We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but a little worn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 Via Cabrillo Marina, Los Angeles, CA 90731 (Formerly Marina Hotel Port of Los Angeles/San Pedro) (Harbor)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & WiFi
Ranked #90 of 342 Hotels in Los Angeles
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ok but a little worn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there recently for work. The place has seen better days and need an overhaul. The furniture in the room sub is showing wear as is the scuffed up hallways. The first room we were given had not been completely cleaned, the sink looked like someone had just finished shaving. The sound proofing between rooms could also be improved. The food was good not great.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Rexmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Central Michingan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed overnight at the Doubletree prior to our cruise and were very pleased with our choice. Unfotunately, the cab driver from LAX had no idea where it was but, he finally found it. The hotel is nice, nothing special but, the restaurant was way above what we expected for a tourist hotel. Food was excellent and Crazy Chuck (his words, not ours) was the best waiter ever! Convenient shuttle service to the ship the follwing day was our main reason for selecting it and, we'd stay there again if we have another cruise from San Pedro.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank StxSheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

The Doubletree looks like maintenance has been deferred In the four years since I stayed here last before a cruise. Although the rooms and public areas were clean, the carpets were stained and very worn. The room's walls and toilets were scuffed and showed minimal patching and very low cost repairs, and some electric outlets either didn't work or were switched off with the wall switch. Some graffiti was seen on the hotel's entrance sign.

The staff was uniformly friendly but clearly unmanaged. Waiters and bartenders stood around chatting with each other. In general the staff members appeared not to be empowered to be able to comply with even simple requests from guests. Guests needed to check for hours for only the Bellman to appear to make a reservation for the hotel's free shuttle, and even an housekeeper seemed not to be allowed to let a guest into their room when their key card stopped working.

With some repairs and refurbishment and a good dose for management, this could be a fantastic hotel in a spectacular location.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikecbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

This could be a great property with a deep cleaning and some new soft goods. Great marina location. Great staff. Bed and bedding were fine. But the furniture in our room (245) was tired. The chair is in desperate need of cleaning. The carpet throughout the hotel should be cleaned or replaced. It is ok, but at DoubleTree prices I expect better.
Hotel restaurant is ok if you are too tired to go elsewhere. Rex's at the corner of 22nd and Pacific is far better for breakfast or lunch. Think in downtown San Pedro is another good local restaraunt.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewStarDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the DoubleTree the night before our Mexican Riviera cruise. We found the hotel to be extremely convenient to the port and the marina area was very nice for an evening stroll. The hotel has a free shuttle service to the port and also to local areas of interest. The restaurant prepared good food and the staff was helpful answering questions. It was a pleasant place to stay and the room was large and clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas, nv
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We arrived later - 10ish and we were upgraded to the Presidential Suite! We have never been upgraded and were shocked that we were given the room. It was very large- decorated nicely - needed a tree for some greenery.. loved the shower and the very large bathroom. Best feature- the window seat overlooking the marina. We did do the cruise and park option- Chris who handled the van and the luggage (who I felt so sorry for as the luggage only got heavier on the way back) was so helpful and nice. Everyone at the hotel was very nice and being its on the harbor the view is very nice. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Ill be a guest soon coming out of town and had I read these reviews I would not be staying here..I hope previous comments were looked into.I'm hoping to have a good decent time! Ill will return here to follow up on my stay..crossing my fingers not to get em 310 or above the lobby.or entrance LOL San Pedro here I come! Ill rate a 3 for all then decide after to go up or down..

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ieatbluecrayons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Harbor
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel
Harbor
BEST WESTERN PLUS San Pedro Hotel & Suites
Harbor
Vagabond Inn San Pedro
Vagabond Inn San Pedro
#134 of 342 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harbor
Pacific Inn and Suites
Pacific Inn and Suites
#169 of 342 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Harbor
All Star Inn
All Star Inn
#146 of 342 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Rancho Palos Verdes
3.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro

Address: 2800 Via Cabrillo Marina, Los Angeles, CA 90731 (Formerly Marina Hotel Port of Los Angeles/San Pedro)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Harbor , San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#76 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree San Pedro
Doubletree Los Angeles
Los Angeles Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing