs and refurbishment and a good dose for management, this could be a fantastic hotel in a spectacular location.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

This could be a great property with a deep cleaning and some new soft goods. Great marina location. Great staff. Bed and bedding were fine. But the furniture in our room (245) was tired. The chair is in desperate need of cleaning. The carpet throughout the hotel should be cleaned or replaced. It is ok, but at DoubleTree prices I expect better.
Hotel restaurant is ok if you are too tired to go elsewhere. Rex's at the corner of 22nd and Pacific is far better for breakfast or lunch. Think in downtown San Pedro is another good local restaraunt.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the DoubleTree the night before our Mexican Riviera cruise. We found the hotel to be extremely convenient to the port and the marina area was very nice for an evening stroll. The hotel has a free shuttle service to the port and also to local areas of interest. The restaurant prepared good food and the staff was helpful answering questions. It was a pleasant place to stay and the room was large and clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro

Address: 2800 Via Cabrillo Marina, Los Angeles, CA 90731 (Formerly Marina Hotel Port of Los Angeles/San Pedro)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Harbor , San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#51 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree San Pedro
Doubletree Los Angeles
Los Angeles Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.