We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for cruise ship departure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 Via Cabrillo Marina, Los Angeles, CA 90731 (Formerly Marina Hotel Port of Los Angeles/San Pedro) (Harbor)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free WiFi + Bkfst
Ranked #86 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Central Michingan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location for cruise ship departure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed overnight at the Doubletree prior to our cruise and were very pleased with our choice. Unfotunately, the cab driver from LAX had no idea where it was but, he finally found it. The hotel is nice, nothing special but, the restaurant was way above what we expected for a tourist hotel. Food was excellent and Crazy Chuck (his words, not ours) was the best waiter ever! Convenient shuttle service to the ship the follwing day was our main reason for selecting it and, we'd stay there again if we have another cruise from San Pedro.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    144
    101
    51
    19
See reviews for
107
155
30
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Doubletree looks like maintenance has been deferred In the four years since I stayed here last before a cruise. Although the rooms and public areas were clean, the carpets were stained and very worn. The room's walls and toilets were scuffed and showed minimal patching and very low cost repairs, and some electric outlets either didn't work or were switched off with the wall switch. Some graffiti was seen on the hotel's entrance sign.

The staff was uniformly friendly but clearly unmanaged. Waiters and bartenders stood around chatting with each other. In general the staff members appeared not to be empowered to be able to comply with even simple requests from guests. Guests needed to check for hours for only the Bellman to appear to make a reservation for the hotel's free shuttle, and even an housekeeper seemed not to be allowed to let a guest into their room when their key card stopped working.

With some repairs and refurbishment and a good dose for management, this could be a fantastic hotel in a spectacular location.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

This could be a great property with a deep cleaning and some new soft goods. Great marina location. Great staff. Bed and bedding were fine. But the furniture in our room (245) was tired. The chair is in desperate need of cleaning. The carpet throughout the hotel should be cleaned or replaced. It is ok, but at DoubleTree prices I expect better.
Hotel restaurant is ok if you are too tired to go elsewhere. Rex's at the corner of 22nd and Pacific is far better for breakfast or lunch. Think in downtown San Pedro is another good local restaraunt.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the DoubleTree the night before our Mexican Riviera cruise. We found the hotel to be extremely convenient to the port and the marina area was very nice for an evening stroll. The hotel has a free shuttle service to the port and also to local areas of interest. The restaurant prepared good food and the staff was helpful answering questions. It was a pleasant place to stay and the room was large and clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas, nv
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We arrived later - 10ish and we were upgraded to the Presidential Suite! We have never been upgraded and were shocked that we were given the room. It was very large- decorated nicely - needed a tree for some greenery.. loved the shower and the very large bathroom. Best feature- the window seat overlooking the marina. We did do the cruise and park option- Chris who handled the van and the luggage (who I felt so sorry for as the luggage only got heavier on the way back) was so helpful and nice. Everyone at the hotel was very nice and being its on the harbor the view is very nice. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Ill be a guest soon coming out of town and had I read these reviews I would not be staying here..I hope previous comments were looked into.I'm hoping to have a good decent time! Ill will return here to follow up on my stay..crossing my fingers not to get em 310 or above the lobby.or entrance LOL San Pedro here I come! Ill rate a 3 for all then decide after to go up or down..

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pender Island
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

This place seems to rely entirely on flight crews and cruise passengers and the location and free shuttle to the cruise dock make it convenient.
I seldom book on Expedia because in the past it has always resulted in getting the worst or at least seemingly the worst room.
Never mind the warm cookie at arrival it was straight downhill from there.
Virtually every upholstered surface in the palce is worn out and soiled.
The tile in the bathroom floor and tub had discoloured dirty looking grout, black spots even. The tub floor permanently grey and soiled looking.
The room door had jimmy scars above the lock and had clearly been forced in at some point. The walls and baseboards stained and scarred in spots and the piece de resistance was the desk chair that had it fake leatherette worn through to the foam underneath and crumbling onto the floor. I have never seen anything like this place with Hilton anywhere near the name.
The floors in the elevator were filthy, the hall carpets dirty - this place is not being maintained at all.
The air conditioner wall mounted HVAC unit had mold growing in it along with cobwebs and accumulated dust, clearly never serviced.
No safe in the room, no clasp or screen on the window.
Our room was directly above the front entrance, people coming and going talking and sounded like partying til 3 am.
The hot water tap when turned on by us or a neighbouring room made a loud jackhammer sound from the ceiling. I am a sound sleeper but the noise outside and the plumbing pounding woke me several times.
On the plus side, the staff were helpful, polite and went out of their way for us, particularly the shuttle driver and the front desk.
I did complain when I saw the chair but all he had was a kingsize and we needed the two beds.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shashi_poudyal2, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were disappointed with our hotel. Your business is very important to us and I can assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration. In fact, we are currently looking at different options to update and renovate some of the areas you pointed out in your review. We want nothing more than for our guests to have a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. Your feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration as we improve our on-property experience. Again, please accept my apologies and I hope you give us another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro

Address: 2800 Via Cabrillo Marina, Los Angeles, CA 90731 (Formerly Marina Hotel Port of Los Angeles/San Pedro)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Harbor , San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#53 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#86 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree San Pedro
Doubletree Los Angeles
Los Angeles Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.