We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Putting lipstick on a pig...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS San Pedro Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS San Pedro Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS San Pedro Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 South Gaffey Street, San Pedro, Los Angeles, CA 90731 (Harbor)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #23 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Putting lipstick on a pig...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This place is NOT under new management. The same owner has had the place since 2011 according to what one of the Front Desk people told me.

I have stayed twice since January. On my January 15th visit, I was assured the renovations in the lobby would be complete. To my surprise When I arrived on March 12th, the lobby was STILL under renovations!! You should be aware that there are NO restrooms in the lobby. It has been that way for over 2 months. There must be something seriously wrong with the hotel if they cannot get bathrooms fixed in 2 months. I asked at check in what is taking so long and the girl was sympathetic to me, but I could tell even staff was tired of getting bombarded with questions about bathrooms.

The weird thing was that I approached a lady working at the front desk who said she was the "service manager" but couldn't answer any of my questions and directed me to the guy working the front desk. It was creepy and I could tell she was lying about being the manager---I have a feeling she was the owner or something. But why be behind the front desk if you don't want to help your customers????

Anyway, they are putting money into the property so it does look nice, but the area is not good at night, and all the really good restaurants and stuff are a $10 cab ride, which isn't bad. The Front Desk staff is great as is the girl that cleaned our room.

Room Tip: Get one away from the street as it is very noisy at all hours of the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanPedro_GM, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Pedro Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. The redesigned lobby restrooms have been completed. The new management began building-wide renovations early last year and we are all very excited that the entire lobby is nearly complete. The lobby is a spacious area and has experienced an aesthetically stunning makeover!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    99
    26
    5
    8
See reviews for
67
103
18
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Ab
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed with them. Our stay there was Cruise related. They have redone all of the rooms and are in the process of redoing the front desk area. Even with all of the construction, it was good. Breakfast was awesome. The hotel is within walking distance to good restaraunts, and shopping.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanPedro_GM, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Pedro Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you. Looking forward to your third visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here before our cruise and one of the pluses is their shuttle to the cruise port. Our room was spacious, clean, with places to put our luggages. Staff was very helpful. Breakfast had a great variety. Although there was construction going on, there was no noise to complain about. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanPedro_GM, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Pedro Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalinga, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I tried to book a nice room in Long Beach but all were full so we booked a room at SP Inn and Suites, just over the bridge from Long Beach. The place is under new management and they are in the throes of renovation, but was not bothersome. Our room had lovely high ceilings, crown molding, new high end drapes, carpet, flatscreen, granite, and beds. The Continental Breakfast was a complete meal and the sun filled dining room was peaceful and will be beautiful when renovations are complete. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: We ate at the San Pedro Brewery and had an outstanding meal and pitcher of beer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanPedro_GM, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Pedro Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you. We also love our peaceful, sun-filled breakfast room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This review is from a middle class grunt that just wants a clean place to lay my head down! The San Pedro is an older establishment that was being renovated when we stayed. This was a pre-cruise overnight stay on Feb 1 , 2013. The room was clean and very comfortable with high ceilings(that's the first thing we noticed!) Lots of hot water in the bath and a decent breakfast in the morning. The front desk person, Dora, was so sweet and helpful. We bombarded her with lots of questions and requests and she was so patient . She recommended a few restaurants but we would have to get a cab so we walked up the street and snagged a meal at the Hawaiian BBQ. Really good meal ! Since they are renovating the common areas were a little dusty. Felt just like home! Fitness center was great, looked like the equipment was fairly new. The hotel shuttle took about 5 minutes to drive to the port. Would I stay at this location again?.... In a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Our family of four needed a place to stay for our weekend trip to tour the Queen Mary and enjoy the Aquarium of the Pacific. Hotels nearby are pretty pricey and this one is a good alternative for a little drive. At this time the hotel is still in the remodel process so it's a little rough here and there. I liked the undercover free parking and a decent sized room with comfortable beds. We also enjoyed the breakfast buffet provided; lots of variety in a beautiful room with nice dishes and attractive tables and booths. The surrounding area is nothing special but we didn't hang around. It is near a busy street but the noise level wasn't bad. The water pressure in the shower was wimpy although the shower head looked new.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton AB
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here for our pre cruise night. It was very nice and clean. There are renovations being done but it didn't affect our stay. The place will be great when it is finished. The antiques are amazing and really make the hotel charming. As far as the area goes, it is not the nicest but we did feel safe when we walked for shopping and to eat. It is only a few minutes from the port and the transfer is free. There was no food service other than the continental breakfast and no bar but they will be available once the reno is done. I recommend this to anyone looking for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS San Pedro Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS San Pedro Hotel & Suites

Address: 111 South Gaffey Street, San Pedro, Los Angeles, CA 90731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Harbor , San Pedro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#17 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#48 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS San Pedro Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites is a newly remodeled boutique hotel that features the most spacious guest rooms in San Pedro with all new guest room furnishings - located just six blocks from the The World Cruise Center, the gateway for Princess, Norwegian and Royal Caribbean Cruise Lines. Cruise passenger guests appreciate our Complimentary Shuttle Service to the San Pedro World Cruise Center. This 4-story Victorian hotel offers 60 guest rooms including 12 suites with convenient proximity to the Long Beach Convention Center, USS Iowa Battleship & Museum, Cabrillo Beach & Marina, Trump National Golf Club and fine local restaurants. The Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites features a complimentary Breakfast Buffet, Outdoor Swimming Pool & Spa, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet Access, Business Center, Fitness Center and more!This boutique hotel features 3000 sq ft of meeting & event space with flexibility to accommodate events for 10 to 200 people. High speed internet access is available throughout the hotel. The beautifully remodeled San Pedro Ballroom and meeting rooms offer the perfect setting for wedding receptions, social celebrations, family reunions, business and corporate seminars & meetings. Business travelers will appreciate our proximity to the Los Angeles International Airport (LAX) and Long Beach Airport (LGB). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS San Pedro Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pedro Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS San Pedro Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.